We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful all round!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antiche Mura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Antiche Mura Hotel
Ranked #8 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful all round!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

We have just returned from La Solara today. The hotel was wonderful. We booked following the good reviews and we are so pleased we did. We were a family of four with two children aged 16 and 18. They enjoyed the pool and table tennis. The hotel staff were wonderful - helpful and friendly. The food was wonderful - we were never disappointed. It was a set menu for dinner but plenty of choice and we thoroughly enjoyed everything we tried. One of our group is vegetarian and there was usually more than one Vege option. Even on gala night when a vegetarian starter wasn't on the menu she was offered something suitable. They couldn't have been more helpful. The hotel is kept very clean. It was a perfect base to see Capri, Ischea, Pompei, Versuvious and Heracleon etc. The free hotel shuttle to and fron Sorrento runs every hour and was very reliable. If we return to this area we would not consider staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Nice quiet hotel and not too big. No rooms would be noisy that I am aware of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,834
    319
    40
    9
    2
See reviews for
502
1,199
24
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

This lovely family run hotel is right in the centre of Sorrento as well as being within easy reach of the ferries that go over to Capri. All the staff were very helpful, giving information as soon as we checked in about the ferries, trains etc. and gave some excellent dinner recommendations. The pool area and grounds are lovely and the outside terrace for breakfast is so relaxing. Our bedroom was very spacious, clean and comfortable and we had a lovely balcony that overlooked the old city walls. We loved Sorrento and Antiche Mura!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaroleS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maui
Level Contributor
296 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

It is with pleasure I write this review. We spent 5 nights in room 201 and it was just delightful. From the moment we arrived at the door, we had pleasant, helpful staff to assist us. Check in was smooth and they provided good information and had schedules for the ferry, train, all kinds of specific information that was clear and concise. We had a lovely bottle of sparkling wine and tray of gorgeous fruit. Our suite had a huge bedroom, very modern bathroom with good light, mirrors, soaps, etc. Plus it had a lower level sitting room with sofa, table, side chairs and a balcony. The view it on the rock gulch which is green and quiet. No city noise at all. Free internet and the most lovely breakfast buffet in a big sunlit room, or you can eat outside in the garden terrace. This was at least my 5th trip to Sorrento and if I go again, I would not dream of staying anywhere else. . . Awesome price to value ratio! Hotel is located just adjacent to Tasso square, so you just step out the door and you are in the middle of town. It is 4 blocks to bus/train station, and about the same to the port to catch the ferry. Treat yourself to this lovely hotel, you will not regret it. Ciao.

Room Tip: Ask for room 201 or 209 which has a large outside terrace and lounge chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

Antiche Mura 

I was 1 of 5 older woman traveling to Italy, we were not on a tour and booked all of our travel through an agency.  Our goal was to see as much of the Amalfi coast as we could on our own.  We decided to use Sorrento as our home base, our travel agent booked us in the Antiche Mura for 7 nights.  We were there the first week of October what a beautiful week, the weather was perfect and the hotel was fantastic. The hotel staff was by far the nicest most accommodating group of people we have encountered in all our travels through Italy.  I shared a room with my cousin the first night was a little difficult as we were in a "comfort room" which means 2 twin beds or a full size bed when pushed together.  My cousin had a hard time sleeping she thought she was going to fall out of the bed. The next morning we asked to change rooms we up graded to the junior suite well worth the x- tra money. There was a king size bed along with a day bed the room was much larger and far more comfortable.  When we checked in Aldo gave us all kinds of literature about the various tours they could book for us, he took us to our rooms and explained all the features of the room as well as pointed out the other amenities of the hotel. All the people who worked the front desk went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable.  They arranged a tour for us, made reservations along with suggestions of places to see or things to do.
At night we stopped in the lounge for a night cap and a chat with Tony, he would inquire about our day and make some nice recommendations for our upcoming adventures, his advice was well received and very helpful. In the morning we ate at the hotel, they had a nice buffet set up, each morning we were greeted by the smiling faces of Michelle or Mario and 2 other helpers they would get our coffee, they also would inquire on what we would be doing each day and give us helpful hints as well. A few times we ate lunch at the hotel by the pool where Mario would serve us, alway pleasant, always singing.  If you are looking for a vacation to  just relax, this hotel is the place, the pool area is nicely landscaped and there was no kids. There is another outside area in the front of the hotel nicely decorated with wicker furniture where you could sit and read a book and not be disturbed and of course the lounge is very comfortable where you can meet fellow travelers and compare adventures.  The hotel is a 5 minute walk to the Piazza Tasso the center of town, there are some very nice restaurants and off the side streets all kinds of shops. Sorrento was very easy to get around day or night and there was never a fear of having to clutch your bag so it wouldn't be stolen. When I return to Sorrento this will be my hotel of choice.

Room Tip: The comfort rooms are very nice but small, if you like a little more comfort pay the X- tra money to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol6457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

After reading previous reviews, we had high expectations and this holel lived up to them. The position is perfect as the Main Piazza is only a short walk but the hotel is a world away from the hustle and bustle. It has a lovely well maintained garden area around the pool and it has a perfect outdoor terrace for an al fresco breakfast. This hotel does not have a restaurant as such but there is a poolside menu and the food that we had was excellent.Or room was well proportioned with beautiful decor and was kept scrupulously clean. The staff were very helful, friendly and enthusiastic. Overall an excellent experience.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a small balcony with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzy047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

This is a lovely Italian Hotel with old world charm. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are beautiful and very clean.
It has a charming garden and swimming pool with outside terrace amongst lemon trees where you can take your breakfast.
Peace and tranquility right in the centre of busy Sorrento.

Room Tip: Junior Suite with private terrace is a delight to the senses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovesquality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

Spent a week here in September, it cant be stated enough how well this hotel is located. Right in the middle of everything but no noise from outside, due to its slightly set back position.
The Pool was small but very nice to come back to after a long days sightseeing and drinks around the pool very reasonable always accompanied by a bowl of pretzels or a little cake with coffee.
All the staff were great, especially the girls at breakfast.
We stayed in the main building in a comfort room, it was pretty good, a decent size, very clean, with a nice fruit selection and bottle of bubbly on arrival. A minor annoyance was for me the shower wasn't that great. I am 6'2 and standing in the bath meant i had to bend to get my head under the shower head, not a great problem, just saying.
One other criticism of our stay was that the cleaners start doing the empty rooms very early in the morning 7.30-8.00 and being a light sleeper I was woken up by them clattering about in the hallways every morning, when an extra hour in bed after a few too many local wines the night before would have been nice.
Having said that I would definitely stay here again if I were to return to Sorrento.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worz666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.4 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,808 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.6 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiche Mura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Mura Hotel

Property: Antiche Mura Hotel
Address: Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiche Mura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiche Mura Hotel has a wonderful position in the heart of Sorrento, in the main square Piazza Tasso. It is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento and its beautiful surroundings like Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. This newly renovated hotel combines elegance, style and modern comforts (Like Free Wi-Fi) able to satisfy guests with the highest expectations. At the same time , you will be able to experience centuries of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Antiche Mura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Mura Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing