We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good base for Sorrento” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Di Sorrento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villa Di Sorrento
Ranked #80 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good base for Sorrento”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

Stopped for a week. Booked as part of a Newmarket Holidays package. A view on this hotel depends on what you're looking for. It has no pool or outside sitting area so is not good for a relaxing break. However, if you're looking for a base to explore Sorrento and the Amalfi Coast then it's ideal.

Our room was 2 x single beds, wardrobe, drawers, flat-screen tv. Tiny balcony overlooking the street, barely big enough to get a chair on and certainly not any use for sitting on. It's more an architectural feature than a useable balcony. Excellent shower room/toilet. Unfortunately, no fridge.

Aircon was excellent - one of the best we've ever experienced. Shutters superb: they cancelled out every bit of street noise and made the room very quiet at night.

The breakfast room is small. Breakfast was adequate rather than generous.

The room was cleaned every day. Reception staff were unfailingly pleasant and helpful.

From the hotel door it was 30 paces to Sorrento's main square; a 5 minute walk to the bus and train station.

One thing to note, the brochure gives the indication that there are rooms with large balconies/terrace areas and other Trip advisor entries have made reference. We certainly didn't manage to get one and, I suspect, from the layout of the hotel there may only be 1 such room.

We warmed to the place by the end of the week as a good base.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheScullys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Di Sorrento, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Thank you very much for the review, I really appreciate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    93
    22
    11
    17
See reviews for
54
87
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

I stayed here recently because of the location and value I got with my package deal, after reading reviews initially I was abit spectical about what to expect, the location is perfect smack in the middle of Sorrento so I went for it on arrivial I got booked in perfect the only problem I had was the aircon not working! and no fridge! with a little laungage barrier after the first day my aircon was working and i had a fridge:) the staff are very friendly after your first incouter with them, the breakfast was ok could be improved slightly, after reading other reviews about there not being someone at front of house all the time you have to rember its a small family run hotel and the staff are either in the ajoining office or in the kitchen is all it takes is a hello upon entering but the clenlyness is A1 on a couple of occasions I brought a pizza back for a late night snack and they was more than happy to let me use the louge etc, Iv'e recomended this hotel to my family who are going to use it on my recomendation and I will be using it my self in the near feauture again! the only let down was I wasnt able to use the roof terrace

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslemere, Surrey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Diana and I stayed at the Villa di Sorrento for a week, and were delighted with the friendly and courteous service we received at the Villa di Sorrento. The location could not have been better - we were right there in the centre of the city, so close to to the bars and resaurants. We would happily recommend the hotel....it's just a pity that new visitors won't get that same excitement we had when the place went wild with Italy's Euro 2012 success. If you are visiting Sorrento, be sure to stay at the villa di Sorrento.

Room Tip: Front of hotel is good, with plenty of atmosphere from the streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank henryhorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Di Sorrento, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
thank you very much for your kind review !! Unfortunatly we lose the final .....
Hope to see you again at Villa di Sorrento
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

As others have said, the position is great with all amenities close by so it was easy to explore the town on foot as well as taxi if you need one. Bus and Train station within a 5-10 minute walk too so you can get anywhere easily. It does not pretend to be 5 star so the complaints seem a bit harsh. The rooms were very clean and well serviced, staff are friendly and do their most to be helpful - when we left a bag behind in the hotel they sent a staff member on a scooter to chase our bus on the way to the airport and he wouldn't take anything in recompense.

I enjoyed the cockerel - it's great to have a bit of local colour even in the middle of town! And it was only a bantam, not a full sized cockerel judging by the volume and pitch of its voice. Relax.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francesco1854, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Di Sorrento, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
I really appriciate your review, many thanks also for the comments on the " Cockerel", it's nice to see that someone appreciates our local color....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

We stayed in this hotel twice during April 2012, as we used Sorrento as a transport hub for the Amalfi Coast. Our expectations of Sorrento, based on most travel guides, were not high but we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel is right in the centre of town, less than 5 mins walk to the charming old quarter, 8-10 mins walk to the station and 10-15 mins walk to the port. The elevator is the smallest we encountered in Italy (just enough room for 2 people and luggage) but our room was clean and spacious.

We had a mix up with our booking which we changed before we left home but the hotel did not have a record of this change. Nonetheless, we sorted this out and were not charged. The staff are friendly and the breakfast is good. For the price, this hotel is outstanding value, particularly compared with hotels on the Isle of Capri, just 30 mins away by ferry.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francesco1854, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Di Sorrento, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Thank you for your nice reviews! I hope to see you again at Villa di Sorrento 1854
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

The location for the Villa Di Sorrento was great- a few footsteps away from Plazza Tasso. The room was small but adequate. Unfortunately, there was a rooster in the courtyard below our room and it began to crow at the crack of dawn. Even with the windows closed, we could still hear the rooster. When we spoke to the manager, he said he didn't understand what I was talking about. I explained and he said there was nothing he could do about it and the "hotel was full up." We put up with the crowing for three nights. The staff was nice but not as accommodating as could have been expected. On our last day my husband and I discovered we had gotten Athlete's Foot from the shower. Overall, I would rate this hotel experience as disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CINDY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francesco1854, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Di Sorrento, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Further to your comments, I am pleased to inform you the the ''Rooster'' has now been roasted with Rosemary and Potatoes!! With regards to contacting ''Athletes foot'', the cleanliness in our Hotel is of a maximum standard, as you can see from other comments and the Showers and Baths are disinfected daily! Given the time to incubate Athletes Foot I believe you could have contracted it before arriving at our hotel as it takes longer than 3 days to incubate and manifest itself, it does not happen over- night!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

Superbly situated right in the heart of Sorrento overlooking Piazza Tasso ideal for exploring the old town and close to all the restaurants, shops, station and for the bus which runs down to the port and around town. A taxi rank is right outside the hotel in the middle of the street.

The staff at the hotel were very kind, helpful and cheerful at all times and we were made to feel welcome. Although the rooms are a tad on the small side they are extremely clean and comfortable. Our room on the fourth floor overlooked Tasso Square with views down to the sea and across the bay of Naples. The patio doors to the terrace were double glazed and kept out any undue noise with the exception of Sunday night when there were celebrations in the square following a football win with fireworks, music and singing. The terrace is furnished with two good sun loungers, a table and two chairs and the balcony was surrounded by flower baskets which offered a little privacy from the room next door.


The room contained two very comfortable single beds, flat screen television (not that we used it) mirrors,an in built wardrobe, writing desk and chair, two bedside lamps and bedside tables. The bathroom was super with hot running water at any time of the day and a brilliant shower head, bidet and toilet.The towels changed daily and we were most impressed with the level of cleanliness. There are no tea or coffee facilities in the room however we took out own and were happy we did. Wifi is available in the room after obtaining a code from reception with an excellent signal and no drops in connection.

There are two small lounges just off reception and a small breakfast room with ample selection of breads, cereals, fruit, yoghurts and jams. There is a toaster and small water boiler for cooking your own eggs for breakfast. The coffee machine produces some very nice coffee.

Overall if you are looking for somewhere central and close to all the amenities and spotlessly clean then this is the hotel for you. If you are looking for more luxury than you will be disappointed.

I thoroughly recommend this hotel and we were really impressed at the high level of cleanliness and attention from the staff.

Room Tip: We chose a terrace room and had Room 41 which was superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gazza6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sorrento City
Hotel Sorrento City
#43 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tasso Suites
Tasso Suites
#40 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Corso
Hotel del Corso
#67 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,207 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
#37 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Di Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Di Sorrento

Property: Hotel Villa Di Sorrento
Address: Viale Enrico Caruso 6 | Piazza Tasso, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Di Sorrento 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Villa Di Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Di Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing