We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delightful!”
Review of Antiche Mura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Antiche Mura Hotel
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 November 2011

5 min walk from the train station, and right in the thick of the 'action' in sorrento. Aldo, at the front desk helped us to a better room (for our tastes) which was on an upper floor in the main building. we also visited one of the rooms poolside, which would have been great for the summertime, but we'd preferred the city/mountain views.

breakfast - BEST we had in italy during our travels. just great.
rooms - the right size. space for storing personal items, wonderful mosaic flooring, some english stations for catching the news. Etro products in the bathrooms, which we loved.
staff - LOVELY! very nice, always helpful, never a request too much for them.

restaurants - don't miss a chance to eat at La Laterna. the seafood risotto was enough for 2, only 13 euros, and to die for! La Fenice, a 10 minute walk down the main road towards the south end of town had amazing pasta and a very humorous staff. We also loved the gelateria on the main street. Touristy, but just a fun place to explore.

Room Tip: poolside rooms are quieter, more villa-like, but some do face directly onto the adjacent building an...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveToConnect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,325)
There are newer reviews for Antiche Mura Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,285 - 1,291 of 2,325 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2011

Great location in Sorrento. Staff is very helpful, polite and service oriented. Breakfast is superb. We were there in November. We did not use the pool, but the pool area and gardens were impressive as well. We stayed for 2 nights and we were extremely comfortable. Our room had a nice balcony with a nice view. The mechancal window blinds keep noise and light out for very restful sleeping.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cpape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

The staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. Their recommendations helped make our stay in Sorrento. Great location and nice accommodations, too.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

The staff in the is lovely hotel is what makes it shine. From the first greeting from Aldo and Laura behind the front desk to the cheery good mornings from the breakfast waiting staff. Nothing was too much trouble for any staff member and they made you feel very welcome. The location is great, just off the main square, close to everything including the very steep steps down to (and unfortunately up) from the ferry terminal to Capri. Highly recommended

Room Tip: We had a comfort room which was comfortable and spacious
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carinalewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. The staff were so friendly, especially the english bar lady. The hotel room was great- in the garden over looking the pool, with it's own terrace. The location is fantastic - a short walk to the train and bus station (we got the bus back to the airport rather than taking the train and bus- it was much faster). Breakfast was really good also. Would definitely recommend it

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marthil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We arrived on Oct. 12th late at night and were exhausted after 14 hours in the air. Sarah was at the desk to welcome us so warmly. She recommended a wonderful restaurant only a block away where we dined at leisure and then came back to the hotel for much needed sleep. The mattress felt like heaven. The room was spacious and blissfully quiet even thought the room faced the front overlooking busy Piazza Tasso. We were to spend 12 days at The Antiche Mura and we were not disappointed.

Each morning, after a lovely breakfast served by Michelle and Mario, we explored the various sights and tempo of Sorrento and its surrounding areas. We found the help and friendliness of Michele and Maria Laura at the front desk invaluable. They became like family and we enjoyed seeing their smiling faces whenever we reentered.

Our room balcony gave us a nice feeling for the town and the weather that day. The maid staff was quiet, efficient and never intrusive. The elevator was always empty and swift. Sometimes in the afternoon we'd stretch out on a chaise by the pool amidst the beauty of the landscaped gardens. It was a peaceful and relaxing way to wind down.

After our 12 day stay we would confidently recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area. It is in the literal heart of the town, walkable to everything. The staff was not only helpful but
a joy to be around. We would joyfully stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 3 days out of our 12 day trip to Sorrento.
We got married on October 14th and had our reception in Villa Antiche Mura which is owned by the same people.
We really cant say enough about our whole experience! My bridesmaid and I stayed here the night before the wedding and we were upgraded to the main suite, beautiful split level room with a huge French window overlooking the old town. The bathroom also had a jacuzzi bath which was a bonus and welcomed the day after the wedding! There was a bottle of champagne on ice when we checked in that afternoon too, nice touch :-)
Around 15 of our guests stayed at the hotel for 5-7 days and were all very happy with the service and the friendly staff. The next time we visit Sorrento for our anniversary we will definitely be staying here again! :-)

Room Tip: We were lucky enough to be staying in the main suite as it was our wedding but according to some of...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skitchums35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,380 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,553 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#14 of 100 in Sorrento
1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiche Mura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Mura Hotel

Address: Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £108 - £513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiche Mura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiche Mura Hotel has a wonderful position in the heart of Sorrento, in the main square Piazza Tasso. It is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento and its beautiful surroundings like Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. This newly renovated hotel combines elegance, style and modern comforts (Like Free Wi-Fi) able to satisfy guests with the highest expectations. At the same time , you will be able to experience centuries of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Antiche Mura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Mura Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing