We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel in the heart of Sorrento!”
Review of Antiche Mura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Antiche Mura Hotel
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel in the heart of Sorrento!”
Reviewed 2 November 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 3 days out of our 12 day trip to Sorrento.
We got married on October 14th and had our reception in Villa Antiche Mura which is owned by the same people.
We really cant say enough about our whole experience! My bridesmaid and I stayed here the night before the wedding and we were upgraded to the main suite, beautiful split level room with a huge French window overlooking the old town. The bathroom also had a jacuzzi bath which was a bonus and welcomed the day after the wedding! There was a bottle of champagne on ice when we checked in that afternoon too, nice touch :-)
Around 15 of our guests stayed at the hotel for 5-7 days and were all very happy with the service and the friendly staff. The next time we visit Sorrento for our anniversary we will definitely be staying here again! :-)

Room Tip: We were lucky enough to be staying in the main suite as it was our wedding but according to some of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skitchums35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,887
    335
    42
    10
    3
See reviews for
524
1,240
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We recently stayed at the Antiche Mura with a group of friends (4 couples) and what a lovely hotel it was. My husband and I upgraded to a room with a balcony (room 503) which was at the front of the hotel.
The staff were probably the friendliest group of people we have ever encountered at a hotel & couldn't have been more helpful.
The setting is wonderful & the area around the pool is lovely and very well maintained. Breakfast was included and there was a wonderful selection to choose from. There was even champagne if you like drinking chmpagne for breakfast!
The weather was wonderful, and although it was October, my husband bravely did go swimming and said once you got used to the cold it was lovely!
I would definitely stay there again & would highly recommend it .

Room Tip: Room 503 was a good size room at the front of the hotel and had a lovely balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S_Lawrence_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We have just returned from our honeymoon in Sorrento, where we stayed at the Antiche Mura for 5 days. This hotel offers a high level of service, the staff are all very friendly, and it is located centrally to the Piazzo Tasso, so nothing is far away.

The breakfast was good - special thanks to Michelle, who was so helpful to us - and so were the cocktails that we had on a couple of nights, which were expertly made and delivered to our table with some snacks, and a friendly smile.

The room was clean, and serviced regularly (including turning down the covers on our bed every night) and the electric shutters ensured the room was quiet and cool.

We would definately return to this hotel, and would recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: If you can get a room looking out to the right of the hotel, you'll have a view of the old mill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanandLesleyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Lincs
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

I had high expectations of the Antiche Mura, from trip advisor reviews. Maybe my expectations were too high.

Location: good-close to the old town restuarants and shops and a 10 minute walk to the train station which had trains every 30 minutes to Pompei and Erculano.

Room: clean, pleasant little balcony, but room was absolutely tiny! No kidding, there was nowhere to fit the suitcases even and had to sit on the bed if not actually uing the bathroom. There was a mini bar, but no glasses. We took our own kettle and were provided with milk when we asked. Bottle of sparkling wine on arrival appreciated.

Breakfast: pleasant room to eat in but breakfast quite limited. Nothing fresh cooked to order. There was an array of cakes provided but I'd rather have a variety of breads, cheeses, salads etc for breakfast than cake. Breakfast finishes at 10:30 which is fine, but they do mean finish then, in that they start clearing the buffet at 10:25.

Daytime snacks and drinks: over-priced and very disappointing. Don't bother.

Evening drinks: well presented, tasty and served with small tray of nibbles.

Staff: everyone was professional and polite-I expect this as standard. We found the restaurant recommendations not to be good and staff not overly helpful (eg we asked about the bus to Positano saying we intended going there that day. We were given the information about the bus, but it was not mentioned to us that the road was closed that day so no bus was running!)

Holiday activities: we went in order to visit the Roman sites and had a fabulous time doing so. We found the train jouneys efficient but very crowded and stuffy. Buy water from the supermarket on the way to the station (30 cents a bottle). Pompeii has a cafe and 2 sets of toilets inside which we were grateful for but found by accident as they are not signposted or shown on any maps. At Herculaneum the cafe at the entrance was closed, although the toilets were open. There are no facilities actally inside the site so we took water and snaks with us.

Restuarants: we ate somewhere different every night and found all the menus to be nearly identical, but with very different prices and experiences. For us the absolute best was "il Leone Rosso" which is found up a side street near the station. The service, extras, wine and food were superb!

All in all we had a lovely holiday and found the hotel to be satisfactory.

Room Tip: Specify you would like an extremely large room. We paid extra so had better than standard but it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank elephant99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Antiche Mura is conveniently located, just above the main square Piazza Tasso, and an easy walk from train and bus station. The staff is extremely helpful, friendly, welcoming - and conversant in English. The grounds are lovely, and there's a great poolside area, although it was too cold for swimming in October. The breakfasts are particularly good - cereal, cheese, fruit, cold cuts, and excellent pastries.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Artgrrl04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We had a wonderful 5 night stay at this hotel recently. The room was spacious (room 209 gets its own courtyard!) and clean. They even gave us a bottle of champagne because it was our anniversary. Everyone is friendly and helpful. The front desk can arrange excursions for you. The location is ideal as it's right off the main plaza and very near Old Town. The green grocer across the street was convenient (don't pass up the tangerines).

The only areas for improvement would be: breakfast is exactly the same every day and it could use some variety, maybe one "key feature" each day (pancakes, french toast, waffles, etc); rooms need alarm clocks; bathroom needs kleenex.

If we went to Sorrento again, we would stay here without question!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GRFISH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We have just returned from La Solara today. The hotel was wonderful. We booked following the good reviews and we are so pleased we did. We were a family of four with two children aged 16 and 18. They enjoyed the pool and table tennis. The hotel staff were wonderful - helpful and friendly. The food was wonderful - we were never disappointed. It was a set menu for dinner but plenty of choice and we thoroughly enjoyed everything we tried. One of our group is vegetarian and there was usually more than one Vege option. Even on gala night when a vegetarian starter wasn't on the menu she was offered something suitable. They couldn't have been more helpful. The hotel is kept very clean. It was a perfect base to see Capri, Ischea, Pompei, Versuvious and Heracleon etc. The free hotel shuttle to and fron Sorrento runs every hour and was very reliable. If we return to this area we would not consider staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Nice quiet hotel and not too big. No rooms would be noisy that I am aware of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,997 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,480 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,066 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiche Mura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Mura Hotel

Property: Antiche Mura Hotel
Address: Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiche Mura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiche Mura Hotel has a wonderful position in the heart of Sorrento, in the main square Piazza Tasso. It is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento and its beautiful surroundings like Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. This newly renovated hotel combines elegance, style and modern comforts (Like Free Wi-Fi) able to satisfy guests with the highest expectations. At the same time , you will be able to experience centuries of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Antiche Mura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Mura Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing