We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a great place to stay”
Review of Antiche Mura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Antiche Mura Hotel
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
HERTFORDSHIRE, UK
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Just a great place to stay”
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We have just returned ffrom a weeks stay at the Antiche Mura and can only echo all the great reports from other members, this is without doubt a fantastic hotel right in the centre of town. Being able to walk to the train station in 5 minutes and the main square in 1 minute, and then relax around the pool in an orange grove in almost complete silence is priceless. The staff from the front desk to the maids are polite and work hard to achieve and maintain a good standard throughout. Whilst I would hesistate to nominate one member of staff Maurio at the pool bar deserves special mention, he provides first class service with a smile and is passonate about this part of Italy. Well done to everyone at the hotel you made our stay one we will never forget.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DUNTRAVELING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,908
    340
    44
    10
    2
See reviews for
539
1,249
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of October last year and it was superb. The hotel's location was really convenient for the station, buses, marina, shops, restaurants etc yet was very quiet at night as our room faced the lovely wooded ravine and hotel gardens. The hotel was exceptionally clean and well maintained with towels and bedding changed daily - towels even more frequently if they happened to find that you had used one between the morning bedroom clean and the evening bed 'turning-down'! The dining room was stunning - bright and cleverly decorated to resemble a conservatory - and the breakfast varied and plentiful. We can't comment on the swimming pool as it was October and we didn't use it, but the whole pool area in the garden looked lovely. The reception and bar areas were comfortable and spacious to sit in, but the best of all was the staff, who were all, without exception, friendly, polite and very helpful. I would recommend this hotel unreservedly - probably the best 4* town centre hotel in Europe in which we have stayed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the ravine and the 'antiche mura' - old walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IsaCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisham
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Stayed here following recommendations on TA; first time I have ever seen a hotel so highly rated. We were not disappointed. Reception staff were always friendly, helpful. And professional, bar staff convivial and housekeeping staff extremely proficient. Our room was keep scrupriously clean, serviced twice a day including turn down every night. Breakfast very good. Pool is a little oasis. Hotel is centrally located, ideally placed for all areas of the city, and yet is quiet and ca at night. In summary great hotel, cannot recommend highly enough, I will definitely stay next time we visit Sorrento.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterQ814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We stayed in a triple room over looking the valley, the room was very adequate for our needs and was cleaned very efficently. The location of this hotel could not be better, the main square is just a 2 minute walk away with shops and restaurants. The staff here are the friendliest I have ever met, Mario, Michelle and Tony are outstanding and make this hotel exceptional. They are always friendly, extremely professional and make you feel like they have known you for years. The pool area is extremely well run and organised and is set in a quiet, peaceful area surrounded with orange and lemon trees. The food is also very good and we thought very good value,

Overall this was an excellent holday, due to an outstanding hotel with amazing staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maisha23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flemington, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

In October 2011 I will be spending my 7th vacation in Sorrento. I have been a guest at the Antiche Mura Hotel since 2006 thus this will be my 6th season staying at this incredibly wonderful resort. Simply put Hotel Antiche Mura exemplifies all the aspects of a great hotel including excellent service, extraordinary hospitality, great location, a phenomenal breakfast, spacious quiet rooms, a facility with all amenities that is maintained in a spotless fashion, but most important personnel that are kind, friendly, generous, welcoming, and extend themselves above and beyond in order to create a memorable stay for their guests. There is no other hotel in all of Italy that I have enjoyed more than Hotel Antiche Mura. I look forward to returning to Sorrento every year because of this outstanding resort.
From the resounding welcome from Antonio the porter, to the friendly front desk reception with Aldo, Marialaura, to the excellent advice from the owners Michele and Luigi Savarese and their sister Marielena I am always amazed at the consistent kindness and personal touch that I am treated with at Antiche Mura. This should be a 6 star hotel if this category existed because of such excellent hospitality and accomodations.
The location of Hotel Antiche Mura is perfect, in walking distance to Piazza Tasso and Marina Grande, close to a multitude of excellent restaraunts and shops. Staying at Antiche Mura will be a highlight of your next vacation as it has been a highlight of mine each and every year.

Sincerely, Bevon D. Miele MD (solo traveler)

Room Tip: The rooms are all quiet and are kept clean and immaculate
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bevon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

The Antiche Mura is an excellent hotel. This has been said by all those who have posted on Tripadvisor. We would agree with all those before.
The location is ideal, with only a short walk from Piazza Tasso,the main street, the train station etc.
The welcome on arrival was excellent with an explanation of the facilities, a walk to the see the pool area, the breakfast area and then being escorted to the room. We were in room 309 which was excellent, with a small balcony, table and 2 chairs. Even with a double and a single bed in the room we still felt we had plenty of space for all three of us.
Breakfast is varied and plentiful with fruit, cereals, cakes, croissants, ham, cheese, scambled egg, bacon, sausage, boiled egg all on the buffet, but if you want anything different then just ask.
The pool area was relaxing and clean and well managed. The afternoon tea/coffee with cakes was very nice.
We would say there were no complaints regarding our 10 day stay at this hotel and would recommend Antiche Mura to you.

Room Tip: Room 309 was a comfort room, on the side of the hotel overlooking the gorge and the far hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tromatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

This hotel was an absolute pleasure to us. The staff were all very friendly and very helpful.
The triple room we booked was very comfortable, very clean. We also had a balcony which overlooked the beautiful garden with it's orange and lemon trees, roses and grape vines, and the swimming pool, and a view of the hills beyond.
Air conditioning was always available, at the touch of a button, which added to our comfort.
Breakfast was excellent, with great choice, and plenty of it. The Breakfast Room itself was really very nice, and you have the option to eat outside on the terrace in the morning sunshine.
Location of the hotel is perfect , just a few minutes stroll to shops, restaurants, and the old town, yet it is positioned away from the noise and traffic. The hotel is located on the site of the old town walls.
We would like to say a special "grazie mille" to Tony who looks after the Bar, and many other things! Tony is a true gentleman and looked after us very well.
Also another "grazie mille" to the lady with the beautiful hair, on reception, who was very helpful in sorting out our taxi, the day we were leaving. "Mi dispiace" , we did not know your name.

Room Tip: Book Early for a nice room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dominic405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
3,104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,528 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiche Mura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Mura Hotel

Property: Antiche Mura Hotel
Address: Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiche Mura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiche Mura Hotel has a wonderful position in the heart of Sorrento, in the main square Piazza Tasso. It is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento and its beautiful surroundings like Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. This newly renovated hotel combines elegance, style and modern comforts (Like Free Wi-Fi) able to satisfy guests with the highest expectations. At the same time , you will be able to experience centuries of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Antiche Mura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Mura Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing