We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antiche Mura Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Antiche Mura Hotel
Ranked #8 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“First time visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

This was our first visit to Sorrento. Not sure what to expect, but we're pleasantly surprised by the hospitality and old world charm of this place. There wasn't a jaw dropping view - but the comfort level and welcoming attitude of the staff ensured our trip was very memorable.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,836
    320
    40
    9
    2
See reviews for
503
1,201
24
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Asbury, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed at this wonderful hotel for 5 nights end of May 2014 in celebration of our 25th wedding anniversary. A bottle of champagne and large fruit basket was awaiting us! Everyone was warm and welcoming. Lovely accommodations, superb breakfast buffet Lemon trees, honeysuckle plants and flowers adorn the outer courtyard. Excellent location, a very short walk to the main square where there is plenty of shopping and many excellent restaurants. We would definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtorre1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband & I stayed here with our two young sons. We were given a family room which included an upstairs twin room and downstairs double room - and was the best of both worlds. We were together and yet had distinct areas. Our room was beside the pool which was very pretty. The hotel was w/in walking distance to shops, restaurants and the shore. We had a lovely time exploring beautiful Sorrento and relaxing at the hotel. I think all of us would agree that it was a great visit.

Room Tip: Rent a car! You'll be a short drive from Pompeii and Mount Vesuvius. Also, don't miss Capr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hartley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week really good central hotel friendly helpful staff lovely large room with balcony great breakfast and maid service you normally get in 5star hotels I would recommend this place .
Bottle of sparkling wine in room is a nice touch too .

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tedcatuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

This was a fabulous hotel. We had a wonderful stay and the staff was very attentive and helpful. The buffet breakfast was huge and there was a lot of food to choose from. Our room was beautiful. We had two balconies and a great view. I loved the tile floor. The room was clean and we had turn down service in the evening. It was the perfect relaxing stay. It was located in walking distance from everything. Sorrento is the best location for seeing the Amalfi Coast and the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

My new husband and I stayed in the Antiche Mura hotel in March 2014 for a week as part of our honeymoon. We originally wanted a hotel with a sea view but many of these were either closed at this time of year or were too expensive. We stumbled across the Antiche Mura hotel on Tripadvisor and were immediately enchanted. We treated ourselves to a junior suite, and what a treat!! If you want a room with a view ask for room 401. The room has two balconies, one overlooking the valley (who needs a sea view!!) and the other looking out over the front of the hotel. We were able to enjoy the view with a bottle of sparking wine which was kindly provided by the hotel to congratulate us on our wedding.

The room itself is an extremely large room and is equipped with a king size bed and a chaise longue. The room has almost all amenities you could ask for (no tea or coffee making facilities) including a mini bar, toiletries, hairdryer etc. The room we stayed in had floor to ceiling windows which led onto each of the balconies, this made the room very light and provided spectacular views wherever you were in the room.

What can I say about the service! Everyone is extremely friendly and willing to help out with any questions you may have. They have good local knowledge and can recommend restaurants and bars, they are also more than happy to help organise any trips. We made many trips to the hotel's bar in the evening and were well looked after by Antonino the bar man. He was more than willing to make up cocktails of our choosing and kept us plied with crisps and snacks! His contribution was one of the lasting memories of our honeymoon and epitomised the service that we received from the Antiche Mura staff.

Also, we have to mention the amazing buffet breakfast. There is something for everyone, including many a singing waiter to brighten up the morning. Particular mention to the amazing home made cakes. The hotel does not provide lunch or dinner service but it is possible to get a small sandwich from the bar menu, but do not rely on this.

The hotel is situated just off the main piazza in Sorrento. If travelling in March please bear in mind that not all bars and restaurants are open, but this did not prove problematic. There are a wide range of bars and restaurants that remain open all year. The hotel is not far from local transport, the train station and the main bus station are about a 5 minute walk away.

But don't just take our word for it, book yourself a stay at the Antiche Mura hotel! We loved every minute and will definitely return!

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the valley are a little pricier but definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Metal_Head_Chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for 5 nights during a 2 week trip to Italy. It was by far our favorite hotel. The location is perfect…right off the main square, and just a short walk to either the ferry or the train. The hotel staff were so friendly and helpful, and can arrange for several tours of the area including Pompeii, Capri and Amalfi. The hotel is beautifully decorated, and very clean. The pool is wonderful, and we enjoyed relaxing on the terrace overlooking the town. We will definitely stay here again if we are lucky enough to be back in Sorrento.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank threecards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.4 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,810 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiche Mura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Mura Hotel

Property: Antiche Mura Hotel
Address: Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiche Mura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiche Mura Hotel has a wonderful position in the heart of Sorrento, in the main square Piazza Tasso. It is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento and its beautiful surroundings like Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. This newly renovated hotel combines elegance, style and modern comforts (Like Free Wi-Fi) able to satisfy guests with the highest expectations. At the same time , you will be able to experience centuries of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and TravelUp so you can book your Antiche Mura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Mura Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing