We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel Oasis in the Heart of Sorrento”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Antiche Mura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Antiche Mura Hotel
Ranked #8 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Manasquan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel Oasis in the Heart of Sorrento”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed here during our honeymoon in the very end of August. We arrived by boat in the small port from Napoli. We spent about 17 Euros getting to the the hotel via taxi which was a BIG mistake. All you need to do is get on one of the red local buses which are parked right in the port and pay about 1.60 euro. Purchase tickets in the bar by the church in the main square or at the Tabacchi in the port. The bus stops right in front of the hotel practically and is less than 5 minutes up the hill. Upon arriving the staff showed us the room which they had upgraded us to. It was a rooftop room with its own HUGE terrace overlooking what felt like all of Sorrento. We had booked a basic room - which are fairly small - so this was a lovely surprise. They also had a bottle of proseco waiting for us in the room. The air conditioning in the room was the best on our whole trip which was great because it was HOT in August here. The pool area was incredibly quiet and the pool was a good size. There is a lovely grove surrounding the pool which makes it feel more like you are in someone's garden than at a hotel. The staff at the pool were quirky and fun and the food there was excellent. The hotel is located just off the main Piazza and has a great store across the street convenient for buying snacks for your stay like wine and cheese. Staff were very helpful and knowledgeable and spoke excellent English. They recommended the beach club to us which was just a short walk back down the hill. For 16 euros each we had a lounge chair and towels all day on the sea. It was really nice. Overall this was definitely worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rujimhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,854
    327
    41
    9
    2
See reviews for
511
1,214
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

What a lovely hotel and a great location! The staff has been so accommodating and friendly, I would definitely stay here again! Close to everything in Sorrento and a great location for day trips! Breakfast in the garden is a pleasant start to the day and a cocktail by the pool is a great end to the day.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Melinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

My husband and I were vacationing from New York and stayed at The Antiche Mura for a week. It was our first time in Sorrento and the hotel was wonderfully situated in the main square close to all of the transportation hubs. The staff was excellent, very friendly, caring and accommodating. We did a lot of touring on our own however we also signed up for the Ishchia tour through the hotel and the tour was very well organized and enjoyable. The room was comfortable, clean and in good condition. The hotel pool is very nice and relaxing. Would warmly recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonja C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

From the moment we decided to book our wedding in Italy, Michele Savarese (Hotel Manager) and the staff at Antcihe Mura were on hand to ensure that every one of our needs were met. Right from an initial visit to the hotel (even before we had made our final decision on venue) to our departure, we were overwhelmed.
The hotel excelled our expectations, and the ideal location, beautiful surroundings, amazing food, pool and variety of rooms accomodated all the needs of our guests in the wedding party - right from a young family with a baby to older couples.
We booked our stay direct with the hotel and we went for a 'comfort room'. However when we arrived the room was much more than this. The room overlooked the beatuiful gardens and swimming pool and had its own private veranda with sunbeds, which the pool staff were more than happy to bring drinks to, especially Mario who was extremely friendly and a fantastic host. This was mirrored throughout the hotel with staff going the extra mile to ensure a comfortable stay, particulary on reception and during breakfast.
As well as our stay at the hotel, Michele organised every detail of our wedding, including the wedding reception that was located at the Villa Antiche Mura which belonged to the hotel. A fifteen minute walk away, the amazing location had unique views of the Bay of Naples and complete privacy during the reception. Amazing hospitality by the staff, our guests felt completely at ease, enjoying magnificent views, food and drinks, all prepared on site.
Overall we had an amazing time at the hotel and a special thanks to Michele for making our wedding expereince one that we will never forget.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faye S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

A lovely hotel that is in the best location in Sorrento. There are lots of great restaurants, the marina and the train station only a few minutes away. A lot of the hotels that have the sea views are too far away, I would much prefer the location of this hotel. The staff were so friendly and could not have been more helpful. The rooms were nice and very clean, but they are small. We got two interconnecting rooms as we have children. The pool area was lovely however, it was small and we were always worried that the kids were making too much noise. The breakfast was very good, but make sure to ask for espresso coffee ( with a jug of hot water or milk) instead of just coffee, as it was not very good. I would recommend this hotel very much, we had a fabulous holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MW1295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Antiche Mura... it means antique wall. Placed just outside the town plaza and within easy walking distance to the bus or regional train, this hotel surpassed all expectations. The decor blended modern clean lines and convenience with historic charm. Economy rooms are small by US standards, but upgrading will get you more space. My thought... when in Italy, who wants to just sit in their room!

The breakfast room was incredible... at least 15 types of pastries, eggs, bacon, sausage, several different breads, fruit and you eat inside an all windowed dining area with a fresco painted on one wall. From the dining room, you can enter the garden filled with orange and lemon trees surrounding an infinity pool. There are even rooms like little garden apartments that open out on the courtyard.

The staff was very helpful and will arrange tours, internet is free, though to my chagrin, Netflix does not work in Italy... so we went with the flow and watched Italian television. Laundry service is expensive, so I would make the effort to find a laundromat next time. Otherwise, a wonderful base to see Sorrento and the surrounding attractions. Sorrento is the last stop on the Circumvensuviana, the local regional train from Naples.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
134 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Minutes away from the train station and the main square, Antiche Mura was an absolute pleasure. From the moment we (3 couples) walked into Antiche Mura, we were treated like royalty. Laura (the one with the amazing hair) at the desk could not have been nicer. She upgraded us to a junior suite on the 5th floor. The room was beautiful, quiet, very roomy with a comfortable bed equipped with complimentary slippers and robe. Also shade darkeners were perfect for a good night's sleep. Laura mentioned to take the mini train for a 30 minute tour of the town which was just right. We had lunch and drinks by the beautiful pool lined with lemon trees. Mario, usually singing, was extremely helpful and happy, booking us a restaurant and a driver. Breakfasts at this hotel were also a treat as one could eat at the outside terrace with beautiful flowers surrounding you. Next to the pool and the breakfast area is a canyon lined with greenery and flying birds. All incredible! Waiting in the lobby was also fun as we would have drinks with Tony our bartender who also was super friendly and accommodating. Antiche Mura is a hotel we would definitely come back to as It was one of the highlights of our 12 day trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,848 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiche Mura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Mura Hotel

Property: Antiche Mura Hotel
Address: Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiche Mura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiche Mura Hotel has a wonderful position in the heart of Sorrento, in the main square Piazza Tasso. It is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento and its beautiful surroundings like Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. This newly renovated hotel combines elegance, style and modern comforts (Like Free Wi-Fi) able to satisfy guests with the highest expectations. At the same time , you will be able to experience centuries of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Antiche Mura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Mura Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing