We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beautiful”
Review of Antiche Mura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Antiche Mura Hotel
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a beautiful”
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Antiche Mura 

I was 1 of 5 older woman traveling to Italy, we were not on a tour and booked all of our travel through an agency.  Our goal was to see as much of the Amalfi coast as we could on our own.  We decided to use Sorrento as our home base, our travel agent booked us in the Antiche Mura for 7 nights.  We were there the first week of October what a beautiful week, the weather was perfect and the hotel was fantastic. The hotel staff was by far the nicest most accommodating group of people we have encountered in all our travels through Italy.  I shared a room with my cousin the first night was a little difficult as we were in a "comfort room" which means 2 twin beds or a full size bed when pushed together.  My cousin had a hard time sleeping she thought she was going to fall out of the bed. The next morning we asked to change rooms we up graded to the junior suite well worth the x- tra money. There was a king size bed along with a day bed the room was much larger and far more comfortable.  When we checked in Aldo gave us all kinds of literature about the various tours they could book for us, he took us to our rooms and explained all the features of the room as well as pointed out the other amenities of the hotel. All the people who worked the front desk went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable.  They arranged a tour for us, made reservations along with suggestions of places to see or things to do.
At night we stopped in the lounge for a night cap and a chat with Tony, he would inquire about our day and make some nice recommendations for our upcoming adventures, his advice was well received and very helpful. In the morning we ate at the hotel, they had a nice buffet set up, each morning we were greeted by the smiling faces of Michelle or Mario and 2 other helpers they would get our coffee, they also would inquire on what we would be doing each day and give us helpful hints as well. A few times we ate lunch at the hotel by the pool where Mario would serve us, alway pleasant, always singing.  If you are looking for a vacation to  just relax, this hotel is the place, the pool area is nicely landscaped and there was no kids. There is another outside area in the front of the hotel nicely decorated with wicker furniture where you could sit and read a book and not be disturbed and of course the lounge is very comfortable where you can meet fellow travelers and compare adventures.  The hotel is a 5 minute walk to the Piazza Tasso the center of town, there are some very nice restaurants and off the side streets all kinds of shops. Sorrento was very easy to get around day or night and there was never a fear of having to clutch your bag so it wouldn't be stolen. When I return to Sorrento this will be my hotel of choice.

Room Tip: The comfort rooms are very nice but small, if you like a little more comfort pay the X- tra money to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol6457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,892
    338
    43
    10
    2
See reviews for
529
1,242
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2011

After reading previous reviews, we had high expectations and this holel lived up to them. The position is perfect as the Main Piazza is only a short walk but the hotel is a world away from the hustle and bustle. It has a lovely well maintained garden area around the pool and it has a perfect outdoor terrace for an al fresco breakfast. This hotel does not have a restaurant as such but there is a poolside menu and the food that we had was excellent.Or room was well proportioned with beautiful decor and was kept scrupulously clean. The staff were very helful, friendly and enthusiastic. Overall an excellent experience.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a small balcony with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzy047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

This is a lovely Italian Hotel with old world charm. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are beautiful and very clean.
It has a charming garden and swimming pool with outside terrace amongst lemon trees where you can take your breakfast.
Peace and tranquility right in the centre of busy Sorrento.

Room Tip: Junior Suite with private terrace is a delight to the senses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovesquality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Spent a week here in September, it cant be stated enough how well this hotel is located. Right in the middle of everything but no noise from outside, due to its slightly set back position.
The Pool was small but very nice to come back to after a long days sightseeing and drinks around the pool very reasonable always accompanied by a bowl of pretzels or a little cake with coffee.
All the staff were great, especially the girls at breakfast.
We stayed in the main building in a comfort room, it was pretty good, a decent size, very clean, with a nice fruit selection and bottle of bubbly on arrival. A minor annoyance was for me the shower wasn't that great. I am 6'2 and standing in the bath meant i had to bend to get my head under the shower head, not a great problem, just saying.
One other criticism of our stay was that the cleaners start doing the empty rooms very early in the morning 7.30-8.00 and being a light sleeper I was woken up by them clattering about in the hallways every morning, when an extra hour in bed after a few too many local wines the night before would have been nice.
Having said that I would definitely stay here again if I were to return to Sorrento.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worz666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Great hotel, very convenient for local restaurants, only about 150 yards from central Piazza Tasso but very quiet. Excellent professional staff. Breakfast very good, great on the terrace in the sun. Smallish pool but lovely surroundings among the orange and lemon trees. Poolside bar good too and very friendly staff. Very clean.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of a neighbouring block of apartments but difficult to avoid if in a central...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 200Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We spent four nights at the Antiche Mura, and were entirely satisfied. Clean, spacious room; comfortable bed; nice balcony; extremely helpful staff; outstanding breakfast; convenient location; and very pleasant pool area. Speaking of the pool, if you are a regular lap swimmer, you will probably find the hotel pool not quite what you need. Ask for directions to the Ulysses health club. It's about ten minutes away, and has a high quality 25 meter pool, with seven lanes. If you go in the morning (e.g., between 7 and 9), you'll probably have a lane to yourself. Avoid mid to later afternoon. It can get very crowded.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

The Antique Mura is perfectly located, with lovely pool area and home made pastries at breakfast. All the staff were really helpful and would recommend for location, breakfast and relaxation.

Room Tip: Had garden room down some steps, pleasant but a little dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seb101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
3,057 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,504 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiche Mura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Mura Hotel

Property: Antiche Mura Hotel
Address: Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiche Mura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiche Mura Hotel has a wonderful position in the heart of Sorrento, in the main square Piazza Tasso. It is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento and its beautiful surroundings like Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. This newly renovated hotel combines elegance, style and modern comforts (Like Free Wi-Fi) able to satisfy guests with the highest expectations. At the same time , you will be able to experience centuries of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TravelUp, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Antiche Mura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Mura Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing