We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location for Sorrento” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antiche Mura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Antiche Mura Hotel
Ranked #8 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Location for Sorrento”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2009

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights (20 april to 24 april 09) on the back of all the tripadvisor reviews and we certainly were not disappointed. The location of the Antiche Mura is perfect. It is very close to the train/bus stations and the town centre but at the end of a street which makes for a quiet stay. The other wonderful aspect of the hotel is the front desk staff and in particluar Luigi. Luigi was extremely helpful and had a wonderful knowledge of not only the basics (Capri/Pompeii) but more importantly to us the right places to eat and enjoy the wonderful cuisine of fresh Italian food.

The rooms were ok but a little on the small side as were the bathrooms but as we didn't spend much time in the hotel it wasn't a huge issue. Breakfast was again ok for us and they certainly had enough options to keep us happy. There is free Wi-Fi in the lobby but you can pay for it in your room.

We did day trips to Capri and Pompeii both of which I recommend highly. Capri is a lovely island and you should certainly go to AnaCapri (the old town) and take the cable car ride to the to of the hill as the views are amazing. Getting to Capri from Sorrento is very easy by HydroFoil and cheap. Pompeii is also very easy to get to by train and there is a lot to see there but worth the day trip.

We took a private transfer from Naples airport to the hotel at a cost of Euro 75 with SilverStar and to be honest although it was nice and relaxing it was also expensive and next time I would take the train which is right in the airport and a 5-7 min walk at the other end from Sorrento train station to the hotel.

Now for my restaurant recommendations:-
La Basilica - this is a nice restaurant which when we dined didn't have much atmosphere as we were one of only 4 couples. The food is very good and it's certainly on the more expensive end of the scale.
Donna Sofia - very nice restaurant and certainly worth a trip. They also provide free transfers. Again more on the expensive end of the scale but the food and decor is lovely.
Da Filippo - again free transfer. More mid range price wise but again very good food.
Gigio - very good food and much more reasonable price wise.

For the best pizza you must try Da Franco which is a 5-10 mins walk from the hotel. It's cheap and cheerful but very tasty.

Overall, Sorrento is a great town with lots to see and do and eat! We had a great time and I certainly would stay at Antiche Mura on our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DipaliUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,834
    319
    40
    9
    2
See reviews for
502
1,199
24
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2009

This was my second time staying at the Hotel Antiche Mura. I really like the location, central to everything in Sorrento. The staff is very accommodating and the rooms very nice, modern, and clean. The breakfast is great with a lot of selections. Over all, it is a great hotel!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chil47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler, TX
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2009

This hotel has the Best location in Sorrento & is walking distance to Everything! The hotel is nestelled among lemon &orange trees and has a relaxing atmosphere. The staff is VERYcourteous & will make arrangements for day trips or restaurant reservations & arrange low cost transportation too. I always stay at this hotel while visiting the Almalfi coast.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missbTyler_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MD
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2009

The Hotel Antiche Mura was an excellent choice. The staff was very helpful and accommodating to our needs. They helped us with every thing we desired. Also, our guide down the Amalfi Coast - Lentino Drive was excellent. Tommaso was very informative and a great driver down the twisting turns of the coastal road. I would highly recommend securing Tommaso's services if you plan to tour the towns on the Amalfi Coast.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tdf99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egham Surrey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2009

We stayed at the Antiche Mura for one week and enjoyed it immensely. The staff were welcoming and friendly and ready to help.Tony in the bar deserves a special mention for his exceptional service and his restaurant recommendation! The room was quiet (on 5th floor overlooking the valley) clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet had loads of choice from bacon and eggs through to pastries.

The location was good just off the main square.

Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GingerGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2009

Stayed for 4 nights recently. Room was very disappointing, very small and had I paid rack rate (thankfully got a good deal) I certainly wouldn't have been impressed. For the amount of time spent in the room its not the main priority and the grounds and location are excellent. Couldn't fault the staff. Very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aoifs55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2009

A much needed week together after a hectic year was spent perfectly at this lovely hotel. Parts of the hotel- our room included are in the gardens of the lemon grove. The staff were extremely helpful- restaurants, walking distances, directions, travel etc. We arrived by train and walked to the hotel- not too far. Sightseeing was by bus along the Amalfi cost and the other way to Erculanum and by jet foil to Capri; all easily accomplished and quite safe. Rooms immaculately clean and breakfast first class (once they sorted out that tea required boiling water!) in the dining room or even sitting on the terrace for breakfast. No dining facilities later in the day or evening but plenty of good places to eat in the immediate vicinity. Too cold for the outside pool but it looked inviting. Early morning bin emptying has become a new art form.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cambridge50s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.4 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,807 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.6 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiche Mura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Mura Hotel

Property: Antiche Mura Hotel
Address: Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiche Mura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiche Mura Hotel has a wonderful position in the heart of Sorrento, in the main square Piazza Tasso. It is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento and its beautiful surroundings like Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. This newly renovated hotel combines elegance, style and modern comforts (Like Free Wi-Fi) able to satisfy guests with the highest expectations. At the same time , you will be able to experience centuries of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and TravelUp so you can book your Antiche Mura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Mura Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing