We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel with excellent staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antiche Mura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Antiche Mura Hotel
Ranked #8 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Arnhem
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel with excellent staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2010

We stayed four days in this hotel. We booked a standard room. The hotel is nicely located near the Sorrento centre. Service was great! The reception staff was very helpful when we arrived. They parked our car en they helped with our luggage. Moreover, all staff members were very friendly. The air conditioned room was spotless. They clean the room two times a day. The location of the swimming pool is great and there is a bar where you can order drinks and there is a lunch card. If we visit Sorrento again then we for sure take this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,835
    320
    40
    9
    2
See reviews for
502
1,201
24
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2010

TripAdvisor pointed me to this hotel, and what a great recommendation. The hotel is only a half-block from the center of Sorrento, close to the train and bus station for day trips to Pompeii and Herculaneum. My room was perfectly quiet, and spotless, with sparkling clean Italian tile floors. A great staff, ready with recommendations. Breakfast buffet was amazing, dozens of Italian pastry types, like Piccola Caprese al limone (little Isle of Capri with lemon), Saporelli, mezzaluna con cioccolato (half moons with chocolate), as well as eggs, the great Italian ham, juice, etc. A beautiful pool area with attentive staff. This is a very well run hotel with great employees and a great location.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KonaDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2010

All the reviews rave about this hotel, and it has a lot of good points, but there are a few areas that need to be improved.
The good things.
The staff are excellent. Faultless. Friendly, professional, excellent.
The pool area : suurounded by lemon trees, a calm oasis.
The location : it is only a few minutes walk to the square. Note, however, this isnt the central suqare in town, but on the edge of the old town. There are a lot of hotels in much better locations, in the middle of the old town and near the top of the cliff.

The things that were not so good.
The beds. Two single beds pushed together is NOT a double bed. Sorry, but it isnt. Not that great having to either both try to squeeze into one side to avoid the big crease or take a half each.
Room noise. As the hotel states, all rooms are double glazed to keep out external noise, of which there can be lots. This means having to sleep with the windows closed and the aircon blasting. Fine. BUT there is one major problem : Internal noise. We had to ask to be moved after 2 nights because of the constant disturbance from other rooms. Tiled floors and few soft furnishings in all rooms on all levels meant anyone walking about or moving furniture was deafening. The room we were moved to was a suite with two doors but still every step and bag banged up and down stairs at all hours of the night echoed around like a shot in a stadium. And yes, people did move bags very early as it seems a lot of package flights are at dawn...,
We tried to make up for the lack of a nights sleep by napping by the pool. Great until large wedding groups descended on the hotel for days at a time. This meant large family groups of Irish or English discussing at length nights out drinking both past and future. Many of these people were not even staying in the hotel but used the pool area as other relatives were - the hotel didnt police this at all.
The clientelle seemed to be mostly made up of middle aged Irish or UK couples with the odd north american. We paid a dsicounted, late booking price but still most people seemed to have paid a lot less as part of a package deal.
When walking round the old town at night you realise that there are a lot of hotels in much better positions with great views etc that would be worth looking into.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bgboyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2010

We booked this hotel on the basis of earlier reviews in Tripadvisor. Having now read the latest reviews, there is very little one can add. In terms of style, comfort, cleanliness, friendliness, location - and the breakfasts - it would be difficult to improve on. We particularly liked the breakfast terrace and the lemon grove around the swimming pool - so tranquil for a relaxing hour or two, yet only a stone's throw from the central square. Sorrento is a lovely town with its old quarter, breathtaking sea views and good shops, bars and restaurants. It is a great centre for trips - and don't bother with a car, you can get anywhere by bus or train, all leaving from within a few minutes walk of the hotel. Our advice: it is worth booking a 'comfort' room for more space and a balcony; and, if you are flying in to Naples airport and do not want to spend 99 euros on private transfer/taxi, take the direct, air-conditioned coach service from the airport to Sorrento (10 euros). And we are going back to Antiche Mura next year!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian-cfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2010

The Antiche Mura is located just off Plaza Tasso on the edge of a gorge - it is an old villa and so has a house party friendly atmosphere and the rooms are all very varied so it is probably important which one you get. We were 2 adults and one 9 year old child - and we shared a room. We started off in room 106 - which was on the gorge side of the hotel but felt a bit cave like - it was small for an all in price for 3 or 254 euro. We asked if we could move and they were very helpful and we were able to move to Room 203 - much nicer ligher airy and slightly larger. It did face the front of the hotel which was noisy as this is opposite a main car park for Sorrento and traffic is heavy in the mornings. The air con was quiet though so we slept with windows closed and air con on.
All staff are friendly and helpful - only downside is the bar which has no atmosphere and is off reception and also has no outside space. Only incident was lack of bread at breakfast one morning at 9.30- put down to an early visit to breakfast by a wedding party. Not good as there is a full buffet of cakes but no bread?? perhaps unlucky!
Otherwise good stay - Sorrento busy and trafficky though so more of a city break than a seaside holiday.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireJLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2010

Lovely hotel, very friendly and helpful staff, great place to stay

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AlanBennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottsdale, az
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2010

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Sorrento. Beautiful structure, friendly and service oriented staff, delicious "over the top" breakfasts each morning. Clean, clean and more clean. Best location in Sorrento - 100 yards from main square, but quiet. Ask the bartender for dinner recommendations - he's a local and he won't lead you wrong. When we go back to Sorrento, we will be staying here!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redvlpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.4 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,809 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiche Mura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Mura Hotel

Property: Antiche Mura Hotel
Address: Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiche Mura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiche Mura Hotel has a wonderful position in the heart of Sorrento, in the main square Piazza Tasso. It is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento and its beautiful surroundings like Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. This newly renovated hotel combines elegance, style and modern comforts (Like Free Wi-Fi) able to satisfy guests with the highest expectations. At the same time , you will be able to experience centuries of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Antiche Mura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Mura Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing