We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel”
Review of Antiche Mura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Antiche Mura Hotel
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
essex
Level Contributor
95 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Charming hotel”
Reviewed 26 May 2010

This hotel is very convenient to Sorrento town, just off Piazza Tasso where the buses pick up & drop off, 10 mins walk at most from train station, & easy walking distance to shops & restaurants. Being out of the main hub, it is quieter than the central hotels. We had a comfort room with balcony that overlooked the gorge - the room itself was roomy but the bathroom was a little small. The whole hotel was very clean, nicely decorated & the staff was exceptionally helpful & friendly, especially Lara. They arranged our transfers from the airport at a competitive price, & were extremely helpful booking a driver & private guide to Pompeii. The breakfasts were very good, cold meats, cheeses, breads, cakes, yoghurts, cereals, juices, eggs. We took advantage of the days when the sun shone to use the pool - as others have commented, a little oasis of calm - again the staff was friendly & helpful. Overall an excellent stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jan59Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,887
    335
    42
    10
    2
See reviews for
523
1,240
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2010

Close to everything, quiet, breakfast choices were good staff were really good about directions and giving out information on the local area. Good base for travelling to Isle of Capri Positano and Amalfi

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzzieJ255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2010

I felt compelled to write a review of Antiche Mura because of how much better our experience was than we had expected!

This hotel's website doesn't do it justice - the location is beautiful; it's built on old city walls, right on the edge of a gorge, with old stone mills at the bottom. The rooms are fine, we were surprised to have a nice, small, balcony on ours. Breakfast is served on a lovely terrace under orange & lemon trees.

Service & cleanliness of the room was impeccable - every time we left, even if just for an hour, our room was made up when we returned! The front desk staff was incredibly helpful, as well.

Wonderful value, especially with the Rick Steve's discount!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ejc518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2010

We stayed for 3 nights in May having got a late deal (last minute change of plans due to the trouble in Thailand) so we managed to get a very good rate but even if we hadn't we would still be impressed with this hotel. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the location was perfect and the room very comfortable. Unfortunately we had bad weather for this part of our trip so we couldn't really enjoy the pool or the gardens as much as we wanted to.
Our room was right behind the lift, which I thought might make it small and noisy but in fact it was ample sized with a good bathroom. We had no problem with noise and we didn't mind not having much of a view as we only really came back to the room to sleep.
Most evenings we had a drink in the bar before we went out, which isn't something I would normally do but the bar staff were so welcoming and the atmosphere so nice that it became a good way to start each evening. The bar staff were happy to recommend restaurants based upon our tastes and the staff in general could not have been more helpful. Their positive attitudes certainly made for a better stay.
I would certainly recommend this hotel to all travellers, very glad we stumbled across it.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rambling_Rose_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2010

Superb service. Special kudos to Mario and Michelle. Hotel is immaculate, close to train station and buses. You are just off the Piazza Tasso, the central area but the hotel is very quiet.
Breakfast is the best I've had anywhere.
We would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob48_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2010

I just returned from staying 7 nights at this hotel. I cannot say enough. The hotel is beautiful, very clean and near everything. The staff is the best I have ever seen. Always happy and willing to help. The airlines lost our luggage and the staff went above and beyond to have it delivered to us as fast as possible.
The breakfast was great and the pool and snack area was just perfect. Me and my daughter will be back again with others. This hotel made our trip perfect.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bella2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2010

The service from all staff was excellent, friendly and helpful. The room (we had a comfort room) was very comfortable with air-conditioning, tiled floors and a small balcony overlooking the gorge. The continental breakfasts were very good with plenty to choose from including local cakes. The garden with lemon trees and pool is a quiet oasis in the middle of a busy town. We would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting informal, friendly and comfortable accommodation in Sorrento.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lightblue83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,000 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,483 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,066 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiche Mura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Mura Hotel

Property: Antiche Mura Hotel
Address: Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiche Mura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiche Mura Hotel has a wonderful position in the heart of Sorrento, in the main square Piazza Tasso. It is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento and its beautiful surroundings like Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. This newly renovated hotel combines elegance, style and modern comforts (Like Free Wi-Fi) able to satisfy guests with the highest expectations. At the same time , you will be able to experience centuries of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Antiche Mura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Mura Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing