We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the Best!”
Review of Antiche Mura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Antiche Mura Hotel
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Minutes away from the train station and the main square, Antiche Mura was an absolute pleasure. From the moment we (3 couples) walked into Antiche Mura, we were treated like royalty. Laura (the one with the amazing hair) at the desk could not have been nicer. She upgraded us to a junior suite on the 5th floor. The room was beautiful, quiet, very roomy with a comfortable bed equipped with complimentary slippers and robe. Also shade darkeners were perfect for a good night's sleep. Laura mentioned to take the mini train for a 30 minute tour of the town which was just right. We had lunch and drinks by the beautiful pool lined with lemon trees. Mario, usually singing, was extremely helpful and happy, booking us a restaurant and a driver. Breakfasts at this hotel were also a treat as one could eat at the outside terrace with beautiful flowers surrounding you. Next to the pool and the breakfast area is a canyon lined with greenery and flying birds. All incredible! Waiting in the lobby was also fun as we would have drinks with Tony our bartender who also was super friendly and accommodating. Antiche Mura is a hotel we would definitely come back to as It was one of the highlights of our 12 day trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

852 - 858 of 2,363 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

This hotel was one of my favorites on my month long trip in Italy. Great location, clean, attentive (beautiful) staff, lovely accommodations. Just a two-minute walk to all the ferries to Positano, Capri and Amalfi. Definitely would stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KSquared37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in April. Beautiful hotel in a great location! We were able to walk into the old city area as well as other sections of the city. Sorrento is a great walking city and we prefer to walk around a place and really get to know it. Maria and staff were just perfect. We opted for a room on the street side with a small balcony. Beautiful room!!!! Yep, it was a bit noisy at times, but not enough to disturb our sleep. The breakfast is in an excellently appointed dining room with windows overlooking the ancient wall (antiche mura= old wall!) the garden and the seemingly miles of wisteria blooming across the canyon. Breakfast was superior fare each morning, accompanied by lovely music playing softly, sometimes opera, sometimes Sinatra. Just wonderful atmosphere all around. Lobby is gorgeous with great sculpture and paintings throughout. Perfect place for a little wine in the early evening. Very good value for this beautifully appointed hotel. Would stay again and highly recommend it. Probably warmer later in the season, but Sorrento is quiet and calm in the springtime, before the real season starts. Great restaurants everywhere. All in all, a wonderful place to just absorb all that is great about a seaside town in Italy. And you just cant beat the Limoncello!

Room Tip: Rooms with small balconies are a bit more, but worth it. We like watching the action from afar. Fun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marykeeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

What can I say, that hasn't already been said. Great location, great rooms and staff. We got upgraded to a suite and it was great. Complimentary bottle of wine for us , and fruits for our kids room. The rooms were spotless, and the bathroom's large. Its located right in town, so easy to get anywhere. Breakfast was throughly enjoyed by my kids. Bathrooms showers do leak if partition is not closed properly. We did not seem to have any problems with the wifi. Enjoyed our evening strolls right into town. The view from our wrap around balcony was amazing. The kids liked the pool. The grounds are beautiful and soothing allowing you to relax. Would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveldoc27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This was our first time in Sorrento and we could not have chosen a better hotel or room. The location was exceptionally handy for where we wanted to walk - the train station, the harbour, various restaurants and just wandering around soaking up the atmosphere. We were thrilled with our junior suite - it had an outside terrace where we could lie on loungers or sit at a table. It was hot during our stay so we really enjoyed being able to sit in the shade but still be outside. I needed to see a doctor during my stay and the woman at the front desk couldn't have been more helpful to organise it. The breakfast buffet was very good and gluten free bread was available upon request. I think some freshly baked gluten free items (e.g. mini sponge cakes) were available too but I didn't try them. The friendly barman was great in guiding our discovery of amaro after dinner - we sampled a very wide selection over the week. I loved this hotel and would definitely return on future visits to Sorrento. I'll maybe have time to try the pool next time!

Room Tip: junior suite with terrace gives you the option to relax outside in sunshine or shade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hochelaga1653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed in this beautiful hotel in the heart of Sorrento for three nights.

Pros: The grounds and pool were stunning. Between the lemon trees, ancient walls, and peaceful poolside, we loved lounging outside. The hotel is located just steps from the main square in Sorrento, where we found lots of restaurants, bars, shops, and gelaterias within walking distance. The staff was professional and helpful. There was a charming bar in the lobby where we liked to stop for a cocktail from the friendly bartender. The rooms were spacious and well-appointed with pretty tile floors and chandeliers. The included breakfast was bountiful and varied.

Cons: The showers had a tendency to flood the bathrooms, and the wifi strength was weak.

Room Tip: Economy rooms have weird windows... they are underground so the windows are near the ceiling and loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The standard of the facilities, staff and food are superb.

This is the second time I have stayed at the Antiche Mura and would return again. What sets the hotel apart from the others is its location - at the centre of Sorrento but quiet - the pool area is beautifully maintained and very relaxing. The staff are so nice, helpful and willing to advise on the best way to access the areas places of interest.

Room Tip: The pool service for drinks and food is excellent in both quality and price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,774 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
3,289 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
1,718 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiche Mura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Mura Hotel

Address: Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £77 - £371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiche Mura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiche Mura Hotel has a wonderful position in the heart of Sorrento, in the main square Piazza Tasso. It is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento and its beautiful surroundings like Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. This newly renovated hotel combines elegance, style and modern comforts (Like Free Wi-Fi) able to satisfy guests with the highest expectations. At the same time , you will be able to experience centuries of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Antiche Mura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Mura Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing