We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Antiche Mura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Antiche Mura Hotel
Ranked #8 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

This was a fabulous hotel. We had a wonderful stay and the staff was very attentive and helpful. The buffet breakfast was huge and there was a lot of food to choose from. Our room was beautiful. We had two balconies and a great view. I loved the tile floor. The room was clean and we had turn down service in the evening. It was the perfect relaxing stay. It was located in walking distance from everything. Sorrento is the best location for seeing the Amalfi Coast and the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,851
    326
    41
    9
    2
See reviews for
509
1,212
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

My new husband and I stayed in the Antiche Mura hotel in March 2014 for a week as part of our honeymoon. We originally wanted a hotel with a sea view but many of these were either closed at this time of year or were too expensive. We stumbled across the Antiche Mura hotel on Tripadvisor and were immediately enchanted. We treated ourselves to a junior suite, and what a treat!! If you want a room with a view ask for room 401. The room has two balconies, one overlooking the valley (who needs a sea view!!) and the other looking out over the front of the hotel. We were able to enjoy the view with a bottle of sparking wine which was kindly provided by the hotel to congratulate us on our wedding.

The room itself is an extremely large room and is equipped with a king size bed and a chaise longue. The room has almost all amenities you could ask for (no tea or coffee making facilities) including a mini bar, toiletries, hairdryer etc. The room we stayed in had floor to ceiling windows which led onto each of the balconies, this made the room very light and provided spectacular views wherever you were in the room.

What can I say about the service! Everyone is extremely friendly and willing to help out with any questions you may have. They have good local knowledge and can recommend restaurants and bars, they are also more than happy to help organise any trips. We made many trips to the hotel's bar in the evening and were well looked after by Antonino the bar man. He was more than willing to make up cocktails of our choosing and kept us plied with crisps and snacks! His contribution was one of the lasting memories of our honeymoon and epitomised the service that we received from the Antiche Mura staff.

Also, we have to mention the amazing buffet breakfast. There is something for everyone, including many a singing waiter to brighten up the morning. Particular mention to the amazing home made cakes. The hotel does not provide lunch or dinner service but it is possible to get a small sandwich from the bar menu, but do not rely on this.

The hotel is situated just off the main piazza in Sorrento. If travelling in March please bear in mind that not all bars and restaurants are open, but this did not prove problematic. There are a wide range of bars and restaurants that remain open all year. The hotel is not far from local transport, the train station and the main bus station are about a 5 minute walk away.

But don't just take our word for it, book yourself a stay at the Antiche Mura hotel! We loved every minute and will definitely return!

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the valley are a little pricier but definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Metal_Head_Chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for 5 nights during a 2 week trip to Italy. It was by far our favorite hotel. The location is perfect…right off the main square, and just a short walk to either the ferry or the train. The hotel staff were so friendly and helpful, and can arrange for several tours of the area including Pompeii, Capri and Amalfi. The hotel is beautifully decorated, and very clean. The pool is wonderful, and we enjoyed relaxing on the terrace overlooking the town. We will definitely stay here again if we are lucky enough to be back in Sorrento.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank threecards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed at the hotel for six nights
first class service
great location in the center.
the stuff in the reception was helpful, friendly and kind, also the stuff in the dining room.
the room was big, comfortabe and clean.
high recomended.

Room Tip: in the economy room, the mining for high window is small window in the high part of the wall. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
273 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Firstly, this hotel is in a great position - just 2 minutes from the central Piazza Tasso.
The staff are very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Nothing is too much effort. We had a standard room. Not large, but plenty big enough. Large 32" TV and very comfortable (slightly hard) bed. Be warned that if you choose this type of room, you may not have a view.
Very pretty garden with a smallish pool and bar. When we were there, the lovely smell of jasmine was strong.
The breakfast, as others have mentioned, is great. Good choice, and about 2 dozen different cakes and biscuits at breakfast. 3 different juices, plus fresh orange juice, but you have to press the oranges yourself! You can sit outside, weather permitting.
If you want a hotel that is bustling with activity in the evening, this hotel isn't for you. The problem is proximity to the town centre with so many bars. Unfortunately, the hotel can't compete with that. The pool area is busy, though, during the day.
If you get the bus from Naples airport, it goes past the hotel on the way in, and stops less than 10 minutes walk away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

What a wonderful hotel this is. My husband and I had a great welcome from the staff and were delighted with the standard of the room (4th floor with balcony) and bathroom. The bed was so comfy that we slept really well every night of our 4 night stay. Everything was very clean and well maintained. The hotel is easy to walk to from the station and convenient for everything in Sorrento. Breakfast is amazing - such a fantastic choice and all good quality. The garden and pool area offers a tranquil spot to relax after a busy day sightseeing. The staff were so helpful too and we really enjoyed the boat trip to Capri that they arranged for us. We would like to thank the staff for the bottle of bubbly waiting in our room on my husband's birthday - such a nice thought. We certainly have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel and would stay here again if we visit this area in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacuumcleaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We first stayed at the Antiche Mura 8 years ago and always promised ourselves we'd return one day; this year we actually managed to do this and the experience this time was even better than we'd remembered it. The hotel is ideally placed being a short stroll from the Piazza Tasso (the main square of Sorrento) yet still managing to be a quiet haven to escape to when the pace of the town becomes too much. This time we had a fifth floor room facing the street but it was very quiet and we both managed to sleep at least as well if not better than we do at home, the double glazing and window shutters proving to be excellent noise preventers. As other reviewers have commented, the breakfast selection really has to be seen to be believed and I've only seen its equal once - and that was in a 5-star hotel. The pool area set amongst lemon and orange trees is excellent and the bar provides light lunches as well as drinks whilst the indoor bar is comfortable and offers a range of 'happy hour' cocktails which seems to change regularly. Apart from the outside the hotel inside is immaculately kept, very clean and well furnished and the room's towels and sheets are changed daily.The final 'cherry on the cake' (if one was needed) is the staff who are all unfailingly friendly, helpful and good humoured; amongst them all we found Anthony and Mario to be exceptionally helpful with suggestions of the best local restaurants and events and they provided some of the best service we've found in many years of travelling. We can't recommend the Antiche Mura highly enough and hope our next visit won't take us another eight years to achieve but, even if it did, I'm sure the experience will still be as good in the future.

Room Tip: Our friends' garden room was reportedly a bit noisier (from neighbours) than our room in the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,843 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiche Mura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Mura Hotel

Property: Antiche Mura Hotel
Address: Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiche Mura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiche Mura Hotel has a wonderful position in the heart of Sorrento, in the main square Piazza Tasso. It is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento and its beautiful surroundings like Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. This newly renovated hotel combines elegance, style and modern comforts (Like Free Wi-Fi) able to satisfy guests with the highest expectations. At the same time , you will be able to experience centuries of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Antiche Mura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Mura Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing