We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Antiche Mura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Antiche Mura Hotel
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Love the staff and service of this Place! Great pool surrounded by lemon trees.
Rooms were perfect. Very clean! Bed was great! Very quiet for being so close to all the action! The staff even brought me a dvd player with many different movies to play..

Room Tip: Go for the suite, great size and very comfertable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rjl51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

680 - 686 of 2,386 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

This was by far our favorite hotel on our trip. Each room had a chilled bottle of Prosecco upon arrival. A very wonderful and professional staff. We had a com fort room on the second floor facing the street and it was very quiet with the balcony doors closed. The electric shutters blocked out the light for a good night's sleep. Our friends were also on the 2nd floor, so at night we brought a bottle of Chianti on the outside deck on the 2nd floor and watched the people as we drank our wine. Our favorite part was the swimming pool in the lemon and orange grove. Lots of shade or lots of sun, our choice. There was a nice breeze blowing in the afternoon and sitting under a lemon tree while reading my book was such a treat. Then there was the singing bar waiter named Mario. He really enjoys his job and makes everyone feel special.
The hotel was only a block from the main square in Sorrento so it was in a great location. Antiche Mura means antique wall, which was the wall that went down to a very deep gorge that was beautifully overgrown with trees and shrubs nearly hiding the ancient buildings below.
The breakfast buffet included smoked salmon, champagne and 3 different types of cooked eggs.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front were good for people watching. Rooms around the pool were quiet, but you would ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The Antiche Mura is in an excellent location, about half a block from Piazza Tasso, which means the hotel gets virtually none of the noise from that very busy area, but you’re just a few steps from all the shops, restaurants, and other conveniences.

The excellent experience and service at the Antiche Mura started well before our arrival, when I exchanged several e-mails with Michele Savarese to first request a quiet room with a good view, and then to arrange for car services and a tour. He was very responsive and helpful, and made us feel like we had made a good choice in selecting the Antiche Mura

We chose to upgrade from the ‘Standard’ room to a ‘Comfort’ room. The room we were assigned was on the 3rd floor and on the side of the hotel, with a wonderful view. Since our room did not face the street, and was not over the garden/pool it was very quiet. Given that the rooms are tiled, and not carpeted, we were somewhat afraid that we’d hear a fair amount of noise, but we were pleasantly surprised.

The room seemed a bit small (compared to rooms in the US), but seems in keeping with hotel room sizes generally found in Europe), but has a ceiling I estimate at least 12 feet high. The room had a queen size bed, plus what I would call a day bed to accommodate a third person in the room, desk, desk chair, guest chair, a bureau with 4 drawers, wall mounted flat screen TV, minibar and a small balcony with two chairs and a table. Instead of a closet, the room had wardrobe (with those hotel anti-theft hangars) which also held the room safe (on the small side, it just fit my very small laptop).

The balcony door had a plastic shade on the exterior of the glass, that ran top to bottom, and was raised/lowered by using a button at the desk or bedside. While I believe the shade is there to block the afternoon sun from making the room too hot, it does a great job of keeping the room very dark for sleeping. The room had excellent lighting with a ceiling chandelier, a desk lamp, and wall scones on each side of the bed. I think my only real complaint about the room itself is that it did not have any type of clock, but the wake-up calls we asked for came reliably.

The bathroom had a toilet, bidet, tub/shower, hair dryer, and sink. The water pressure was adequate, but nothing great. The shower included a standard shower-head, a hand-held shower-head, as well as 6 mini jets that sprayed water.

The air conditioning worked very well – particularly important since it was on the warm wide during most of our stay.

There didn’t seem to be a whole lot of electrical outlets (two by desk, one in bathroom), but it was sufficient for our needs. The wall by the desk also had a powered USB jack that we made excellent use of for charging our phones. The Wifi was free, but each device gets its own login id/password. There was a card on the desk in the room with four-sets of IDs and passwords, which was fine for us.

This was the first hotel I stayed in where you were required to insert the key-card into a panel inside the room in order to have the lights go on. I guess this is a way to save electricity (since the lights won’t be on when you’ve taken the key-card and left the room).

The breakfast buffet (I think included with all rooms rates) is excellent and includes oranges from the garden that you can use in the juice press to make incredibly fresh squeezed orange juice. The buffet had an assortment of pastries, fruits, cereals, bacon and eggs. To be honest, I’m not sure the restaurant is open for meals besides breakfast. But with so many great restaurants just steps away, I’m not sure why you’d want to eat at the hotel (and I can understand why the hotel chose not to compete). You could have breakfast delivered to the room, but we didn’t try it

I’d read about the pool and garden in the reviews, and really didn’t think we’d make use of them during our stay, but I found the garden (with bar) to be a great place to relax and unwind after being out for the day for our sightseeing. The lemon granite drinks are great (especially with a bit of vodka) and are made with lemons from the trees you are sitting under.

We made several arrangements through the hotel for transportation and tour-guide services. These included pick-up at in Naples (where Michele Costa was our driver), a 5-hour tour of Positano and the Amalfi coast (where Francisco Savarese was top-notch and is highly recommended), and Tommaso Lentino drove us for our return trip to Napoli. All of the above were private (no other guests or tourists) and were done in air-conditioned Mercedes minivans. It’s also worth noting that these charges were just added to the hotel bill so we could pay for them via credit-card. We can’t say enough about Francesco and our 5-hour tour of Positano and the Amalfi coast. We asked for him specifically based on other Trip Advisor reviews, and we were very happy that he was available for us.

At the last minute (like 2 hours in advance) we also asked for a private tour of Pompeii. The hotel arranged for Giorgio Ursumando to meet us at the ruins. Giorgio’s tour was excellent and was quite a history lesson. He seemed to know all the staff at Pompeii, and was so knowledgeable that other visitors were coming up to him to ask him questions from time to time. We were told it was a 2-hour tour, but he gave us 3 hours. For some reason, when we checked out, the hotel asked to pay for Giorgio’s tour (as well as the taxes on the room) in cash.

There’s no sort of shop in the hotel itself for newspapers, candy, or any last minute necessities (like toothpaste), but there’s a small market directly across the street, and anything you might possibly need you can find within a few minutes’ walk from the hotel in shops in and around Piazza Tasso.

The hotel is very nicely decorated, and is kept spotlessly clean. It’s a beautiful hotel with a touch of old-world charm that treats its customers very well, and is in a truly great location. The staff was very friendly and very helpful for recommendations, directions, and helping to arrange sightseeing

If I return to Sorrento, I would want to book my stay at the Antiche Mura

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brian11375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The Antiche Mura is one of the most lovely hotels I've ever visited. It's just off the mail Piazza in Sorrento and yet is a haven, quiet and serene! The property is gorgeous, both inside and out. It appears to have been a stunning Villa at some point. The lobby is beautiful and elegant. My 14 yr old grandson and I had a Junior Suite which was immense. We had a gorgeous view through massive windows of the gorge which runs through the town. The sound of happy birds chirping in the trees was delightful. (We also had a lovely, large private terrazzo to ourselves.) Breakfast was served in a marvelous solarium, again, with a fabulous view; or if you preferred, you could eat in the garden adjacent. There was abundant, delicious food for breakfast, hot and cold. I could have sat in that room all day. The garden has the feeling of another time. There are citrus trees, heavy with fruit as well as the lovely flowers, bougainvillea, etc. The pool is simply lovely with abundant, comfortable lounges. There is a snack bar by the pool that my grandson and I had lunch at one day. The food was beautifully prepared and delicious. (I had expected packaged sandwiches-hah!) I was only sorry that it closed a 7 pm. Every member of the staff was friendly and helpful and truly fun to talk to. They were unbelievably patient as I would listen while they answered the same questions from guests over and over and over again as if no one had every brought the subject up before! I think that I was one of the guests who repeated such questions). They made restaurant suggestions (and reservations which were necessary in Sorrento) which were spectacular! Their suggestions never missed. And if the Antiche Mura made a reservation for you, you got a lovely table! I am hoping to go back to Sorrento one day. Trust me---this is the only hotel that I would consider or recommend!

Room Tip: The Junior Suite we had (I think there are only three) was worth every penny. I think it was room nu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel deserves it very high ratings. Stayed 4 nights in one of the annex buildings at the rear of the hotel across from the pool. Room was not large but very adequate and peaceful. Breakfast every day was outstanding with large array of pastries. Lunch by the pool was excellent in the small shady area with several tables. Top location, easy walk to lots of restaurants and shops. Have a drink in the lobby lounge, perhaps the most professional bartender in Italy.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rodney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This was our 4th stop on our honeymoon. We mentioned it was our honeymoon upon checkin and we were upgraded!!! The room was great. The size of the rooms was okay, definitely not too small. There were extra pillows and blankets in the closet, so we didn't need to ask for any. There was a bottle of chilled champagne already in the room for us! We popped it open and sat out on the small balcony. The room was kept clean, the cleaning service was great. They even had a turn down service, which provided new towels if one was used.

The bathroom was huge and it was nice to finally have a real hair dryer!!

The garden and pool area are kept very well, it was beautiful. The breakfast was the most amazing we had in all of the hotels in Italy. The staff was friendly, the options were endless, and the food was replenished before it was completely gone.

The staff is amazing. The reception men always have a smile on their face. They helped us book an excursion to Capri and always welcomed us when we walked into and out of the hotel.

We couldn't not have had a better stay. I don't know how this is a four star hotel, it definitely should be a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank living4music27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We have just returned from a week's stay at the Antiche Mura, very central yet peaceful. We had booked a comfort room with balcony through Thomson's, these are meant to be bigger rooms, we had requested one on a higher floor in the main building following reviews on trip advisor. The room was quite small with no real seating area apart from a very small balcony and was on the 4th floor facing the road and opposite the lift, quite disappointing initially. We spoke to reception and they showed us a garden view room number 607. This had a large bed up four stairs with a third bed/setter at the bottom, and a lovely bathroom. There was a table and 2 chairs and two deck chairs on a little patio and garden area among the lemon and orange trees, very picturesque. The bedroom area of our room overlooked a small back street which was mainly quiet apart from the odd scooter disturbing the peace.

Bottle of Prosecco on arrival. There is a 3 pin plug socket next to a 2 pin one along with a voltage adaptor next to the dressing table mirror so you could manage without any plug adaptors, very useful. Bed linen is changed daily and there is a wonderful turn down service so the towels are changed twice a day if used, housekeeping excellent and rooms very clean.

Breakfast excellent choice of food, hot choices of eggs (scrambled, fried and boiled), bacon and sausages, then a selection of cold meats, cheeses and smoked salmon, fruit salad, large amounts of whole fresh fruit, yogurts, cakes and pastries (a selection of about 20 every day) all delicious, a selection of bread and rolls which you could toast and finally four different juices (the Orange, carrot and lemon was delicious) and Prosecco if you wanted, a fantastic selection.

We didn't get time to try the pool, however it looked very clean in a pleasant setting amongst the Orange and lemon grove. All guest areas very clean and tidy. Very centrally located, within easy reach of the local trains, buses and ferries.

We booked a trip to Capri through the Hotel which was excellent, and only about €10-15 dearer grandfather than the ferries taking you over to the island, as well as about 4 hours free time on the island we also sailed all around the island.

Room Tip: We found the garden room we had excellent, peaceful and quiet most of the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smaPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,790 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,304 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
716 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#16 of 100 in Sorrento
1,033 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiche Mura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Mura Hotel

Address: Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £125 - £424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiche Mura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiche Mura Hotel has a wonderful position in the heart of Sorrento, in the main square Piazza Tasso. It is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento and its beautiful surroundings like Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. This newly renovated hotel combines elegance, style and modern comforts (Like Free Wi-Fi) able to satisfy guests with the highest expectations. At the same time , you will be able to experience centuries of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Antiche Mura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Mura Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing