We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, staff and location”
Review of Antiche Mura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Antiche Mura Hotel
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 20 November 2008

We have spent a week at the Antiche Mura and thoroughly enjoyed it; the hotel really added to our enjoyment of the overall holiday.

The hotel is well placed in Sorrento, close to the amenities but far away enough to be quiet. The staff were warm and friendly, and gave us good advice on trips and places to eat.

The rooms are well decorated, clean and very comfortable. Our room overlooked the vallone dei mulini (valley of the mills), a narrow rift in the bottom of which are old buildings in a picturesque setting.

The bar is well priced and was a welcoming site after a day sight-seeing. The choices at breakfast were excellent.

It is around 5 minutes walk to the train and bus stations which provide good connections to the main tourist sites.

We would also recommend La Basilica restaurant for a meal out.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank keith_james
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,717 - 1,723 of 2,359 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2008

My fiance and I stayed at Antiche Mura for a long weekend in November. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a Suite which was amazing and had great views over the 'Vallone' a valley.

The Manager, Michele and his staff at the Hotel are professional, courteous and always ready to help or offer advice. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

The hotel is ideally located; two minutes walk from the main piazza and just 10 minutes from the train/bus station.
The harbour is about a 20 minute walk (beware the stairs on your return!)

There was an excellent range of food for breakfast and I'm sure even the fussiest of eaters would find something to suit their palate.

I cannot find any fault with the hotel and as Sorrento is a truly romantic and beautiful town, I cannot wait to re-visit.

Thank you Antiche Mura!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sorrentina72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2008

Nice, modern,clean hotel in an excellent location for walking around the main sights of Sorrento.It is15 minutes walk from the station (for Vesuvius&Pompei), 15-20 from the harbour (boat to Capri) and 5 minutes from the main piazza and shops/restaurants.The rooms are very attractive and cosy but can be noisy as are many hotels in Italy. We were woken pretty early every morning either by cleaning staff or other guests leaving on tours.
There is no hotel restaurant but other restaurants are close by and the breakfast provided at the Antiche Mura is in an attractive room and is very good (apart from the coffee for some reason!). The large selection of cakes was always popular and other food excellent.
All the staff have a good grasp of English and were helpful,patient and courteous.Recommended.
Just be aware that at the moment with the dollar and pound fluctuations against the Euro, taxis,shopping and eating out is more expensive in Sorrento than central New York or central London.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank big_shaggy_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2008

The Antiche Mura has a great location - central yet quiet. The Port, train station and buses were all within 5 minutes walk as were loads of restauarants, bars and shops. The hotel was extremely comfortable and the breakfast excellent. What makes this hotel really stand out is the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they were always cheerful. We loved our 6 night stay and hope to return.
T & I, Barnet UK

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TD47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2008

We stayed in the cheapest room with the high windows, it's definitely small and the showers are smaller. The beds were old and not too comfortable. The pool was great. Breakfast was good. Service was great.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LivesinN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2008

Stayed at the Antiche Mura for our Honeymoon , chosen after reading fantastic reviews here.

We can only agree , the hotel is very well situated to get around Sorrento and surroundings , staff very friendly and helpfull, room 409 overlooking the gorge was brilliant.

We had a bottle of bubbly in our room on arrival , nicely chilled , which we drank on the balcony overlooking the gorge- very romantic.

Like most people we have to mention the breakfast , the most amazing selection of freshly made cakes and biscuits that we have seen- aswell as the usual ham,cheese,fruit,cooked breakfast etc .

One area of Sorrento worth mentioning is the Marina Grande, a 15 minute walk from the main square . This is the old fishing harbour, full of character and with excellent fish restaurants , we ate at ZI'Antonios and Da Emilia's(no credit cards here)-both excellent .

We didn;t drive but took the Metro del Mare boat along the coast to Amalfi and Positano, well worth the trip.

Capri was over-hyped and very busy even in October , blue grotto worth a visit but the rest is taken over with expensive shops and restaurants.

Overall an unforgettable experience, couldn't have had a better honeymoon and we will definately return to the Antiche Mura.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrandmrsparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2008

Out of All the hotels we stood at of our 4 city Italian Honeymoon, Antiche Mura was the best. It had the Biggest Rooms, biggest bathrooms, was the most updated and truly had the best Staff. The rooms were super clean as well. Its location is amazing as well, just a minute (literally) walk to the main square of town.
Whether it was asking about train schedules, asking for a bottle opener. or the history the gorge below, they helped assist/answer all our questions.
Next time we go to Sorrento no question we will be calling Michelle for a reservation at this Hotel....

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MDPNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,767 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,475 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
3,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.0 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
1,716 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiche Mura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Mura Hotel

Address: Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £88 - £365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiche Mura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiche Mura Hotel has a wonderful position in the heart of Sorrento, in the main square Piazza Tasso. It is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento and its beautiful surroundings like Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. This newly renovated hotel combines elegance, style and modern comforts (Like Free Wi-Fi) able to satisfy guests with the highest expectations. At the same time , you will be able to experience centuries of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splitty, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Antiche Mura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Mura Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing