We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel - Can't recommend it highly enough!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antiche Mura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Antiche Mura Hotel
Ranked #8 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel - Can't recommend it highly enough!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

We have arrived back from the Antiche Mura Hotel today, having spent four nights there and enjoyed one of our best ever holidays. The hotel is right in the cente of Sorrento and is only a few minutes walk to the centre of the town and the bus and train stations. Our room was very comfortable, with a huge bed and a delightful little balcony we could sit on and watch the world go by. There is also a lovely garden, with orange trees and a small swimming pool. We sat in the garden in the sunshine this morning and enjoyed coffee and biscuits.

The breakfasts were everything all the previous reviews had said ,huge choice of food, freshly baked bread, cakes and biscuits every morning . But the best thing of all was the staff, they were all really friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for you, especially our waiter, Mario, who's cheerful manner was so welcoming every morning and who was a mine of helpful information about the area. We will definately be returning again and again!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank b_holmes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,834
    319
    40
    9
    2
See reviews for
502
1,199
24
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

This hotel has a brilliant location, it is right next to the main square in Sorrento (Piazzo Tasso). The staff are exceptionally friendly and so helpful. The rooms are lovely and quite roomy, the beds are extremely comfy. The pool and garden area are a delight and an excellent place to relax any time throughout the day. The breakfast is superb and the views across the gorge make it a fantastic experience. My family and I have been back on numerous occasions as we enjoy the hotel, and the service the staff provide, so much. It is by far the best hotel we have stayed in in Sorrento and I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mkh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

We knew this place was close to the centre of Sorrento, but we didn't realise how close, it's not even a short walk, you step out of the hotel and you're in the town centre. Perfect!

I've given the hotel a 4 star review because I think the hotel is a four star hotel, yes it has a pool and a beautiful garden in which to chill out and relax, but the rooms themselves are good, but not excellent.

We didn't eat in the hotel, other than breakfast which was ok in a 'standard buffet kind of way', and chose instead to eat out at some superb restaurants in the town.

The rooms let the place down really, they are clean, they are tidy, but you feel like you're in something from the late seventies/early eighties; this isn't really a criticism of the hotel, it is what it is, some people will like it, others may not, I think the older you are the more likely you are to like this place (expecting some grief over that comment ...).

The staff were great and the reception staff were superb at organising tours and advising on things to see, our car trip along the Amalfi coast was one of the highlights of the holiday.

Would I go back to this hotel, undecided, I would certainly recommend it highly, but I think I would try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyThePea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua, HI
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

The staff at this hotel are wonderfully helpful and friendly! It was a pleasure working with them! They have especially good restaurant recommendations and are available to help you with anything. This hotel is an easy 10 minute walk from the train station, convenient to the center, yet set on a side street and up away from the noise of the center. We thought it was an ideal location. Our room had a huge, beautiful bathroom, and the beds were very comfortable. The generous buffet breakfast (fresh breads, bacon, eggs, fresh orange juice, plus more) is served in a gorgeous room with big windows, and in good weather there is outside seating. We had good value because we paid cash.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerkailuahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelating
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

If I tell you how much I enjoyed staying here you'll think I have a relative working at Antiche Mura. We actually discussed coming back to Sorrento just to relax in and enjoy this hotel. We stayed here for eight days.

1. The staff were the nicest people who couldn't do enough for us and were always cheerful even though I know they answer questions like mine two hundred times a week. I don't know what they put in the water at Antiche Mura but I hope they pass it around to some other hotels I've been to. When the porter brought our suitcases down he insisted on putting them into the rental car, then offered to turn the car around to make it easier for me get away. Aldo at the front desk was incredibly helpful, as was everyone else there.
2. The staff was not only nice, but very good at their jobs. The front desk people could answer every question and find every resource we asked about. When I checked in they had copies of my email correspondence with the manager so they knew just what I'd asked for and inquired about.
3. It's a beautiful little place with a relaxing pool area surrounded by lemon trees. You wouldn't know you're in the middle of a medium-size city back there. The pool area backs up to the gorge, which helps make it quiet, and pretty.
4. The location is perfect. You can walk down to Piazza Tasso in about a minute, and also down to the historic district right after that. It's also a five minute (really, it is five) to the train and bus station.
5. I saw some past criticism of their breakfast. They must have upgraded it because I loved their breakfasts. There was a wide variety of eggs, meat, cheese, breads. And a long table of pastries that changed from day to day ... really interesting pastries that I looked forward to.
6. Did I mention the lemon grove? There's a bar there for a relaxing drink at the pool in the evening to make a perfect break between a hard day of touristing and searching out dinner in the evening. Their restaurant recommendations were good and also candid.

Just to regain some credibility and not look like I've lost all critical faculties ... the free wifi was very slow, and not very useful where we were. I had a computer I could plug in to the hardwire connection and that worked well. Like many European hotels, the lights and outlets went out when we left and removed our room key from a slot by the door. This is understandable to save energy, but it meant we couldn't recharge our electronic devices while we were gone. Also, Italy has two-prong and three-prong outlets and our room had both (plus a British outlet) and so we couldn't use them all. We had to scramble sometimes to get things charged up.

By the way, speaking of electronics, I was able to get an Italian SIM card for an old, and unlocked, iPhone 3gs and it came in very handy while walking and driving around. Using a map with GPS and looking up restaurants on TA were especially helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

We stayed here in July 2011 and I cannot recommend this hotel enough. The staff were superb, helpful and friendly, without being too over the top. This is not a 5 star hotel, however the setting was absolutely beautiful and the hotel was lovely and clean. We particularly enjoyed spending lazy afternoons round the pool surrounded by orange and lemon trees after busy mornings sightseeing. The location of the hotel was perfect for exploring the town and local attractions, as it is just off the main square in the town.

Hours of research were done to find the best hotel within our price range in Sorrento and we certainly were not disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachael_yelland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plougasnou, France
Level Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

The Antiche Mura is very deserving of a 4 star rating. it exudes quality and comfort whilst having a great location, helpful staff, a great breakfast and on site parking. Located on the edge of the gorge, it's a short walk to the main shopping and eating of Sorrento. The complimentary breakfast is ample, and provides something for everyone. The bilingual staff are helpful, and the hotel provides the amenities gratis that you sometimes have to pay for (like free wifi in the room). Parking was €10 per day, in the hotels garage, and did not require pre-booking.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackSara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.4 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,808 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.6 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiche Mura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Mura Hotel

Property: Antiche Mura Hotel
Address: Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiche Mura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiche Mura Hotel has a wonderful position in the heart of Sorrento, in the main square Piazza Tasso. It is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento and its beautiful surroundings like Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. This newly renovated hotel combines elegance, style and modern comforts (Like Free Wi-Fi) able to satisfy guests with the highest expectations. At the same time , you will be able to experience centuries of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Antiche Mura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Mura Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing