We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at Antiche Mura”
Review of Antiche Mura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Antiche Mura Hotel
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 21 December 2008

We stayed there for four nights and we had a wonderful experience. The hotel is very well appointed, very clean, the floors shine, the sheets are impeccable. Very good buffet breakfast.
We were greeted by Alessandro, who was very nice and helpful. Although, at this time of year you cannot enjoy the beach, we had a terrific and romantic time in Sorrento which we used as base to visit all the Costa Amalfitana (Capri, Amalfi, Positano...)
Alessandro also recommended a very good restaurant nearby: La Basilica, definitely worth a visit!
And don't forget to taste the tasteful lemoncello after dinner. Just perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sumieart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,724 - 1,730 of 2,387 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2008

We really enjoyed our stay with you.

The service and food were excellent. The front desk and restaurant staff very helpful
and the general cleanliness and appearance of the hotel made for a very break.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank okbbgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2008

The hotel Antiche Mura is a small (46 rooms) privately run hotel. It has great individuality and personality with top class facilities. It has a high classed yet relaxed, friendly atmosphere, where you can relax before you step out into the hustle and bustle of the centre of Sorrento. The staff are incredibly friendly and their service to their guests is impeccable.

Within 40 yards of the main Tasso square in Sorrento, the hotel is an oasis of calm.There is the beautiful peaceful greenery of the garden around the pool area with its lemon trees for shade. You can be served a drink on your lounger from the bar in the garden, or eat lunch at a table in the garden. You feel close to an historic site with the walls of the 16th Century fortress and the site of the original Greek walls bordering the garden and seperating it from the spectacular ravine with the old mill far below.

The speciality at breakfast is the central table which is adorned with about 15 different types of cakes and biscuits which are baked by the chef on the premises and change from day to day. Of course you get all the usual ingredients of a good breakfast as well. The breakfast room is delightful and you get the opportunity to take breakfast outside in the garden.

The room I was in was immaculately decorated and spacious with all the facilities one would expect from a four star hotel.

Stayed: October 2008
2  Thank Degsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2008

We stayed at Antiche Mura hotel a few times allowing us to sample several rooms.The hotel offered good location, price & facilities that we sought and the staff were very helpful, assisting us with luggage storage/restaurant recommendations/directions for the ferry/bus/trains we needed.The hotel is excellently located 1 minutes walk from Piazza Tasso (centre of town), 10 minutes to the station and 15-20 minutes walk to the port (faster by cab or bus). Nearby are excellent shopping & dining options in the 2 main roads the many lanes that link them. The hotel rooms are a pleasant mediteranean style with tiled floors & are light & airy with the usual 3 star/4 star facilties you’d expect. The hotel offered a huge breakfast room with a magnificent spread, including fresh juice (squeeze for yourself), our best breakfasts in Italy with a pleasant vista over the garden & adjacent gorge containing ancient ruins. We felt there were a few problems which guests could clue themselves up on to address if they felt it an issue: At the time of our visit they appeared to be renovating and the rooms were of a reasonable standard but needed maintenance. Unfortunately the rooms at the front of the hotel suffered periodically from road noise, although this wasn’t too bad considering how much traffic Via Fuorimura seems to carry (the occasional truck braking in the night; if this is an issue for you, ask for a room on level 3-5 facing the gorge/garden). Internet & PC usage was a bit expensive for tourists (6euro per hour at the time of visit), although business users would probably think it the norm (was 2-3 times dearer than Amalfi coast properties we stayed at). A few problem rooms to avoid (if you like to sleep in) would be those on level 2 that abut the breakfast room & its facilities and thoroughfare to the pool; the garden/pool rooms may also prove noisy in summer due to the popularity of the poolside area,plus they back onto a residential lane from which rubbish is collected ~05:20am a few times per week and are some guests may find hard to get to after sunset (unlit path from breakfast room to the pool area). Less mobile guests may find an issue with the many stairs inside the rooms (to get to the bathroom/wc/bedroom), and all around the property (however an elevator is available between the hotel’s principle levels). Would definitely stay there next time we’re in Sorrento.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank WorldTraveller5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2008

We have spent a week at the Antiche Mura and thoroughly enjoyed it; the hotel really added to our enjoyment of the overall holiday.

The hotel is well placed in Sorrento, close to the amenities but far away enough to be quiet. The staff were warm and friendly, and gave us good advice on trips and places to eat.

The rooms are well decorated, clean and very comfortable. Our room overlooked the vallone dei mulini (valley of the mills), a narrow rift in the bottom of which are old buildings in a picturesque setting.

The bar is well priced and was a welcoming site after a day sight-seeing. The choices at breakfast were excellent.

It is around 5 minutes walk to the train and bus stations which provide good connections to the main tourist sites.

We would also recommend La Basilica restaurant for a meal out.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank keith_james
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2008

My fiance and I stayed at Antiche Mura for a long weekend in November. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a Suite which was amazing and had great views over the 'Vallone' a valley.

The Manager, Michele and his staff at the Hotel are professional, courteous and always ready to help or offer advice. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

The hotel is ideally located; two minutes walk from the main piazza and just 10 minutes from the train/bus station.
The harbour is about a 20 minute walk (beware the stairs on your return!)

There was an excellent range of food for breakfast and I'm sure even the fussiest of eaters would find something to suit their palate.

I cannot find any fault with the hotel and as Sorrento is a truly romantic and beautiful town, I cannot wait to re-visit.

Thank you Antiche Mura!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sorrentina72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2008

Nice, modern,clean hotel in an excellent location for walking around the main sights of Sorrento.It is15 minutes walk from the station (for Vesuvius&Pompei), 15-20 from the harbour (boat to Capri) and 5 minutes from the main piazza and shops/restaurants.The rooms are very attractive and cosy but can be noisy as are many hotels in Italy. We were woken pretty early every morning either by cleaning staff or other guests leaving on tours.
There is no hotel restaurant but other restaurants are close by and the breakfast provided at the Antiche Mura is in an attractive room and is very good (apart from the coffee for some reason!). The large selection of cakes was always popular and other food excellent.
All the staff have a good grasp of English and were helpful,patient and courteous.Recommended.
Just be aware that at the moment with the dollar and pound fluctuations against the Euro, taxis,shopping and eating out is more expensive in Sorrento than central New York or central London.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank big_shaggy_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,790 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
1,768 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiche Mura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Mura Hotel

Address: Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £116 - £416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiche Mura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiche Mura Hotel has a wonderful position in the heart of Sorrento, in the main square Piazza Tasso. It is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento and its beautiful surroundings like Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. This newly renovated hotel combines elegance, style and modern comforts (Like Free Wi-Fi) able to satisfy guests with the highest expectations. At the same time , you will be able to experience centuries of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Antiche Mura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Mura Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing