We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our first trip to beautiful Sorrento” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antiche Mura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Antiche Mura Hotel
Ranked #8 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Destrehan, Louisiana
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Our first trip to beautiful Sorrento”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Before we even arrived at the peaceful and beautiful Antiche Mura, we felt welcomed (loved the wisteria! and pretty flowers!). Michele Savarese was wonderful in helping plan our stay. From the absolutely beautiful room (#501) with amazing views, to arranging transportation by private car from the Naples train station to the hotel. The welcome champagne and fruit basket were fantastic! We took some of the fruit, bought some delicious cheeses, tasty olives, and Italian meats and had a picnic overlooking the beautiful blue waters as the sun set one lovely evening (and a seagull posed for pictures). The hotel staff was wonderful in helping to arrange for Francesco Savarese to take us on a private tour of the gorgeous Amalfi Coast. Each morning at breakfast (which was delicious and had many choices) we were greeted very pleasantly and welcomed by Mario and Tonio, reminders of why I love the Italian people so much. Tonio remembered to bring my cappuccino without me even asking! Mario and the others at the front desk were so wonderful! Bellman and housekeeping were even great! The breakfast room and views of the gardens took my breath away. The food was delicious and so fresh, especially the orange juice! I would highly recommend this property as it was accommodating in every way and within close walking distance of everything beautiful Sorrento has to offer. Churches, pizza, pasta, limoncello, olives, shopping, and gelato!!!!.....I am so glad we stayed here on our first trip to Italy! During our five nights at Antiche Mura we visited Sorrento, Amalfi, Positano, Ravello, Capri, an olive oil factory(Raphaella was great!), a limoncello factory(thank you, Rosella for the wonderful tour and tastings!) and garden, and a mozzarella factory (thanks Sara!). I would definitely stay here if I am ever again so fortunate to visit Italy a second time. Italy was everything I dreamed it would be and more! Sorrento is definitely a must see if you are considering a trip to this awesome country.

Room Tip: #501 had beautiful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bridget S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,836
    320
    40
    9
    2
See reviews for
503
1,201
24
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
327 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Very nice, clean, smallish hotel in central Sorrento. Not overlooking cliffs. Rooms very clean with hand painted tile floors and nice bathroom.

Breakfast is excellent but not ultra luxury. Wide selection of pastries. Scrambled eggs. Bacon & sausage just ok. Salumi, prosciutto & smoked salmon very good. Cheeses just ok.

Very good for family.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jabrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

This truly is a lovely hotel, in the main square of Sorrento but set back so no noise and set in a beautiful garden and pool. But the best point is the group of young men at the front desk who really bend over backwards to help you, show you what to do and recommend restaurants and outings, haven't come across a group like this before. Breakfast is good, if you have a sweet tooth there are about 10 different pastries for breakfast and the hotel gleams. Truly a gem.

Room Tip: Ask for upper poolside rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank englishmarilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights in April . From the minute we checked in the service was first class from all staff, particularly luigi and Vincenzo. The hotel were aware that we were celebrating our wedding anniversary, and a chilled bottle of sparkling wine was awaiting us. What a lovely touch! Advice about buses, restaurants and local walks we also found particularly helpful. We were made to feel very special for all of our stay. Lovely breakfast, with something for everyone is offered. Decor of both inside and outside of hotel is superb and general cleanliness of hotel is first class. We travel abroad very frequently, but can honestly say that this is certainly one of , if not, the best hotels that we have stayed in. Cannot recommend highly enough!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank julieb_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Very well located hotel. In the centre of Sorrento, just a short walk from the main square, but very peaceful and with a lovely outdoor swimming pool and garden. Good rooms, excellent breakfast, and truly brilliant staff, who weren't just attentive, but friendly and good natured. We've stayed in many hotels, large and small, and this ranks about the best.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter6530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed 3 nights at Antiche Mura recently and we all agreed that it was our favorite hotel in Italy (we stayed in 4). Superb location to be close to everything, yet very quiet and tranquil. The staff is wonderful, the grounds are lovely, the breakfast was heavenly(the kids loved eating the pastries for breakfast) and such great coffee---so generous was breakfast taht we could skip lunch every day and enjoy a nice evening meal. The beds were comfortable and our quad room was uniquely arranged so that the kids were "upstairs" in their own alcove, giving everyone a bit of privacy. It was very clean and had a great overhead shower (so hard to come by in Italy). Michele was wonderful to work with ahead of time for booking with my questions. I would not hesitate to stay again and would recommend this location to everyone

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank danie77379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We have just returned from Sorrento staying at this hotel with a group of eight. Everything was perfect. The rooms were of a very high standand, the location was spot on, the breakfast was excellent but most of all every member of staff were brilliant. I have never been to any hotel with better staff. Friendly, informative and always a smile. Do also go to Capri for the day it is well worth it. Thanks to the hotel for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonPandDlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.4 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,814 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiche Mura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Mura Hotel

Property: Antiche Mura Hotel
Address: Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiche Mura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiche Mura Hotel has a wonderful position in the heart of Sorrento, in the main square Piazza Tasso. It is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento and its beautiful surroundings like Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. This newly renovated hotel combines elegance, style and modern comforts (Like Free Wi-Fi) able to satisfy guests with the highest expectations. At the same time , you will be able to experience centuries of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Antiche Mura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Mura Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing