We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant - would recommend to anyone”
Review of Antiche Mura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Antiche Mura Hotel
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
UK
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very pleasant - would recommend to anyone”
Reviewed 4 December 2006

We went to the Antiche Mura for a holiday to celebrate my 30th birthday. It was a package with Thompson (Magic of Italy) and we only had a basic room.

I'd agree with the majority of what the other reviewers have written. The hotel's location is excellent - right in the heart of Sorrento, but with a deep gorge running down one side of the hotel, it's very peaceful, almost to the point of being rural.

The room was on the small side - but spotlessly clean. Maid service is twice a day - you'll find your bed turned down for you in the evening. My only complaint was that there were large mirrored wardrobe doors opposite the bed, which made me both uncomfortable and self-conscious every time I was in bed. But I realise that these may be an attraction for some people!

The breakfast buffets are exactly as others have described - more cake than a patisserie. The pool area is delightful, although take some insect repellant. The poolside bar also served some good food.

What I would really recommend is the resort of Sorrento itself. We loved it. It was a proper grown-up resort, which is touristy without being tacky. The centre is pedestrianised at night - and you can join the great Italian sport of promenading. All the shops, bars and restaurants are open late - and you can stroll around, stopping for shopping, drinking or eating. I even went out one night by myself when my partner was feeling unwell, and as a single woman, I felt completely safe. It had a brilliant atmosphere, and even in October, it was very warm.

The best place we found in Sorrento is Cafe Latino, a restaurant set in a courtyard (quite close to the main English/Irish pubs). This was quite simply one of the best restaurants I have ever eaten in - the setting is stunning, the food is amazing, and the Maitre D' and all the waiting staff were brilliant. Oh, and the cocktails are jolly nice too. It's also a restaurant where you can get a much wider variety of Italian food than the pizza/pasta combinations that abound in Sorrento.

A very good holiday in all - and the Antiche Mura was a brilliant base for exploring the region. Much recommended.

  • Liked — Spotlessly clean; great location; breakfasts
  • Disliked — Small room; dominated by enormous mirrors
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't pay for a room with a 'balcony'; they looked too small to sit on
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Diplodocus13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,892
    338
    43
    10
    2
See reviews for
529
1,242
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada & Israel
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 603 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2006

As written in the previous reviews, it is a great place - so rather than repeat all the superlatives which you can read for yourselves, and to which I agree, I'd like to centre in on one attribute - the wonderful front desk staff!

There was a quick response to any concerns we raised. They were always very pleasant and helpful. The advice was well thought out, and they offered suggestions but were not pushy about them. And they provided good explanations on why they made the suggestions.

Special mention should be made of Assunta. She is a sweetheart and made a point of ensuring that we were enjoying ourselves.

Michele, with whom I was in touch via e-mail prior to arrival was very helpful in getting us what I wanted - a nice roomy "romantic" room.

From suggestions on restaurants, to how to get to the top of Vesuvius we never went wrong following the front desk advice. They seemed to have a sixth sense about my wife's and my preferences and personality. When I asked why they recommended the particular restaurants (there are so many close by that are local style and the same general price range), I was told that the ones they suggested were more consistent, quieter and appropriate for us. And they were right, we enjoyed them very much!

Following the advice we ate primarily at Zintano's and Phillipo's. Zintano's is close by, has a varied menu, excellent wines, and our waiter, Pasquale was very entertaining and personable (although some may find his exuberance and innuendos a bit hard to take). He took us into the kitchen and we saw how everyone working there was proud of the fresh ingredients, and their work. Phillipo's sends a van down to get you, since unless you are a mountain goat there is no way to walk there. Franco the driver is a delight and watches over you like a mother hen. The food is great and the kitchen is fully visible.

Some touring advice - do not skip seeing Herculeum, assuming that it is just a smaller version of Pompeii. It is very much different. The walk down the street from the train (Circumvesuvio - Ercolano station) is not threatening or dangerous. It is simply a busy city street. Also if you want to see the crater of Vesuvius, there are various ways - the fastest is via a taxi-van service from Ercolano - there is a sign right outside the train station and the office is to the left. The price includes entrance, and once a van is reasonably full (more than 6 people) off you go. The driver waits for you at the parking lot - and 90 minutes is sufficient to climb the remaining 200 meters (via a good wide gradual footpath) and go around the crater. Not too strenuous. Go in the morning and then on return, see Herculeum.

Also don't rent a car - the hotel is in the centre of Sorrento - close to the train and the bus - and the Amalfi coast is much prettier looking out the bus window than having a nerve-racking drive!

We were there the first week of November - the weather was perfect - no longer hot, but not yet cold. And being a bit off season the prices were more reasonable and places were less crowded. We never had to wait or fight crowds. And when we extended our stay by a night, it was not a problem.

Thank you to Trip Advisor - The reviews made the hotel too good to be true, but they were right on! Read on to the other reviews for more details.

  • Liked — Front Desk Staff and their helpfulness
  • Disliked — Can't think of a thing!
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Life-is-an-Adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2006

Great location, wonderful breakfast, courteous staff. Would go back again in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — Location, breakfast buffet
  • Stayed November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GGH205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2006

I booked this hotel based on other tripadvisor reviews and wasn't disappointed.

It's in a great location in the centre of Sorrento town, meaning that the whole town can be explored on foot. It's also walking distance from the train station [provided you don't have too much luggage] which is very handy for getting the train to see Pompeii and Herculaneum etc.

The room we had was on the third floor and was really lovely. There wasn't much noise from the road, even though we were at the front of the hotel. The bathroom in particular was nice, with a very interesting shower set-up!
The pool and garden area is lovely for anyone wanting to sit and read amonst the lemon and clementine trees.

The breakfast was really good - and I'm a big fan of breakfasts. There was both hot and cold food to choose from and a variety of fruit and cakes for anyone with a sweet tooth.

I couldn't recomment this hotel highly enough, and would definitely stay again there if I was in Sorrento!

  • Liked — The location and the breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SuZeeDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland, England
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2006

It's difficult to add to the excellent reviews given by previous contributors about the Antiche Mura. All the good things said about it is true. It is well located for the town centre, rail and bus station. Easy downhill walk to the harbour and an easier 1 Euro bus ride back. The staff (and we met quite a few of them during our 4 day visit) are all very pleasant and helpful. Nice quiet garden , although the pool was empty on November. Biggest breakfast buffet I've seen in a European hotel. The array of cakes/pastries is staggering. For anyone with a sweet tooth at breakfasttime (sadly not me) this is heaven.
Pompeii, Herculaneum, Vesuvius, Amalfi, Positano and Capri are all easily accessible by train ( a bit run down but v cheap), bus or ferry.

Tip when visiting Capri: Don't sign up to the very expensive " I'll show you all the island" tour touted by the 'guides' who accost you at the ferry terminal. Out of season when the funicular and the orange buses are not crowded, it is just as easy to get to Anacapri and the Blue Grotto by public transport - at a fraction of the cost.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Breakfast bacon was boiled rather than fried !!
  • Tips/Secrets — Go there
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Traveller-on-Tyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2006

Realy nice hotel - the reviews helped us to pick this fab hotel and it didn't disappoint! Really great location just off the main square. We booked a comfort room and it was so clean, with effective air con and a great balcony overlooking the gorge. You don't get sea views from this hotel but it is worth it.

The staff are brill - I asked for soya milk on the first morning and they said it would be about '5 minutes' and it was! (presumably someone dashed to the shop opposite to stock up but it was there each morning for our stay after that!)

Agree with Trevorw38's excellent review below. We also really enjoyed Antiche Trattoria for a beautiful meal (it was my friend's 30th birthday). Trevor McDonald was at the opposite table with his family (not Trevorw38 is it?!?!!!) and Emilia's in the old marina - very traditional family restaurant - the real Sorrento.

We took a boat ride to Amalfi and got the bus back with a stop off at Positano - a full day out but amazing views. Capri was superb but avoid the funicular railway queues if you can tackle the steps up.

We got the train from Naples in after landing but there is also a great coach service for 7 Euros which we got back - much more comfortable.

We also had a drink on the terrace of the Excelsior Vittoria (2 minutes from Antiche Mura) watching fireworks over the bay of naples - really magic! (but they often have weddings and restrict entry - keep trying!)

  • Liked — Location, service, air conditioning!
  • Disliked — No sea views
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SJI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, CO
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2006

This is a very nice hotel, right in the heart of Sorrento. We stayed only 1 night, and were able to only get their economy room with "high windows" as they call it (meaning partially underground of course) but even that was very quaint and a perfect place to spend your jet-lagged first night on your honeymoon.
The service was impeccable, and we had no problem getting any help finding our way around, complete with bus, train and ferry schedules.
The breakfast buffet was very expansive, and included so many enticing sweets... The hotel itself is partially build on an old fortress, and part of the wall remains in the hotel's courtyard and pool area. It was cloudy during our 1-day stay there, so we didn't use the pool, but had it been sunny it would have been perfect. Very lush, secluded, and well-appointed. The hotel has some private suites overlooking the pool area, which would be something to look into for an extended stay. But for our single night, things couldn't have been more perfect.

  • Liked — Very clean and accommodating
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moxiebijou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
3,060 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,506 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,222 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiche Mura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Mura Hotel

Property: Antiche Mura Hotel
Address: Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiche Mura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiche Mura Hotel has a wonderful position in the heart of Sorrento, in the main square Piazza Tasso. It is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento and its beautiful surroundings like Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. This newly renovated hotel combines elegance, style and modern comforts (Like Free Wi-Fi) able to satisfy guests with the highest expectations. At the same time , you will be able to experience centuries of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Antiche Mura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Mura Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing