We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding locations”
Review of Antiche Mura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Antiche Mura Hotel
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding locations”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The Antiche Mura is in a fabulous location, right in the heart of Sorrento, near to shops, restaurants and transport. Our room was spotlessly clean, light and airy overlooking the swimming pool and the magical orange and lemon grove/garden. The staff were wonderful and exceptionally helpful with advice about the area, where to go, what to see. Tony the barman was simply terrific and poured a mean cocktail. The breakfast buffet had an extensive range of food from hot eggs and bacon to a huge array of sweet cakes and it kept you gong all day. If you have a car they have a hotel car park and €10 per day and when you see the driving and parking situation in the area you will know that this is well worth the expense. The only negative would be wifi reception/speed (which isn't great) but all in all I would highly recommend this hotel to any visitor to Sorrento, Our stay was absolutely brilliant.

Room Tip: The rooms in the annex by the pool take you through the orange grove which is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atlbrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,886
    335
    42
    10
    2
See reviews for
522
1,240
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is simply wonderful and the staff do all they can to ensure a perfect stay for you. The hotel is spotless and set in a stunning location just a minute stroll from the main square. I would not change one thing about this hotel. It's just perfect.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Amac001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW England
Level Contributor
112 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a four-night stay in Sorrento in the Antiche Mura.

We had a room on the top floor with a balcony (Room 509).

It was spotlessly clean, with a very comfortable bed, good bathroom and excellent services throughout the hotel.

The breakfast was very well presented, with a good choice of both "continental" and cooked food.

The staff were excellent - very helpful front desk, very friendly and helpful at breakfast and in the bar in the evening.

The garden at the rear of the hotel would be a lovely place to sit in the summer and is full of orange and lemons trees, surrounding the pool.

Would definitely recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeicaUser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

A lovely hotel in the perfect location just off the main square but very quite. Staff very friendly. a lovely welcome and two very nice, clean and comfortable double rooms. Breakfast staff were fantastic very attentive and entertaining. a lovely buffet selection with all you could want to keep you going most of the day! Despite being November it was warm enough to sit outside for breakfast. Gardens, grounds and pool were all well kept and clean with lovely floral borders everywhere, A lovely hotel and we would definitely stay if we are lucky enough to visit beautiful Sorrento again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morsy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Cove, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I stayed at the hotel for 8 nights over Thanksgiving. The hotel was centrally located, was lovely, clean and spacious. The staff was wonderful - extremely helpful and very attentive. The front desk crew always had a smile in the morning when I was leaving for the day and when I returned in at the end of the day. The staff was also very helpful in offering suggestions to my daily travel itineraries and even checking train schedules etc. for me.
I have recommended this hotel to all my friends. Hopefully I will have the opportunity to return to Sorrento one day soon and will stay at Antiche Mura again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I've stayed twice at this hotel (*most recently October 2012, not 2013 as the Trip Advisor review selection box would not let me go that far back) when I've needed to visit or launch a trip from Sorrento, and it is really wonderful. The rooms are immaculate, beautifully appointed; the grounds are beautiful and perhaps the greatest draw is the abundant and massively diverse breakfast buffet that caters to (we were told) British tourists and Italians alike. The hotel service -- for Italy, which as a country tends to falter a bit on service in general to what Americans are accustomed to -- is very very good. We had a room for 3 with 2 queens that opened up to a small veranda looking at the pool and courtyard and all I wanted to do was hang out there more rather than tour around! They had me at the vibrantly colored Italian ceramic tile floors (from local tile maker) and the spa slippers and robes. (As always, if you need help or specific information from the hospitable concierges or staff anywhere in Italy, you need to ask specific questions. I am Italian-American with family in Italy and we know that while Italy can be wonderful , it supports a culture where where the motto seems to be "If you don't ask, we don't tell you.") The staff at Antiche Mura are great and especially helpful in getting you back and forth to restaurants in the evening that can be a hilly hike away sometimes. Next time I'm in Sorrento, I'd like to plan in a day of doing nothing so I can enjoy the pool and grounds...The hotel is not cheap, but worth every penny and well located to both the newer and historic avenues in Sorrento. (Don't miss the small family lemon grove in the center of town that sells their own limoncello and mandarin orange liquors, I Giardini Da Cataldo. You can easily walk there. If in the warm or early fall months, wear bug spray! -- it can be mosquito-y while you are tasting liquors!) Ask for when they are open if you are there in the off-season. Don't buy limoncello anywhere outside of Southern Italy -- that's where the best lemons are grown.) Just thinking of all of this makes me want to hop on a flight now.

Room Tip: Be sure to know where your room is. I would avoid rooms on the lower level (economy room) with a sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JerseyWhirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Da Nang, Vietnam
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This hotel was one of my favorites on my month long trip in Italy. Great location, clean, attentive (beautiful) staff, lovely accommodations. Just a two-minute walk to all the ferries to Positano, Capri and Amalfi. Definitely would stay there again!

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank piter p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,985 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
1,058 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
3,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiche Mura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Mura Hotel

Property: Antiche Mura Hotel
Address: Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiche Mura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiche Mura Hotel has a wonderful position in the heart of Sorrento, in the main square Piazza Tasso. It is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento and its beautiful surroundings like Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. This newly renovated hotel combines elegance, style and modern comforts (Like Free Wi-Fi) able to satisfy guests with the highest expectations. At the same time , you will be able to experience centuries of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Antiche Mura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Mura Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing