We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hotel, excellent location!”
Review of Antiche Mura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Antiche Mura Hotel
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 May 2009

A beautiful and elegant hotel just 1 block from the heart of Sorrento and 2 blocks from the train station. It is away from most traffic, so it's also very quiet. The entire staff was helpful and friendly, and they served the very best breakfast buffet of our 3 week trip. If we are fortunate enough to return to Sorrento, we would absolutely stay here!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riverparkgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,692 - 1,698 of 2,387 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2009

This is a wonderful hotel. Great location. Great staff.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobsuenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2009

This gorgeous hotel made us feel like we were enjoying a summer vacation, even in February. Our corner room was huge, tastefully decorated in yellows and blues, and sun-drenched. The wrap-around balcony provided views of the ravine and the main street. We loved the elegantly tiled bathroom and appreciated the minibar. While it was too early in the season to enjoy the pool, we did stroll through the orange and lemon trees in the garden. An abundant breakfast offered local pastries, eggs, meats, cheese, fresh fruits (many grown on the property), fresh orange juice, and other delights. Sorrento is a small town and the hotel is a short walk from the historic center, train station, and seafront.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bahamasviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2009

My wife and I had the pleasure of spending three nights here. Antiche Mura is located two blocks from the the train station, and one block - just far enough to be fairly quiet - from the exact middle of things in Sorrento. A superior concierge - Vincente - as well as two other desk colleagues made our stay extraordinary by recommending perfect places to visit and restaurants. Our Rick Steve's homework helped as well, but Vincente's suggestion of how to see the Amalfi coast (by boat, then a bus to Ravello and back to Sorrento) made a perfect - and economical - day trip. An enormous breakfast buffet (even with eggs, a rarity in Italy) was exceptional. The room had outdoor steps to the lemon-tree-filled courtyard and pool. Another superior helper, Antonio, managed to tend the bar and bring a snack to the pool and help bring our luggage to the room. All of the staff went the extra mile to make the stay one of the best ever in three decades of traveling together.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drdave822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2009

Antiche Mura Hotel was the perfect setting for the last portion of our trip along the Amalfi Coast. The hotel is close to the old city, restaurants, train station and shopping. The staff tries hard to please. The pool and gardens are beautiful and Michele made the best poolside drinks! Breakfast was A++. My husband and I had to leave at 4AM to catch our flight. The staff put together a "brown bag" breakfast to eat on the way to Naples Airport. We are more than pleased with our experience.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kashmirohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2009

The hotel Antiche Mura is one of the most beautiful hotels in Sorrento. It is immaculate, as well as centrally located to the center of town - an easy 2 block walk! We used the Antiche Mura as our home base, and stayed here for 12 nights and absolutely loved it! The staff is like no other we have encountered in our travels. They were so friendly & knowledgable, offered excellent advice on seeing the sites, restaurants, and general information on the area and Italy. They were able to book airport pick up and drop off and many excursions directly from the hotel which was very convenient and cost effective. The pool was fabulous and the gardens were beautiful with a bar, excellent snack bar food with salads and sandwiches, (reasonable prices too!) gorgeous lemon trees all around and still secluded. The service was excellent as well. The staff became almost like family to us, so kind and gracious! All of them were wonderful, but I'd like to mention just a few extra special ones: Michele, Luigi, Antonino, Mario, Laura, Ellena, and Michelle. They enhanced our trip so much! The breakfast they serve there was like no other we have encountered in European hotels: fresh juices, eggs prepared any way you would like, pasteries, fruit, meat ,cheese, and wonderful coffee! Fabulous!! They easily earn the highest marks in all catagories - a definite cannot miss experience!!
Bonnie & Raymond Brown Broomfield, Colorado U.S.A.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonrayb55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2009

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights (20 april to 24 april 09) on the back of all the tripadvisor reviews and we certainly were not disappointed. The location of the Antiche Mura is perfect. It is very close to the train/bus stations and the town centre but at the end of a street which makes for a quiet stay. The other wonderful aspect of the hotel is the front desk staff and in particluar Luigi. Luigi was extremely helpful and had a wonderful knowledge of not only the basics (Capri/Pompeii) but more importantly to us the right places to eat and enjoy the wonderful cuisine of fresh Italian food.

The rooms were ok but a little on the small side as were the bathrooms but as we didn't spend much time in the hotel it wasn't a huge issue. Breakfast was again ok for us and they certainly had enough options to keep us happy. There is free Wi-Fi in the lobby but you can pay for it in your room.

We did day trips to Capri and Pompeii both of which I recommend highly. Capri is a lovely island and you should certainly go to AnaCapri (the old town) and take the cable car ride to the to of the hill as the views are amazing. Getting to Capri from Sorrento is very easy by HydroFoil and cheap. Pompeii is also very easy to get to by train and there is a lot to see there but worth the day trip.

We took a private transfer from Naples airport to the hotel at a cost of Euro 75 with SilverStar and to be honest although it was nice and relaxing it was also expensive and next time I would take the train which is right in the airport and a 5-7 min walk at the other end from Sorrento train station to the hotel.

Now for my restaurant recommendations:-
La Basilica - this is a nice restaurant which when we dined didn't have much atmosphere as we were one of only 4 couples. The food is very good and it's certainly on the more expensive end of the scale.
Donna Sofia - very nice restaurant and certainly worth a trip. They also provide free transfers. Again more on the expensive end of the scale but the food and decor is lovely.
Da Filippo - again free transfer. More mid range price wise but again very good food.
Gigio - very good food and much more reasonable price wise.

For the best pizza you must try Da Franco which is a 5-10 mins walk from the hotel. It's cheap and cheerful but very tasty.

Overall, Sorrento is a great town with lots to see and do and eat! We had a great time and I certainly would stay at Antiche Mura on our next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DipaliUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,790 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,165 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
1,768 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiche Mura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Mura Hotel

Address: Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £117 - £412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiche Mura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiche Mura Hotel has a wonderful position in the heart of Sorrento, in the main square Piazza Tasso. It is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento and its beautiful surroundings like Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. This newly renovated hotel combines elegance, style and modern comforts (Like Free Wi-Fi) able to satisfy guests with the highest expectations. At the same time , you will be able to experience centuries of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Antiche Mura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Mura Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing