We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxed and friendly”
Review of Antiche Mura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Antiche Mura Hotel
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 7 October 2005

Stayed for 8 days end of September in a standard room. Hotel staff are very helpful and the whole place exudes a friendly ambiance. The staff seem as though they are enjoying their job which is very often not the case. Great location close to Piazza Tasso and the old town. Beautiful garden and pool area serving range of food and drinks. Hotel does not have views of some of the other 4/5 star hotels in Sorrento but views are available to all at many locations in the town. Our standard room was well appointed, comfortable and very clean. We did not have any view and could only see the sky by getting down to floor level. It is worth considering upgrading to a room with a balcony and particularly those around the pool. Hotel is very well maintained and spotlessly clean. Small downside in the main building is that their can be noise from room doors and from the corridor, which if you are an early riser shouldnt bother you too much. All in all good value for Sorrento and a very relaxed holiday base.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bainsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,970 - 1,976 of 2,374 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Novato, CA
14
Reviewed 3 October 2005

My wife and I loved staying at the Antiche Mura Hotel in Sorrento. The hotel acommodations were spacious and attractive, great air conditioning, hotel staff friendly and helpful, the breakfast buffets outstanding, swimming pool and garden area lovely and quiet, all of which contributed to a romantic time in Sorrento. This is our fourth trip to Italy and Sorrento, but our first time lodging at the Antiche Mura Hotel. We will never forget the delightful experience.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2005

This is a fantastic hotel. Staff were excellent. Nice touch of flowers and sparkling wine in room on arrival. I agree with all of the positive comments from previous postings and none of the negatives. For a town centre hotel I cannot believe how quiet it was once the balcony doors had been closed. What dog!!

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daveed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2005

We recently spent four nights at the Antiche Mura in Sorrento and highly recommend it. It is on a quiet street just a short block from the main square in town, so we were able to walk just about everywhere. We booked a "double comfort" room which was large, immaculate and overlooked the pool and lemon tree grove. Room decor was nice: flowered ceramic tile floors throughout and painted furniture. The olive green and yellow plaid bedspead didn't really match, but that is no big deal. My husband lost his plane ticket in Rome, and the staff spent many hours trying to help him get a new one. They could not have been more helpful. The breakfast buffet is fabulous, and we enjoyed eating outside on the shady patio surrounded by the gardens. A great place to relax after a busy day of sightseeing.

5  Thank Catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2005

This hotel is very well positioned in Sorrento being only 2 minutes walk from the main square (Piazza Tasso) and just over 5 minutes walk to the railway & bus station.

After a slow taxi journey from Naples airport it was a delight to step into the air conditioned reception which was light, airy & welcoming. The reception staff were friendly and efficient and we were soon at our rooms.

Our holiday just got better! The rooms were perfect, a double & twin with en-suite bathrooms. The bedrooms were well appointed and spacious so we didn't feel that we were crammed for space as is often the case in holiday hotels. The airconditioning worked perfectly and we could choose our own temperature. The rooms were clean and we could even get BBC worldwide on the TV!

The bathroons were marble & cool with plenty of soap, shampoo, body lotion etc. I don't know how often the towels were changed but it seemed that there were clean towels every time we returned to our room.

The hotel swimming pool is set in a lemon grove so there was plenty of shade but also plenty of open space to sunbathe. Drinks & snacks (including hot food) were available from the poolside bar.

Breakfast was wonderful. The staff were a delight and the food was terrific both in quality and range of choice. We were there for a week and we didn't get round to trying everything!

The age range of guests was from babies to grandparents and everyone seemed welcome and enjoying themselves.

Would we go back again? Without a doubt. This was just the best hotel we have stayed in.

If you do go to the Antiche Mura don't always turn left to the main town, go up the hill to your right for the Notturno Inlaid woodwork factory which is very good value for money.

The Miller Family
Dudley
England

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jaymiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Staffordshire, UK
210
Reviewed 14 September 2005

My partner and I stayed here for 5 nights during our honeymoon in Italy.

After travelling all day from a fantastic week in Rome, we were pretty tired.
However, opon arrival at the hotel, we were very impressed with its appearance and after being greeted by our hosts in the elegant hall and entrance, we soon relaxed.

We were then shown to our junior suite which was beautiful. The room was large and it had glass doors (with electric shutters) on two sides which led to a private balcony, with views towards Sorrento. We were also both surprised as Michele (the manager) had organised a lovely bouquet of roses and a bottle of champagne on ice for us - which we thought was a nice touch. Our stay was very comfortable and our room had all the amenities you could wish for.

The Breakfast in the morning was vast. Two very large tables displayed a whole array of lovely cakes, pastries, fruits, juices, cereal and hot food - which all went down very well! The staff, I must say, were very welcoming each morning.

I also had the opportunity, on several occations, to sample the swimming pool which was set at the back of the hotel amongst a lovely lawned Orchard of lemon trees. It was a nice refreshing retreat after a day at Pompeii.
There was also a little fenced area in the garden were the hotel's pet Bulldog slept in the shade - he was lovely and quiet - he never barked!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Antiche Mura. It was in a great position just around the corner from the main piazza so it was a little quieter at night. But it was only a short walk into Sorrento, to all the shops and restaurants for the evening. It was also within easy access to and from the local train station which took you out to Pompeii, Mt Vesuvious, and back to Naples.

All in all, a great 4* hotel, centrally located for all the amenties.
It had helpful and friendly staff and we would definitely recommend this hotel, especially if you can afford to stay in one of their larger rooms.

A nice one.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2005

My husband and I stayed at the Antiche Mura for our honeymoon a few weeks ago. We really enjoyed our stay. We loved the location, the cleanliness, the high-tech nature of the rooms, the garden, the balcony, and the breakfasts! There were some noise issues, but it was really very minimal. When we come back to Sorrento, we will definitely stay at the Antiche again.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank augustwedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,779 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,732 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
705 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiche Mura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Mura Hotel

Address: Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £90 - £380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiche Mura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiche Mura Hotel has a wonderful position in the heart of Sorrento, in the main square Piazza Tasso. It is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento and its beautiful surroundings like Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. This newly renovated hotel combines elegance, style and modern comforts (Like Free Wi-Fi) able to satisfy guests with the highest expectations. At the same time , you will be able to experience centuries of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Antiche Mura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Mura Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing