We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A terrific, friendly hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antiche Mura Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Antiche Mura Hotel
Ranked #8 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A terrific, friendly hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2010

We stayed in the Antiche Mura for 7 nights from 7-14 April 2010. The rooms were spacious enough and were kept clean . We could have done with tea making facilities but this is a minor criticism because tea/coffee etc were always available from the bar.
The hotel is centrally situated, within a minute's walk of the old town. The staff are really friendly and helpful and speak impeccable English.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenLang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,835
    320
    40
    9
    2
See reviews for
502
1,201
24
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2010

We stayed 4 nights at the Antiche Mura Hotel and of all the hotels we stayed at during our 2-week trip to Italy this was our favorite! Everyone at the front desk was so friendly and helpful. We had 2 rooms - a double and a triple. Both rooms were beautiful and quiet and the beds comfortable. The view from the balcony was wonderful. The breakfast was delicious and included a wide variety of food. We loved the location - within close walking distance of the train/bus station and town center. If we are ever fortunate enough to return to Sorrento, we will stay at Antiche Mura!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katj0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2010

The people who work there were very accommodating and extremely pleasant. They were more than fair about my having to delay our trip by several days due to a sick child. They were the only hotel I could find that had adjoining rooms; which is essential for young children. The rooms were large with high ceilings, balconies, big bathrooms and comfortable. The breakfast was full of choices. The lobby was a nice hang out with a cute little bar. The location was just right. I chose to be in town because with kids you just have to get out and be somewhere to eat, to entertain, to whatever almost instantly to save your sanity. We were easily able to walk to the train station, the boat dock to Capri, restaurants, shopping and gelato. It's a lovely spot too. The pool was a bit too cold for my kids to stay in very long, but it was well kept. I didn't have to spend a lot of money to have a high class visit at this hotel. It's just as good as any high end hotel that charge ridiculous prices. The only thing I found I questioned was the lack of carpet to deaden the sound that children tend to create. I kept wondering when I would get a call that we were being too loud. But we didn't. I was sure the sound really carried because it was all tile or marble floors. I was really impressed with this hotel. I've stayed at some really exceptional hotels. This one ranks right up there, but with a boutique style.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank numberoneGonzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2010

We booked this hotel last minute after our flights were delayed by three days. (Thank you, British Airways.) We were so pleased with the hotel and with Sorrento. The room was HUGE. We got quite used to the standard European sized rooms, but this one gave you space to move. We had a lovely french door that opened on to the second floor terrace. This hotel was fabulous! We hope to return to Sorrento in the future and will be booking at the Antiche Mura once again.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank muscatravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2010

very central hotel, bit pricey but the breakfast to die for. All you can weat and more ans all the choice in the world.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mchughanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noank, CT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2010

Just got back from Italy, stayed at hotel Antiche Mura for 4 nights. The location is perfect - easy walking distance to the train station, bus stop and ferry to Capri. One block from Piazza Tasso which is full of shops and restaurants. The mutli-lingual staff is friendly and helpful. Our room on the fourth floor had a balcony overlooking the garden. Our room was decorated in inlaid wood furniture and colorful tile flooring. The bathroom was much bigger than what you find in European hotels. The breakfast (included in the price of the room) was incredible - fresh squeezed orange juice, eggs, bacon, fresh fruit, yogurt, variety of cereals, breads and a table full of muffins, croissants and pastries. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vm3801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2010

My two sisters and myself recently stayed at Hotel Antiche Mura. Everything about the hotel was wonderful....spacious room, delicious breakfast, convenient location, and most of all the most amazing, friendly, helpful staff. The Front Desk staff (Luigi, Vincent, Susan, Laura, Michele) were always available to assist (with a smile) with restaurant recommendations and directions. They also set up a private tour for us of the Amalfi Coast with the most professional tour guide that was well worth it. I would highly recommend this hotel and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bmanblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.4 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,809 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiche Mura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Mura Hotel

Property: Antiche Mura Hotel
Address: Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiche Mura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiche Mura Hotel has a wonderful position in the heart of Sorrento, in the main square Piazza Tasso. It is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento and its beautiful surroundings like Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. This newly renovated hotel combines elegance, style and modern comforts (Like Free Wi-Fi) able to satisfy guests with the highest expectations. At the same time , you will be able to experience centuries of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Antiche Mura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Mura Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing