We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place to stay in sorrento”
Review of Antiche Mura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Antiche Mura Hotel
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 3 September 2009

My fiancé and I decided to base ourselves in Sorrento to discover the Amalfi Coast. We spent 4 nights in Sorrento. 2 Nights at the Plaza Hotel, and 2 nights at a hotel called the Antiche Mura which was literally next door to the Plaza Hotel. Here is our review of Antiche Mura:

Good Points:
- Location: 25 metres from the centre of Sorrento. Only a 2-3 minute walk to the train station. Ideal really.
- Hotel Complex: This hotel is older then the Hotel Plaza, but everything is done first class in it and everything has been maintained. The hotel had a lot of personality.
- Pool: The pool is in a lovely garden area filled with lemon and lime trees. The gardens are incredible. The pool is lovely and there is a nice pool bar located there with free towels and showers
- Air conditioning: you could make your room as cold as you liked it..very important to me.
- Breakfast: It is a first class breakfast with 20 deserts to choose from, parma ham, eggs, and everything else you can imagine including fresh fruit. Sour point – coffee was rich and tasted funny.

Mixed Points:
- Staff at front counter: Some staff were super friendly and wanted to show you were the “locals” eat. Other staff just wanted to get rid of you and pointed you out the door to tourist restaurants.

Bad points:
- Shower: shower is outdated. Their “shower power” with 20 nozzels was useless. They would be better off getting rid of it and just putting in a normal shower with one good pressure hose.
- Payment to use lobby internet – 3 euro’s half hour.
- Pool towels: outdated and very thin.
- Rooms are a bit small.


All in all, a very good stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Downunderman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,643 - 1,649 of 2,359 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2009

arrived here after 3 days in capri,the recption staff were excellent very welcoming,friendly and helpful.we arrived early and our room wasn't ready but the receptionist gave us information leaflets and a map and had our cases stored.we had a nice spacious room on the front of the hotel which had very good double glazing as although it over looked a main road we didn't hear the traffic.breakfast was lovely although not what you would expect lots of fresh fruit and home made cakes!!! delicious! the hotel is very central and good for anyone not able to walk too far,a few metres from the main piazza .

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yivmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Stayed one night back in October 2008 and I am finally getting around to reviewing. We stayed here for one night during a seven night stay in the surrounding areas at 5 different hotels, and this was one of the best. The location is great, right off the main square and easily accessible to everything a tourist needs in town. The rooms were very clean and charming; on the smaller side, so a little more quaint. We had one with a view into the ravine that runs adjacent to the hotel with views of an ancient protective wall, which view I highly recommend if you can request it. As noted in other reviews, the breakfast is great, as far as continental breakfasts go, and was the best out of our 5 hotels in the surrounding areas. The only negative I experienced was that I made the mistake of ordering a beer at the downstairs bar, and the beer tasted like it must have been 5 years old, or perhaps not stored properly; but the downstairs bar isn't really much of a bar at all, and probably doesn't get much traffic. Besides, less than 100 feet away are some great sidewalk cafes. This was the first hotel of the five we stayed in and when we were leaving we wished we could have stayed longer and after experiencing all 5, it still was near the top of the list.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RickStevesJunior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Recently returned from a second trip to Sorrento and stayed again in the Antiche Mura Hotel right in the centre of this lovely town. If anything, the hotel was better second time around; the staff are unobtrusive but friendly, caring and always extremely helpful when needed - nothing is ever too much trouble. It was my friend's birthday whilst we were there and a birthday cake, complete with candle, arrived in our room with a little card from management and staff, completly without prompting. A lovely touch! The Saturday evening 'event' around the candle/flame-lit pool in the garden was enchanting, with mandolin players giving evocatve renditions of well known Italian music and the free cocktail and nibbles for guests was very welcome. The room was cleaned and tidied three times a day and I presume that's the same for everyone (unless we were particularly untidy!) and the beds turned down upon our return from the evening's excursions. By day, the pool is an oasis of calm and cool, in contrast to the very hot and busy town, with the pool staff being charming and friendly without encroaching upon 'relaxing' time. The Antiche Mura may not be the cheapest of hotels but it really is worth every Euro for the first class service, ambiance and location. Looking forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BimKentUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

We booked a room at Hotel Antiche Mura because my husband wanted a big breakfast – we were not disappointed! The breakfast buffet was sumptuous: scrambled, fried and hardboiled eggs, several kinds of juices plus an electric juicer (to make your own juice from fresh oranges), fruits and fruit salad, cheese, ham, yogurt, various fresh baked breads, milk, coffee and tea and a large table of local-style pastries and cookies (with name tags in Italian and English). The airy breakfast room faces a dramatic ravine containing ruins of an ancient mill and the old wall (antiche mura ). It has an open view and a lovely garden so you can eat outdoors.
The hotel is an island of tranquility just a short block from bustling Piazza Tasso (Sorrento’s main square) and a five-minute walk to the train to Pompeii, the boat to Capri and even a supermarket!
The hotel is spotless and the staff is very friendly. We asked for a quiet room and were upgraded to one with a small, marble balcony facing the ravine. The commodious bathroom had a retracting clothesline, a tub with a shower curtain (not a small plexiglass divider as is common in European hotels) and enough shelves to hold all our sundries.
Our only regret is that we could not stay longer than four nights. We were on the go all day long and didn’t have time to relax by the pool!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meshattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

We stayed at Antiche Mura for 5 blissful days. From our first day where we arrived and had lunch by the pool to the last where they arranged for a car to take us to Naples every day here was a pleasure. Our rooms were large with very big bathrooms. They had clotheslines in the tub for hand washing and a laundry service available if you needed to send your clothes out. Our room even got a new flat screen tv while we were there! There is free wireless internet in the lobby and by the pool.The breakfast had many selections including a lot of pastry and cake. There were choices of cereal, toast, hot items, yogurt, and fruit. It was served in the lovely garden room. We spent many afternoons by the pool, enjoying the mountain view and the lemon trees. Mario was the bartender by the pool and he was awesome! He gave us suggestions on things to see and restaurants to try and became a valued resource. Tonio and Michele were also great servers and very friendly. We got advice from them too and learned a little of what life is like for people who actually live in the area. We would delibrately head back to the hotel for drinks at night so we could chat with them. I can't thank Luigi at the desk enough. He was able to book tours for us and answer all of our questions even though I must have been driving him crazy with our constantly changing plans. Every single person working at the hotel gave a smile and hello when they saw you, even if they were just passing in the hall and you didn't know them. It was a fantastic place to stay and we felt very at home there.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Antiche Mura Hotel. Sorrento is incredibly convenient to all the areas near the Amalfi Coast, including Positano, Ravello, Pompeii, Capri, etc. The rooms are very nice, and the hotel has a wonderful breakfast (including squeeze your own fresh orange juice) served in an elegant dining area with many outside tables. There is even a swimming pool in a beautiful outdoor courtyard surrounded by lemon trees. Sorrento is a charming town and you are sure to love it.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrojanBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,768 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,475 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
3,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.0 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
1,716 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiche Mura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Mura Hotel

Address: Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £84 - £364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiche Mura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiche Mura Hotel has a wonderful position in the heart of Sorrento, in the main square Piazza Tasso. It is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento and its beautiful surroundings like Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. This newly renovated hotel combines elegance, style and modern comforts (Like Free Wi-Fi) able to satisfy guests with the highest expectations. At the same time , you will be able to experience centuries of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Splitty, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Antiche Mura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Mura Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing