We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Not Bad - not convinced on the 4* rating'”
Review of Antiche Mura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Antiche Mura Hotel
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ireland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“'Not Bad - not convinced on the 4* rating'”
Reviewed 25 April 2009

Stayed for 4 nights recently. Room was very disappointing, very small and had I paid rack rate (thankfully got a good deal) I certainly wouldn't have been impressed. For the amount of time spent in the room its not the main priority and the grounds and location are excellent. Couldn't fault the staff. Very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aoifs55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,886
    335
    42
    10
    2
See reviews for
522
1,240
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2009

A much needed week together after a hectic year was spent perfectly at this lovely hotel. Parts of the hotel- our room included are in the gardens of the lemon grove. The staff were extremely helpful- restaurants, walking distances, directions, travel etc. We arrived by train and walked to the hotel- not too far. Sightseeing was by bus along the Amalfi cost and the other way to Erculanum and by jet foil to Capri; all easily accomplished and quite safe. Rooms immaculately clean and breakfast first class (once they sorted out that tea required boiling water!) in the dining room or even sitting on the terrace for breakfast. No dining facilities later in the day or evening but plenty of good places to eat in the immediate vicinity. Too cold for the outside pool but it looked inviting. Early morning bin emptying has become a new art form.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cambridge50s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2009

Enjoyed our stay here. The staff couldn't do enough to help, in any way. The hotel is ideally located in the centre, with short walks to the ports. The breakfast was a very impressive spread! The rooms were large, a little old looking, but very clean and spacious. Would love to return. Only feedback would be free wifi - in this day and age that should really be a given. However most of our hotels around Italy on our holiday charged a lot for internet usage, and never offered free business centres either. . . So this hotel isn't really any different.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtravellers91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2009

We spent a short 2 nights in Sorrento last week, having driven from Rome via Pompeii.The Antiche Mura is a brand new hotel constructed in an antique style. All the amenities were just right. The room was spacious and beautifully decorated, with majolica tiles as befits the region. The bath was lovely in tile and marble with a great shower. The breakfast buffet, served in a lovely cafe by the garden, had an astounding variety of beautiful pastries, fresh fruit, juices and of course, cappuchino. What impressed me most was the attentive staff. They greeted me by name as soon as we pulled up in our car (still trying to figure that out), and were thoroughly pleasant and helpful. Sorrento is a very lively town with plenty of restaurants and shops that are steps away from the hotel. As our time was limited the hotel arranged a guide to tour the Amalfi coast. That was an unforgettable experience. The guide, Francesco, was wonderful and the beauty of the coastal towns is truly spectactular. The hotel's price for the service was less than that advertised by guides on line, and of course they have to answer to the hotel if for some reason you're not happy (one of those things I've learned the hard way). My only regret is that we had to leave so soon, as this area really deserves a week to explore.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrJayConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2009

If you are planning a stay in the Amalfi/Sorrento area, strongly consider making this hotel your base of operation. The hotel is very well maintained and professionally staffed. The location is just one block from the Sorrento town center, but far enough away from the action to give you some peace from the crowds and heat. Upon our arrival, the manager gave us an upgrade to a so-called Comfort Room that you could only reach by walking under shady wisteria boughs, through the hotel's private lemon grove and along the ancient city wall upon which the hotel property rests. The breakfast each morning was a feast for the eyes and stomach, arguably the best hotel buffet I've encountered in my fifteen years of travel in Europe. For me the best part of the stay was the helpfulness of the front desk staff. These folks went out of their way before and during our stay to arrange transfers to and from Naples for us... to orient us about how to take the ferry to Capri and the train to Pompei... to recommend restaurants off the beaten path that don't offer a tourist menu... and to offer advice objectively about our plan to take public transportation to see the Amalfi Coast in one day versus hiring a car and driver. We made the most of a four-day stay in the area due in large measure to the terrific service and support of Hotel Antiche Mura.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Domer84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellon, Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2009

Stayed at the Antiche Mura in April 2009, to celebrate my 40th birthday. The hotel was spotless, in a great location with friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was terrific.
Would highly recommend to anyone planning a trip to Sorrento

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulineR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2009

Good location in centre of Sorrento but quiet in bedrooms as good glazing. Great breakfasts, helpful and friendly staff. Nice garden and pool. Extremely clean and comfortable and not expensive. Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumoftwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,985 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,058 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
3,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiche Mura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Mura Hotel

Property: Antiche Mura Hotel
Address: Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiche Mura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiche Mura Hotel has a wonderful position in the heart of Sorrento, in the main square Piazza Tasso. It is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento and its beautiful surroundings like Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. This newly renovated hotel combines elegance, style and modern comforts (Like Free Wi-Fi) able to satisfy guests with the highest expectations. At the same time , you will be able to experience centuries of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Antiche Mura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Mura Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing