We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel!”
Review of Antiche Mura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Antiche Mura Hotel
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel!”
Reviewed 20 January 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights in Dec/Jan 2010-11 and loved it. Like other review, we found that the hotel is very clean, breakfast is great and the staff were extremely helpful with suggesting restaurants and tours. We had originally booked a junior suite (2 adults & 2 kids) but for the first 2 nights upgraded to a larger suite, at an extra cost of 40 euros per night- well worth it for the extra space. maybe consider booking the larger suite if you have more than 3 people in the junior suite- it felt a little crowded with 4. However, it had wonderful views, and huge windows.

The position was great, down the road from the main square. The only drawback was that we didn't have a view of the coast, which some may find preferable when staying on the Amalfi coast.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FN44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,912
    340
    44
    10
    2
See reviews for
542
1,250
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cumming, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

What a great way to start our trip to Italy!! Can't say enough about the Hotel Antiche Mura. A wonderful hotel in a wonderful city, Sorrento. The staff was friendly and helpful; the breakfast was excellent in a lovely dining room. So convenient we walked everywere and were safe. I would highly recommend this hotel and in fact hope to return in the future. Beautiful Hotel!!! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Sorrento.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

There are many reviews on Tripadvisor for this hotel already, and I largely agree with them so I'll be brief. I just want to point out one aspect that I believe is not so much highlighted by others, which is that some rooms in this hotel are quite small. We had booked a standard room, and the size of that room was 3 times the size of the bed. We found that a bit too cramped, and spoke to reception on the morning after our first night. They offered us several alternative rooms, and we chose one that involved an upgrade at a small extra charge per night to what I believe is called a comfort room. This room was roughly 4,5 times the size of the bed, but it made all the difference (we found out that there's a tipping point where a room feels cramped or not). Unlike the first room, this new room also had a small balcony at the front of the hotel (the first room was at the back), which was a nice plus and perhaps also helped to avoid claustrofobia. It also meant some noise nuisance from the street, but nothing too serious. Both rooms had smallish bathrooms, with (massage) showers over bath tubs that offer only medium pressure and slightly fluctuating temperatures.

A big plus for this hotel is that it has a parking garage (valet) at 10E per night, but that is well worth it. There is also a public garage opposite the hotel, but I believe it will cost you more. However, the hotel's garage looked quite small, so if you travel there during the peak season then perhaps best to reserve your parking space in advance.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_Jetten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2010

We stayed at the Antiche Mura over the Chrsitmas holidays for 7 days. We had 2 adults and a teenager in a comfort room which was large and super super clean. The bathroom was very big, all tiled, and recently remodeled beautifully. Wifi is only available in the lobby, but the lobby is big, comfortable and fun to have a caffe while checking your emails. The hotel is just minutes to everything - the docks, circumvesuviana train, restaurants, shops. The staff is incredibly friendly, helpful and everyone seems to speak multiple languages - we heard Italian, English, German and French spoken as we passed by the lobby. The maid staff is impeccable - our room was cleaned to perfection every day. Not a single thing I would change about this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

A new hotel I'm told, about 4 years refurbished and family run. Decor is colourful and top quality. All staff present to the highest standards yet are warm and helpful. Excellent breakfast in a light spacoius setting. If possible try the the Junior Suite or similar for the extra spaciousness. Internet is free in lobby/lounge but we would have liked (free) in room for convenience and it would be nice to make coffee in room (both minor notes). Rooms don't overlook sea but location is still so useful to square etc and area is quiet
it was just so relaxing and of a size to be luxuriosly 'homely'.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wayleggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, USA
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

I am not sure why it is not five star unless it does not have a restaurant. On the other hand it has a fabulous breakfast included. I mean fabulous.

The staff is super polite and helpful, the rooms are beyond reproach...location, location, location. It is exactly where you would need your hotel to be for Capri, Pompei, and the Amalfi coast.

Ceramic tiles on the floor in every room, the hotel sits directly on and is build partially around the incredible chasm that splits the city with ruins at the bottom. You are literally 100 meters for city center and alley shopping, and 800 meters from the docks to ferry about.

The staff gave us restaurant recommends that ranged from quite good to Excellent (Da Filippo).

There is a lovely bar with free Wifi. They handle the parking for you. It is 10 Euros a day which is cheap. I cannot recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noogs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2010

This was an excellent hotel for my family to stay in Sorrento. The train station is only a 5 minute walk to the hotel and the main piazzo is right down the street. The rooms were very nice and comfortable. The breakfast was the best we had in Italy. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msroy616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,110 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,307 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,533 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiche Mura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Mura Hotel

Property: Antiche Mura Hotel
Address: Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiche Mura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiche Mura Hotel has a wonderful position in the heart of Sorrento, in the main square Piazza Tasso. It is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento and its beautiful surroundings like Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. This newly renovated hotel combines elegance, style and modern comforts (Like Free Wi-Fi) able to satisfy guests with the highest expectations. At the same time , you will be able to experience centuries of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Antiche Mura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Mura Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing