We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfetto!!!!”
Review of Hotel La Meridiana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Meridiana
Ranked #60 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
121 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Perfetto!!!!”
Reviewed 16 September 2011

stayed at La Meridiana in Sorrento for 10 days in July. It was a great deal. Basic room no pool but who wants to be stuck inside at the hotel when in Sorrento? La Meridiana was a 5-10 minute walk into the center of Sorrento and about 15 minutes to Marina Piccola. I scheduled several tours while I was there and the meeting places were 2 minutes to 15 minutes from the hotel. There is Piazza Lauro about 1 minute from the hotel with restaurants, shopping, and arcade, ATM (Deutsch Bank), Gelato, etc. There is a supermarket near by as well. The breakfast was right for the price. It is a buffet with fresh fruit, coffee, tea, juice, meats, cheeses, yogurt, breads. I did not eat dinner there but it smelled great and sounded like a great time. All the hotel staff was GREAT and very helpful. There is a lovely roof top terrace where I did lay and get some sun. The views from here are amazing. I plan on coming again and staying here with my daughter.

Room Tip: I had a basic room with no view. However I think when you are in Italy why would you want a room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NP_Terminator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    240
    81
    27
    19
See reviews for
89
328
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Our family of 2 adults and 2 children (ages 9 and 11) stayed in a quad room for 3 nights in August. Room was fine with good A/C, but a bit snug. Breakfast was good and complete, which allowed us to combine breakfast and lunch. Location was good, right next to a nice, shaded lemon orchard right in the heart of the city. Short walk to town center, marina and train. Lacks character, but would recommend as a fine, reliable option.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

La Meridiana was fantastic! The hotel was extremely clean and in a perfect location, near the main square and close to the beach. Nearby, there were many shops, amazing restaurants and a superb selection of bars. The hotel was located next to one of Sorrento's lemon groves and the surrounding area was peaceful and picturesque, providing excellent views of Mount Vesuvius and the Sorrento coastline. The only downside was the fact that La Meridiana didn't have its own pool, however guests were allowed to use the excellent pool at Hotel Flora, just a 5 minute walk away, for 10 Euros per person for the day.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shippers23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

La Meridiana is an excellent hotel in its price point. The great things about the hotel are: 1) clean 2) the coffee at breakfast is to die for (IMHO) 3) Great location - not too far out, not hills to climb 4) Quiet 5) view from the balcony is spectacular 6) view from the roof top deck is fantastic.
Downsides to Meridiana: 1) No pool 2) No wireless even in the lobby 3) On key per room. 2 and 3 are easily fixed. I hope the hotel addresses these quickly.
Further info: Visited with my family of 4. 2 kids 11 and 5. They supplied a bunk bed for the kids. Room was clean and spacious. I'd go back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2ddw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

just back from Sorrento with the hottest week we have experienced.
The hotel was great. Very clean with the maids changing linen and towels every day.
The food in the restaurant was simple but the portions were enormous. The head waiter (Antonio) was very attentive and was quite concerned if you did not eat the food. The reception staff were very pleasant and always took time to speak to you when collecting your key from a day out. The night reception (Pierpaulo) was very happy to talk about the resort and keep you in the right direction.
Good Points.... Food , Cleanliness, Comfortable rooms, Location, very friendly staff
Bad points.... no pool , poor quality fruit juice at breakfast , no fridge in room , Air Conditioning an expensive extra

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony facing the sun when booking. Some of the balconies do not get any sun at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Friendly staff, good location, ideal for couples. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

I stayed at the hotel in the middle of August with my daughter , 15. We did not need the air-conditioning and slept very well in comfy beds despite high temperatures. All the staff were kind ,attentive and very professional, especially the restaurant staff. The maids and the cleanliness of the room, supurb. The location is great for sight-seeing . Breakfast could not be better; buffet style with lots of fresh fruit. Dinner offered a choice of 4 things over 4 courses . The portions were huge and seconds offered. Local dishes were particulary good e.g. Palma ham & melon and the desserts of the region and a choice of 10 different vegetables .We would stay there again but next time pay for a room with a balcony (just personal preference). If you want access to a swimming pool there is an arrangement with a nearby hotel but this does not operate during the very busy season (when the Italians are on holiday) we were told. The terrace offers a fantastic panorama of the bay & Vesuvius. The showers were powerful and there was a hairdryer provided...but no facilites to make hot drinks in the room. We loved walking through the lemon grove to reach the main street into Sorrento old town. The hotel had a caring atmosphere created by the lovely staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alijclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Britannia
Hotel Britannia
#49 of 100 in Sorrento
103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#53 of 100 in Sorrento
366 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#46 of 100 in Sorrento
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#56 of 100 in Sorrento
645 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
1,335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tourist
Hotel Tourist
#82 of 100 in Sorrento
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Meridiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Meridiana

Property: Hotel La Meridiana
Address: Via Bernardino Rota 1/3, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Meridiana 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel La Meridiana, located in a calm area right in the Sorrento city centre, offers a wonderful view of the Neapolitan gulf, from Capri to the Vesuvius. It is 5 minutes far from the bus and train station, walking, and 15 minutes from the port. Therefore, all the most visited sights can easily be reached: Capri, Pompei, Positano, Naples and Amalfi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Meridiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Meridiana Sorrento
La Meridiana Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing