We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”
Review of Antiche Mura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Antiche Mura Hotel
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 24 November 2009

We just returned from our honeymoon, during which we stayed 5 nights at Hotel Antiche Mura. I can tell you that the service/staff is 5-stars hands down! Everyone at the front desk and throughout the hotel did as much as the could to make our stay as great as possible! We did not realize (and this was throughout ALL of Italy) that "air conditioning" is only available in the wamer months. So, this led to 1 night of sleeping with the windows wide open, which let the Saturday night noise in as well. However, after we spoke to the front desk the issue was rectified.

The location is good. The breakfast was excellent. And Sorrento (and surrounding areas) are definitely worth exploring! We would definitely recommend Hotel Antiche Mura, and we highly commend their amazing staff!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellersfromNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,614 - 1,620 of 2,376 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2009

Antiche Mura is located within a short walking distance from the train station. We were pleasantly surprised by the size of the room, as most other hotels we have stayed at in Italy were quite small. It had a lot of nice amenities, and the staff was very helpful. The grounds were gorgeous, with a lovely garden and pool in the back and a great view of the surrounding area, including Mount Vesuvius. The breakfast buffet was one of the best we have experienced, with fresh authentic Sorrrentine baked goods and other hot dishes. The value was very good for the price we paid, and we would definitely stay there again if we go back to Sorrento. The only gripe we have is there was no iron available for us to use to press our clothes, and we had to pay for the hotel's services.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erinkk00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2009

We stayed 4 nights here on our honeymoon and it was wonderful. We booked a standard room and were not upgraded. No matter, the room was beautifully appointed--lovely tile work in the bathroom and inlaid wood in the bedroom showing off the best of Sorrento handicrafts. There was a lovely little french balcony and the window let in good light, although the view wasn't spectacular.

Best breakfast we had in the entire trip was at this hotel. The spread is stunning, the breakfast garden is beautiful. The fresh squeezed OJ from local oranges is not to be missed. mmm!

Pool garden is as delightful as everyone says. We ordered room service coffee and it came on a beautiful tray with little cookies--just the right touch. Service was very friendly and responsive throughout the trip.

I highly recommend this gem of a hotel!
The location is excellent. Sorrento is a fun bustling touristy town, and this hotel is right in the center of things. We made easy transfers to the ferry and bus and train by walking, and we visited Amalfi, Positano, and Capri, as day trips. We are so glad we decided to stay in Sorrento. We felt we would have gotten bored after 1 or 2 nights in the other, sleepier locations.

I highly recommend this hotel! I hope we have the opportunity to return one day!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jasmineinma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2009

As with all our bookings on this trip this was done just a couple of days before arriving (only possible I would think in out of season) One of the reasons for choosing this hotel was the central location with parking as we were beginning to realise parking is not easy in Italian resorts. First impressions were very good with a spacious and luxurious lobby area and a friendly receptionist who told us that we had a room upgrade. When we arrived in our room we were quite amased it was very large and when the porter pressed a button the blinds went up to reveal a panoramic view. Later in our trip we stayed at other 4 star hotels and I would definitely rate the room as 5 star with a 5 star bathroom. All this for 125 euros fantastic !
We were given very good information from the receptionists with excellent restaurant recommendations.
The hotel was quite full and obviously many of the American guests were using this hotel as their base to tour the area, with the train connection service from Sorrento visiting Pompeii, Amalfi and Naples would be no problem.
On our first night we were recommended to go to Restaurant Dona Sofia which as the name suggests was dedicated to Sofia Loren this was an excellent recommendation but slightly expensive at 90 Euros a couple.
On our second day we visited Capri but it was quite cold and windy although the boat crossing was not too bad. It was well worth a visit but I do not think I would like to stay on the Island..
On our second night we went to the Restaurant Basilica which was a very memorable night not so much for the food but for the fantastic Mandolin Player who managed to liven up the whole evening.
We also went to the Tarantella show near to the hotel which I would not rush back to I wish we had stayed longer at the Basilica
We toured Italy for three weeks staying in over 9 different hotels this was definitely the best. Breakfasts were also the best on our trip a very comprehensive buffet with eggs and bacon and super coffee served by very friendly staff. The swimming pool and garden area looked fantastic making this and ideal stay at any time of the year

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rodney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2009

Stayed 5 nights...fabulous breakfast, wonderful pool nestled on a cliff and lemon grove, situated right in the center of Sorrento near shops, restaurants, and the commuter train that goes to Pompeii and Naples for cheap. Rooms, common areas are worthy of the 4 star rating - nice bath and comfortable bed. Staff bent over backwards with help on day trips and restaurants. Free internet in the pool and lounge which is generally the best you can do in Italy.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dsj5777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2009

We was amazed by Antiche Mura Hotel.We also own a 4 star hotel and i must say the service in this hotel is very professional.The staff is very friendly and helpful.The rooms are clean,the breakfast is fine,the location is perfect and the garden is beautiful.I can say only good things about this place.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Puma25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2009

We went to the Antiche Mura for our wedding! The hotel is set in a central and exciting location just off the main square in Sorrento. The only negative was the position of our room as it was just off the breakfast room so we were woken at 6am each morning,but the size of the room meant we didn't want to move!
The staff are attentive, discrete and lovely, from the breakfast staff to the receptionists they were always helpful and polite and couldn't do enough for you.
They were especially helpful when my wedding day co-insided with rain, they helped organise taxis to the Cloisters and also let us borrow all of their umbrellas!
I would highly recommend this hotel for a stay in Sorrento for any given reason.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 032710a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,779 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
1,738 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
706 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiche Mura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Mura Hotel

Address: Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £90 - £384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiche Mura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiche Mura Hotel has a wonderful position in the heart of Sorrento, in the main square Piazza Tasso. It is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento and its beautiful surroundings like Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. This newly renovated hotel combines elegance, style and modern comforts (Like Free Wi-Fi) able to satisfy guests with the highest expectations. At the same time , you will be able to experience centuries of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Antiche Mura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Mura Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing