We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Antiche Mura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Antiche Mura Hotel
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 August 2009

Stayed here for 11 nights and had a fantastic time. The rooms are quite large, the view from our room was lovely. Our room had no balcony to speak of but we sat in a very large patio area which was very secluded. It was lovely to sit and chill out. The bed is very comfortable but I would have liked a little more space to hang our clothes. This is only a minor complaint. The bathroom and shower were spotless and the towels were changed twice a day which was greatly appreciated. There is a small swimming pool which was fine for us but maybe a little small for a family with small children.
Breakfast was first class and the staff were so helpful and firendly. They gave great advice and help about the local area. Friendliest staff I have met on my travels.
The hotel is situated just off the main piazza which is great when returning after a night out. It is close to everything you would need, entertainment, restaurants, shops, bus, trains etc.
You can't go wrong if you chose this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank magsB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,660 - 1,666 of 2,374 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2009

It is unusual to find a hotel in a city that adds as much to your stay as the Antiche Mura did to ours. The location in the heart of the city, right next to Piazza Tasso, is outstanding. We were able to go wherever we wanted with ease. From the moment we walked into the hotel, when the person at the desk took out a map and explained the city to us, we were enchanted with the hotel. My favorite, the beautiful pool, surrounded by orange trees, was a delightful place to spend the afternoon after sightseeing. The outstanding buffet breakfast served among the lemon trees in the garden could not have been lovelier.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harriette7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Antiche Mura in spring 2008. The buffet breakfast is the best we've found in travels around Italy. The hotel is centrally located and you can walk to everything including the train station. The staff was always friendly and helpful. They even arranged a driver at the last minute for a tour of the Amalfi Coast when our previous scheduled appointment wasn't able to make it. The two rooms we stayed in were beautiful. We stayed in a standard room the first night because we arrived a day early and our other room was not available - a great room at a cheaper price. Overall, highly recommended to anyone visiting lovely Sorrento.

Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SantaBarbaraSquid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

Recently my wife and 2 friends stayed 2 nights at the lovely Hotel Antiche Mura in Sorrento.

This hotel offers an excellent location just 2 blocks from Sorrento's main Piazza Tasso so you can walk everywhere. The hotel is small but elegant. Staff is friendly and provides superb service. There is a large
and lovely breakfast room providing a very nice array of items. Finally, the pool is beautiful set among a grove of lemon trees with bar service and many lounge chairs. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LancasterTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

When we booked rooms at the Antiche Mura we knew it was a bit of a splurge. But when we got to the room, we were truly surprised at how beautiful and truly elegant the rooms were. Glass walls with electric blinds, etc. Wow!

The staff was very pleasant and helpful. Even Frank, the driver they sent to pick us up was awesome. Breakfast was gorgeous, the pool very nice. The bartender at the poolside bar was a riot.

Though they didn't have a restaurant, they arrange for a restaurant up in the hills to pick us up and bring us back. The ride back with the 5 of us PLUS the driver in a 3 wheeled motorcycle thingy is the stuff of legend.

I would go back here in a second. In fact... maybe I will.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

What a delightful hotel with an even better staff. We stayed 3 nights at Antiche Mura and could not have been more pleased with everything. It was perfectly located in Sorrento just off the square; easy walking distance to everything. The staff is what makes any great hotel and this one has one of the best. We stayed at the Westin in Rome and they could learn a few lessons from the people who work here. From the pool bar to reception, we can not say enough good things. The room we booked was perfect just off of a lovely pool area surrounded with lemon and orange trees. The breakfast in the morning (included in the room price) featured a huge selection of pastries, eggs, meats and fresh fruit. It was the perfect hotel for our trip.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank White1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

I have been to Italy before,but never experienced such a wonderful hotel.We did upgrade to comfort room.(which was fantastic!)The employees all spoke English without making you feel bad that you were not speaking their language.All were helpful and polite.My favorite employee Michelle,from England was superb.She had wonderful ideas for sightseeing.The breakfasts were fantastic.I became addicted to fresh pressed oranage juice.I now own a juicer!Sorrento is a beautiful town.Everyone should see.Just walk and explore and you will find many good restaurants near the hotel.Day trip to Capri and Positano were fun.I would return in a heartbeat.

,Barbara New York

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewYorkBabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,779 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,732 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
706 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiche Mura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Mura Hotel

Address: Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £88 - £381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiche Mura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiche Mura Hotel has a wonderful position in the heart of Sorrento, in the main square Piazza Tasso. It is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento and its beautiful surroundings like Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. This newly renovated hotel combines elegance, style and modern comforts (Like Free Wi-Fi) able to satisfy guests with the highest expectations. At the same time , you will be able to experience centuries of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Antiche Mura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Mura Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing