We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, excellent staff”
Review of Antiche Mura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Antiche Mura Hotel
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 August 2014

As with most of the reviews on here, I must start with the service provided by the staff at this hotel. We arrived after a very long n uncomfortable journey from Naples on the circumsevia train. We were greeted by a friendly member of staff on reception who was both welcoming and professional. He explained clearly the usual hotel bits n bibs and provided us with a city map explaining where certain areas of interest were located. We were then escorted to our room by a porter who was also very welcoming. The room was spacious, bright, clean and had all the amenities we were expecting. We stayed in a comfort room with a balcony (which was a tad small) but had a beautiful view. Throughout our stay, our room was kept clean by the staff, towels were replaced during the day and our beds were turned down and blinds shut every night. I have stayed in various 4/5 star hotels in the past but nowhere where our room was kept immaculate at all times like antiche mura. Breakfast was adequate with a wide range of food choices to suit all. We were given recommendations by reception for nearby restaurants and were even provided transport for some of these. We didn't enjoy restaurant Tasso as much. It was overpriced and the service was pretty average for what we ended up paying.

I would like to praise each n every member of staff at reception for their help and guidance throughout the stay. They made us feel extremely welcome and it was lovely to see them greet us by our names whenever we walked past.

The only downside I would add is the pool area which was fairly small and a bit cramped. We found a lot of sunbeds were 'saved' with guests at the hotel leaving their belongings on them which was a bit unfair. I think the hotel could implement a stricter policy on this and not allow anyone to save sunbeds. Nevertheless, the pool area was kept clean and tidy most of the time. The towels were a bit stiff. We didn't eat at the snack bar but it was always busy. We didn't really have much interaction with mario the pool attendant and he seemed to greet other guests now n again but we hardly had any interaction.

I would most definitely recommend this hotel to friends n family. Location is as perfect as you. An get. 10 mins walk to the station, 5mins to the main centre, the port was 10mins away where the views were breathtaking. We did pay a lot for our stay here (more so because of the time of month) but it most defiantly lived up to my expectations and worth the excellent rating it has on trip advisor.

Room Tip: Higher floor better view. Opt for balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Traveller_999_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

655 - 661 of 2,387 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

I would just like to echo all the former positive reviews about this hotel. Attention was given to detail and the staff were always respectful and helpful. Towels were changed several times a day, not once! I stayed with my daughter in the first week of August and although we had booked through Thomson, having read the reviews, I emailed the hotel requesting a pool view room.They granted this request and we had a lovely room. I would recommend the pool rooms as the swimming pool was delightful surrounded by the lemon trees. Great location and a fantastic breakfast, the terrace outside the restaurant was a great place to eat breakfast every day. Heavenly!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank MercuryHBHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Great location in the heart of Sorrento, but quiet. Very friendly staff. Rooms OK, very clean. Nice breakfast, particularly if its warm enough to eat in the garden. Bar but no restaurant. I'd certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Gar1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Myself and my husband have just returned from a stay at this beautiful hotel . It's hard to know where to start , everything was just perfect . We were given an extremely warm genuine welcome by the front of house staff and that was the way it stayed for the entire week . The staff in this Hotel are so focused on customer service it's staggering . Each and every one of them constantly had a big smile and a 'can do' attitude . It is extremely rare to find this in the service industry these days . We went for a ' Comfort Room ' with view of the 'Valley of the Mills ' . We were very pleased with our choice ( the balcony was a tad smaller than expected ) but apart from that it was perfect . It was kept spotless for the whole week . Towels constantly changed , room cleaned daily and even got our bed turned down for when we returned from our nights out ! The Breakfast's were lovely and staff there really pleasant and attentive also . The pool area is just really beautiful , set amongst orange and lemon trees . Mario at the pool bar is extremely jovial and seems to genuinely love his job . Breaking into song at the drop of a hat ! The gardens are really well kept and beautiful also . When it is quiet the pool area is a peaceful oasis , however , as it was peak time unfortunately there were times when it was louder and more boisterous than we would have liked . It wouldn't put us off coming back though , maybe just choose a quieter time when children are back at school . The Location of this hotel is fantastic , just 2 mins and you're in the main square . It's hard to believe as you sit out on your balcony of an evening sipping wine that you are smack in the middle of Sorrento . It is extremely peaceful . We are so pleased we chose this wonderful Hotel for our Anniversary , it did cost more than we usually pay for our week's holiday but worth every single euro . We'll definitely come back , some day ..............

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank annbrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Having long wanted to visit, we travelled to Sorrento and stayed at the Antiche Mura Hotel in July 2014. We'd done research before booking and chose the Antiche Mura due to glowing recommendations from previous visitors and its location. On arrival our expectations were fulfilled with the hotel situated just off Piazza Tasso with a great atmosphere and easy access to many shops and restaurants.

Our first impressions of the hotel didn't disappoint with its stylish reception area and very friendly staff. The biggest surprise was our room as, on leaving the lift on the top floor the porter lead us out onto the roof! Our room was actually on the roof and had the benefit of a private rooftop balcony with a panorama view and all day sun. The room itself was compact but clean and with sufficient amenities, e.g. safe, hair dryer, fridge- but no tea/coffee making facilities. Over the course of our seven day stay we really enjoyed the benefits of the rooftop location, compared to the usual hotel room/balcony.

We were on a bed and breakfast arrangement as the hotel has no restaurant. In many ways this was an advantage as it meant we could sample some of the restaurants in the town, many of which were just a few minutes walk from the hotel. Certainly the ones we tried, some on recommendation by the hotel, were very good but being Sorrento they can be a bit pricey!

We really enjoyed our breakfast at the hotel and every morning had the option of sitting indoors or outdoors in the garden area which had a lovely relaxed feel to it. The choice of food at breakfast was quite good although we felt there could have been more fresh fruit. The hot food was usually limited to a few items but scrambled eggs and bacon were always available, being hot and well cooked. It's worth mentioning that the waiting staff were always friendly, cheerful and helpful.
The hotel also has its own pool and a snack bar which we didn't try but the pool and surrounding area was clean and a good place to relax.

One other point worth mentioning is that the hotel is only 10 minutes walk from the railway and bus station which provide a cheap way of seeing the sights of Pompei, Herculaneum, Amalfi etc

For us the hotel lived up to the great reviews on Trip Advisor. The Antiche Mura is a first class hotel in a great location and with excellent staff. We will return!

Room Tip: We had room 500 on the roof with its own panoramic balcony. From what we saw of rooms on the lower f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Each time I return to the Hotel Antiche Mura, I notice improvements. But, as I mentioned to the manager, Michele Saravese, this time was the best yet.

The rooms, the over-the-top breakfast buffet, the breakfast room, the pool garden, and most importantly the STAFF. So helpful, happy to see you and pleased to answer your questions. Such a fabulous difference from some hotels in Rome, where if you ask a question the first thing you are greeted with is a sigh that communicates what a bother you are. That will NEVER happen at the Hotel Antiche Mura.

Please book at this pretty yellow hotel. You will never stay anywhere else in Sorrento!

Room Tip: The rooms with small balconies over the gorge are very pretty. The large rooms (comfort doubles) on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArtHistoryAlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Just stayed for 5 nights and I must say it was a pleasure.

Hotel is in a perfect position just 2 minutes from the main central piazza, the rooms were a decent size and very comfortable with a good bathroom.

Breakfast, bar and reception excellent too. Everyone was friendly and seemed truly happy to help.

Will use again.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank mrjoliver1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,790 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,165 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
1,768 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiche Mura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Mura Hotel

Address: Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £116 - £407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiche Mura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiche Mura Hotel has a wonderful position in the heart of Sorrento, in the main square Piazza Tasso. It is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento and its beautiful surroundings like Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. This newly renovated hotel combines elegance, style and modern comforts (Like Free Wi-Fi) able to satisfy guests with the highest expectations. At the same time , you will be able to experience centuries of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Antiche Mura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Mura Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing