We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic staff and location”
Review of Antiche Mura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Antiche Mura Hotel
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 March 2008

Antiche Mura Hotel is in a fantastic location with a short walk to the town centre. The hotel staff definitely made our stay with their friendly attitudes and willingness to help. The breakfast is quite extensive (especially if you like sweet pastries!), but there is something for everyone.

Our room was the standard room, which was OK. It was clean and reasonably comfortable but nothing special and not very sound proof.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank melty9283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,804 - 1,810 of 2,376 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2008

Friendly, spacious, well located hotel. The staff were terrific and accomodating, the bathrooms were modern and its just steps away from Piazzo Tasso which keeps it quiet. Breakfast was yummy and plentiful!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Divepam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2008

Yes, unforgetable days in this nice hotel and wonderful city.
Location is very central and easy to get there.
Staff was perfect and very polite.
Rooms, large sized and soft beds.
Breakfast delicious and swiminpool just wonderful.
I really would like to visit Sorrento again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hsbrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2008

Excellent+++ Don't pass up this hotel!!! I usually never write reviews for hotels but this one is so great it needs to be shared. We stayed there in late March 2008 and this hotel is perfect! Just an easy 2 block walk from the train station and one block walk to the center of town. As I was walking around the town and looked at the hotels on the hills around the city I was SO GLAD we decided on the Antiche Mura. You would need to pay for expensive transportation to get to the other hotels with your luggage and the walk from the hotels to the town would be brutal! All of the town's great shops and restaurants are 2-5 minutes away from this hotel and the prices are much lower than in Rome. The hotel rooms were very spacious and had everything provided. The staff was so friendly, helpful and great.... you rarely find this in such a nice hotel. Now for the free breakfast...WOW! The setting and food choices are amazing. You will not find a bigger and better breakfast in any 5 star hotel in the United States. The pool was not yet open but we walked around the pool area and wished we were there during the summer as it is in such a beautiful setting. You will definitely not go wrong staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tominkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2008

Hotel is nicer than website portrays. If I had to make a complaint it would be that we were in a room that overlooked an alleyway and we missed the fantastic views- although we were right next to the breakfast buffet area which was nice. This hotel is located right on the old city walls with an enormous drop, and you can't walk into the hotel without being amazed at the old mill at the bottom of the chasm and the remnants of the fortress at the top. (It's also located conveniently on the main square and close to the trains and buses for all the side trips from Sorrento.) The garden/pool/landscape is beautiful with lemon and orange trees and the glass enclosed breakfast room fronts on both the chasm and this garden pool area. We walked in here after breakfast every morning and saw things we had missed before.(We also picked a few fresh lemons for the sparkling water.) The breakfast buffet was excellent with a wide choice of foods-including eggs, ham ,cereals, pastries- on and on. The front desk staff could win awards for courtesy and friendliness- and it didn't seem like the "canned" conversation learned at a weekend seminar- they were honestly nice. The room was spacious by European standards and had a modern bath with multiport shower heads. We were very pleased and I don't know if this was a 3 or 4 star but it felt like a 5.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank attolug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our three day stay here. The staff (reception, bar, breakfast) were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is spacious and comfortable. Everything was spotlessly clean. The breakfast is one of the best we have had in our travels.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2008

Just got back from Sorrento and this hotel. It was exactly as described by other reviewers and I used the comments to make my choice before booking. Very friendly staff, rooms properly cleaned and linen changed daily and a superb location for the centre of town (2 mins walk).

I can't add any more other than to reiterate that it was just as described on here.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yellowbug999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,779 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
1,738 reviews
0 mi away
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.1 mi away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#16 of 100 in Sorrento
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiche Mura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Mura Hotel

Address: Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £90 - £385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiche Mura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiche Mura Hotel has a wonderful position in the heart of Sorrento, in the main square Piazza Tasso. It is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento and its beautiful surroundings like Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. This newly renovated hotel combines elegance, style and modern comforts (Like Free Wi-Fi) able to satisfy guests with the highest expectations. At the same time , you will be able to experience centuries of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Antiche Mura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Mura Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing