We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best hotels ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antiche Mura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Antiche Mura Hotel
Ranked #8 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

After a long drive from Sicily we had the pleasure of being welcomed at the Antiche Mura. After pulling into the driveway we were met by a bellman who unloaded our luggage and took our car to the garage - 10 euros per day but worth it as there don't appear to be any parking places in Sorrento. Our room was upgraded to a "Suite with Jacuzzi" - we paid for a "Comfort Room". This room had king bed, living room, a balcony over a citrus grove, 2 flat screen TV's and more. The large buffet breakfast included all sorts of pastries - try the orange chocolate muffin. It also had a number of gluten free items for those who need them. The front staff is extremely helpful and friendly. Train station and shopping very close by. One of the best hotels ever. One tip: eating dinner at the waterfront is fun - both the fishing village and the marina. The restaurants will pick you up at the hotel and bring you back - no charge except tip - relieving the challanging walk up the hill.

Room Tip: Suite are expensive but large
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richman707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,834
    319
    40
    9
    2
See reviews for
502
1,199
24
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

Beautiful hotel with attentive and friendly staff. The pool has a grass area with plenty of shade under the lemon trees and sun loungers with parasols nearer the water. The marvelous Mario is always on hand. Although the hotel does not have a restaurant for evening meals, the food served by the pool is delicious with fresh salads, pizza and sandwiches all served in generous portions.

The hotel is very close to the Piazza Tasso but has sound proof windows and shutters and we always had an excellent nights sleep. There are countless restaurants to choose from and the railway is about 10 minutes walk away. There are LCD televisions in the rooms and although we did not have a bath, (some rooms do) we had an all singing all dancing shower. Our room at the front of the hotel had a balcony with views over the Sorrento gorge.

Will definitely return!

Room Tip: Rooms at front of hotel have view of gorge and some have balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonSeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed here for 7 nights and this hotel really made our trip to Italy. The staff were both attentive, warm and helpful from the outset and the buffet breakfast was out of this world. The pool area was beautiful as it was surrounded by both lemon and lime trees.
Truly a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Room near the pool with your own balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

We spent 10 days at the Antiche Mura on our honeymoon and can honestly say that this place is what dreams are made of....the hotel is beautiful, each member of staff went above and beyond with friendliness and warmth and it's location in Sorrento, perfect. The pool is an oasis of tranquility with the 'amazing' Mario serving up everything with a song and a smile!!! Simply cannot wait to return

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ByrneBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HERTFORDSHIRE, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

We have just returned ffrom a weeks stay at the Antiche Mura and can only echo all the great reports from other members, this is without doubt a fantastic hotel right in the centre of town. Being able to walk to the train station in 5 minutes and the main square in 1 minute, and then relax around the pool in an orange grove in almost complete silence is priceless. The staff from the front desk to the maids are polite and work hard to achieve and maintain a good standard throughout. Whilst I would hesistate to nominate one member of staff Maurio at the pool bar deserves special mention, he provides first class service with a smile and is passonate about this part of Italy. Well done to everyone at the hotel you made our stay one we will never forget.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DUNTRAVELING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of October last year and it was superb. The hotel's location was really convenient for the station, buses, marina, shops, restaurants etc yet was very quiet at night as our room faced the lovely wooded ravine and hotel gardens. The hotel was exceptionally clean and well maintained with towels and bedding changed daily - towels even more frequently if they happened to find that you had used one between the morning bedroom clean and the evening bed 'turning-down'! The dining room was stunning - bright and cleverly decorated to resemble a conservatory - and the breakfast varied and plentiful. We can't comment on the swimming pool as it was October and we didn't use it, but the whole pool area in the garden looked lovely. The reception and bar areas were comfortable and spacious to sit in, but the best of all was the staff, who were all, without exception, friendly, polite and very helpful. I would recommend this hotel unreservedly - probably the best 4* town centre hotel in Europe in which we have stayed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the ravine and the 'antiche mura' - old walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IsaCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

Stayed here following recommendations on TA; first time I have ever seen a hotel so highly rated. We were not disappointed. Reception staff were always friendly, helpful. And professional, bar staff convivial and housekeeping staff extremely proficient. Our room was keep scrupriously clean, serviced twice a day including turn down every night. Breakfast very good. Pool is a little oasis. Hotel is centrally located, ideally placed for all areas of the city, and yet is quiet and ca at night. In summary great hotel, cannot recommend highly enough, I will definitely stay next time we visit Sorrento.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterQ814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.4 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,808 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.6 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiche Mura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Mura Hotel

Property: Antiche Mura Hotel
Address: Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiche Mura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiche Mura Hotel has a wonderful position in the heart of Sorrento, in the main square Piazza Tasso. It is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento and its beautiful surroundings like Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. This newly renovated hotel combines elegance, style and modern comforts (Like Free Wi-Fi) able to satisfy guests with the highest expectations. At the same time , you will be able to experience centuries of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Antiche Mura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Mura Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing