We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel for a perfect town”
Review of Antiche Mura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Antiche Mura Hotel
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel for a perfect town”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We found this hotel through a travel guide and decided to give it a try and I was soo happy I did.. My husband and I were traveling with our 8 year old son and had asked for a rollaway to accommodate him when I made the reservations. When we got there the hotel had upgraded us to a suite that was just amazing. Beautifully tiled, large and updated. Everyone was very friendly and we felt like locals after being there just a couple days.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,887
    335
    42
    10
    2
See reviews for
523
1,240
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This our regular annual/biannual hotel choice as we just love it here. The hotel is perfectly situated for exploring Sorrento, has all the amenities you need, a fabulous pool, and best of all fantastic staff. Mario and Antonini will look after you wonderfully , and are both enthusiastic and knowledgable about Sorrento and the surrounding area.
The boys in reception are great, backed up by Luigi and Michele.
Antonio serves a mean g&t in the evening in the bar. The number of repeat guests tells you all you need to know about how great the hotel is.
We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
88 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

As soon as you check into this beautiful hotel high up on the cliffs, you will leave your troubles behind and never want to go home! The rooms are spacious and palatial and decorated in the typical Sorrento style with beautiful tile floors. We were greeted to our room with a large plate of fruit and sparkling wine to enjoy on our two balconies! The pool is wonderful and surrounded by orange and lemon trees and the poolside bar's drinks are great with great service. The breakfast buffet is truly unforgettable with amazing views of the gardens and the valley and even a whole table of desserts for breakfast! The staff at the front desk are amazing and so helpful - we enjoyed every moment of our stay and are already scheming for ways to return to Sorrento. We will surely choose the Antiche Mura Hotel again on our next visit. It was truly magical for our whole family.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This beautiful and elegant hotel is situated in the heart of Sorrento. Only a few minutes away from the centre, it is easily accessible from the bus terminal and is a peaceful haven. The rooms are spacious with cool tiled floors, the entire hotel is immaculately kept. The staff were friendly and very helpful when we asked for information. The breakfast selection is vast, hot and cold food, something for everyone. We loved the outdoor pool surrounded by lemon trees, the poolside bar service was excellent too. I mentioned the trip was for my mums birthday, upon arrival there was a bottle of prosecco on ice, what a lovely surprise! I would definitely return.

Room Tip: They're all lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindameg2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

A phenomenal experience in Sorrento. A hotel where everyone is geared to provide exceptional customer service and Mario at the swimming pool/bar is the star. Michele is very easy to deal with by e-mail and phone and is most helpful. The rooms are spotless and the breakfast is of a very good quality. They send Francesco to pick us up at the Naples airport and he was a delight - as well as the driver they sent to drop us at Praiano. Will stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aruncariappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I am writing this review from my desk after returning from a 4 night stay at the Antiche Mura with my partner and reliving the delights of Sorrento and this hotel is making my first morning back at work all the more unbearable!
I spent a great deal of time researching hotels in the area before we settled on this one and from the moment we stepped through the lobby doors, we knew we’d made the right choice.
The hotel is spotless, our room was cleaned twice a day and towels changed twice daily. The service from everyone in the hotel from the porters to the waitresses was faultless; they cannot do enough for you.
The concierge could not have been more helpful, they gave us a map and pointed out some great spots for us and even helped with organising train and bus travel.
The breakfast was excellent and was one of the favourite parts of our day, enjoying a glass of prosecco in the courtyard amongst the lemon trees.
The use of a pool seems rare in Sorrento and was fantastic to relax by after a day of sightseeing. Mario, who worked at the hotel bar, tended for our every need and provided great conversation and information about the area.
The hotel is located a stones throw from the main square and is in a great location. The hotel doesn’t have the amazing sea views that many of the hotel have but it more than makes up for this in other ways.
You won’t be disappointed if you choose this hotel.

Other info which might be useful to you;
1) We got a bus from Naples airport to Sorrento. It cost 10euro each and takes about 90 minutes. The bus departs outside the arrivals lounge at the airport and drops you off about a 5 minute walk to the hotel.
2) We travelled to Erculano and Naples by train for day trips. The price is very reasonable, less than 5euro each. The trains can sometimes have a few odd characters on them but just keeps your wits about you and you'll be fine. We didn't feel unsafe.
3) Definitely take the hotels advice and walk down to the old harbour, it is stunning in the evening.

Thank you to all of the staff at the Antiche Mura- we'll be back soon!!

Lynden & Emma

Room Tip: We had room 507 which was small and had a little balcony. I know that some of the more expensive roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EmmandLynden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

This was our second time staying in Antiche Mura in sorrento and we had a wonderful time. The hotel is set in a perfect location and is beautiful. The staff is friendly and helpful especially Mario who we found to be so helpful in both our visits.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,985 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,478 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
1,059 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
3,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiche Mura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Mura Hotel

Property: Antiche Mura Hotel
Address: Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiche Mura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiche Mura Hotel has a wonderful position in the heart of Sorrento, in the main square Piazza Tasso. It is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento and its beautiful surroundings like Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. This newly renovated hotel combines elegance, style and modern comforts (Like Free Wi-Fi) able to satisfy guests with the highest expectations. At the same time , you will be able to experience centuries of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Antiche Mura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Mura Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing