We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect 10”
Review of Antiche Mura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Antiche Mura Hotel
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 18 April 2009

If you are planning a stay in the Amalfi/Sorrento area, strongly consider making this hotel your base of operation. The hotel is very well maintained and professionally staffed. The location is just one block from the Sorrento town center, but far enough away from the action to give you some peace from the crowds and heat. Upon our arrival, the manager gave us an upgrade to a so-called Comfort Room that you could only reach by walking under shady wisteria boughs, through the hotel's private lemon grove and along the ancient city wall upon which the hotel property rests. The breakfast each morning was a feast for the eyes and stomach, arguably the best hotel buffet I've encountered in my fifteen years of travel in Europe. For me the best part of the stay was the helpfulness of the front desk staff. These folks went out of their way before and during our stay to arrange transfers to and from Naples for us... to orient us about how to take the ferry to Capri and the train to Pompei... to recommend restaurants off the beaten path that don't offer a tourist menu... and to offer advice objectively about our plan to take public transportation to see the Amalfi Coast in one day versus hiring a car and driver. We made the most of a four-day stay in the area due in large measure to the terrific service and support of Hotel Antiche Mura.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Domer84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,325)
There are newer reviews for Antiche Mura Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,669 - 1,675 of 2,325 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2009

Stayed at the Antiche Mura in April 2009, to celebrate my 40th birthday. The hotel was spotless, in a great location with friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was terrific.
Would highly recommend to anyone planning a trip to Sorrento

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulineR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2009

Good location in centre of Sorrento but quiet in bedrooms as good glazing. Great breakfasts, helpful and friendly staff. Nice garden and pool. Extremely clean and comfortable and not expensive. Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mumoftwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2009

We spent 5 nights here that were just great. We have an 18month old daughter who was treated so well and taken care of that we would recommend this hotel to friends with and without kids. The reason for the trip was my 30th birthday and even though the hotel was not official notified of the celebration they saw my birthday cards in my room and left us a nice bottle of Champs to toast with. It was the little things like this that made the trip special. They were very helpful with suggestions on places. There was no issue with language barriers. We met some lovely people in the hotel bar and the pool area was so inviting. Shame the weather was more accommodating.

Will go back and stay here for sure!!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjus10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2009

We stayed her probably longer than most - 12 nights - and the facilities and staff did not once miss a beat. We booked here because of previous, positive Tripadvisor comments and, rather than repeat them, we can only emphasize their accuracy. Stay here - you can't miss.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BettyMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2009

We had a great stay at the Antiche Mura. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were kept clean and tidy. It is in a good location. The port and railway are within easy walking distance. The public transport system is very good and excellent value for money.
We arranged a transfer from airport to hotel and return. The car was lovely, the driver very informative and it was very inexpensive. I would definately go back.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueJ55Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2009

Stay there three nights with wife and loved the hotel.
I would like to come back during the summer as it was very cold.
Great value for the money.
Hotel is close to CV train station. It was late at night and I did not have very good directions to get to hotel so I took a taxi from train station. Leaving train station head downhill until you get to stop sign and then take a left go to plaza and make left turn - hotel is up street on righthand side. Walking distance if you do not have too many or large size bags. We used hotel as base camp and then made day trips to Capri and Positano. Spent four weeks in Italy and this hotel had the best breakfast in the morning of all the hotels we stayed at.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank airspeed_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,380 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,553 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#14 of 100 in Sorrento
1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiche Mura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Mura Hotel

Address: Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £108 - £513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiche Mura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiche Mura Hotel has a wonderful position in the heart of Sorrento, in the main square Piazza Tasso. It is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento and its beautiful surroundings like Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. This newly renovated hotel combines elegance, style and modern comforts (Like Free Wi-Fi) able to satisfy guests with the highest expectations. At the same time , you will be able to experience centuries of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Antiche Mura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Mura Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing