We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended haven in Sorrento.”
Review of Antiche Mura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Antiche Mura Hotel
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 November 2011

My wife and I stayed here in November 2011, having booked direct with the hotel after reading reviews. We couldn't find better prices anywhere better than available on their own site.
On checking in, our pre booked comfort room was upgraded to a large twin level suite with Jacuzzi bath with a view over the gorge at the side of the hotel. Even allowing for that sweatener, we can find nothing to criticise about the hotel. From the attentive friendly staff in all departments to the decor and plentiful breakfast (both quantity and quality), this is an excellent hotel. Being November, we didn't eat breakfast in the garden but the gardens and pool area were immaculate, as were all the public areas. The bar is a comfortable relaxing haven, either before an evening stroll or retiring to bed, and is very reasonable priced. OK, so there is no sea view available from the rooms but it's quiet position just out of the central square, restaurants and shops is perfect. The hotel is an easy 10 minutes level walk from the train/bus station. Getting around Sorrento can mean going up and down a good number of steps and hills and not being situated up one of the hills (as many of the other hotels are) and in close staggering distance after a meal or stroll around the shops is a real bonus.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hewhotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,293 - 1,299 of 2,344 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2011

A lovely hotel in a really good location in Sorrento - just a few minutes' walk from the central square. Even though the hotel is close to the centre of town it is a wonderful, quiet and peaceful haven. The garden and pool area are like a private garden, with a bar and snacks available. The hotel has a range of rooms - ours was a 'standard' room, but much nicer than standard rooms in most other hotels we have visited. A good selection of dishes are available for breakfast, and the staff were polite and helpful - even when we arrived late one morning! It's a pity they don't serve dinner. The hotel staff are excellent - incredibly helpful and all speak a good standard of English. Reception staff are patient and have really good local knowledge; look out for Aldo - he's brilliant!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Val L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Stayed 4 nights. The helpful and pleasant staff made our rating very good rather than average. Excellent welcome. Bar service professional but friendly and prices very reasonable. Good central location a big plus (near to many restauarants and shops). Breakfast OK. We had a "Comfort Room" with a small balcony - room size a little smaller than we would have liked although adequate - but very clean. Disappointed there were no tissues in room and details about the hotel facilities or Sorrento. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomandAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I had a great stay at the Antiche Mura. Perfectly situated in the heart of Sorrento, but set just off the main square; it is a great location. But be aware, that there is no sea view at this hotel, as there are at other hotels nearby.

The service was extraordinary. The warmth and competence of the front desk staff was equal to any great four or five star hotel I have stayed in. This made my stay great. The general management of the hotel was excellent. Twice daily maid service is a nice touch as well.

A couple of slight negatives: Though the room was spacious and nicely equipped, the furnishings were not really my taste, but they were fine. The bedding, pillows, and towels could have been nicer as well. There is also no room service, if this matters to you.

As long as you do not need a sea view, this hotel is a great choice. It's tripadvisor current #1 ranking is well deserved.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Six of us had traveled to a few cities in Italy along with a family visit to Pietravairano in Caserta.. This was the last 3 days of our vacation. From when we entered the lobby and was greated by a family member who owned the hotel to the comfortable and cozy room to the outstanding first class breakfast buffet it was everything that we had hoepd for. But that was nothing compared to the large clean and cool kidney shaped pool reached through the heavenly garden path surrounded by an orchard of lemon trees! We thought we died and went to heaven. The weather of our three days was perfect and the staff even at the pool cabana couldn't do enough for us. They even offered to go down to the docks and get what ever fish we wanted and cook it for us for lunch or dinner. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DondoRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We stayed there for 6 nights in June 2011. Great hotel, delicious breakfasts. So close to everything beach, shops, train and bus station. Great pool area and happy hour. Great after spending a day at Isle of Capri or Pompei to come back and relax by the pool for a few hours before heading out for dinner. Very helpful and informative staff - would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieMelbourne12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Hi! All!

I stayed at Antiche Mura Hotel from 03 Nov 2011 to 05 Nov 2011.

The location is convenience:

- 10 minutes walk to the Sorrento Central Staion of Train and Bus (if with luggage 15 mintues max.)

- Near to the square and accessible to all restaurant

- The room is real big with your own balcony

- Free internet service (No limitation of the number of user)

- The staffs is really great and friendly.

- Well English Speaking Staffs

- Breakfast is good with nice environment. ( @ Garden) . However, i visited begining of Winter, hence we just have the breakfast indoor)

- I thk is because i visited Sorrento during low peak season, the room per night is only approximately Euro 110 per night. Compare with all other hotel that i stay at Italy, this is one of the best hotel i would recommend to whoever visited to Sorrento.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexganbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,444 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,750 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.0 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#13 of 100 in Sorrento
1,695 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiche Mura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Mura Hotel

Address: Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £96 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiche Mura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiche Mura Hotel has a wonderful position in the heart of Sorrento, in the main square Piazza Tasso. It is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento and its beautiful surroundings like Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. This newly renovated hotel combines elegance, style and modern comforts (Like Free Wi-Fi) able to satisfy guests with the highest expectations. At the same time , you will be able to experience centuries of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Antiche Mura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Mura Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing