We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Meridiana - excellent service & great location”
Review of Hotel La Meridiana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Meridiana
Ranked #60 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“La Meridiana - excellent service & great location”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We recently stayed at La Meridiana for 3 nights in a sea view room on the 5th floor. The room was spacious, with a long balcony and the view from there was great for seeing the sunset.

First the good - Service at the reception was excellent, especially Rosalba & Andre. They were very helpful in solving some of the issues we faced in the room (more about that in a bit) and also giving suggestions for restaurants and directions to the places we wanted to go to.
There was no hot water kettle in the room, but both of them were very helpful in giving us hot water from the espresso machine when we needed it. Andre also helped us warm some ready-to-serve food which we had carried with us, in the hotel kitchen.
The location is very convenient and 5 mins walk from the main street and restaurants and shopping areas. It is in a side street, so it is close to the city hub without being noisy.

Now the issues we had which stopped me from giving it 5 stars - Firstly, the plug point in the room, by the bed side was not working on the day we checked in. I was not in favor of charging our gadgets in the bathroom so Andre gave us a plug with more outputs which he plugged into the same spot as the tv so that we could charge our camera batteries and phones there. The faulty plug point was repaired the next day.
Secondly, the water pressure in the shower was very low on 2 days of our stay, such that the water dropped to a trickle and finally stopped for a few minutes each day. The reason we were given for this was that the hotel was fully booked and most guests turned on their shower at the same time which caused this problem. This problem persisted throughout our stay.

Overall we loved the reception staff, room size and cleanliness and hotel location and would surely recommend it to others visiting Sorrento.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dewdrops131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    240
    81
    27
    19
See reviews for
89
328
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We would like to thank everyone at the Meridiana it was our first visit to Sorrento and can honestly say it was the best holiday we have ever had. From the front desk to the kitchen everything was excellent. The meals were enjoyable, there was so much to choose from at breakfast and the evening meal was beautifully cooked and very satisfying. The rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels each day. Antonio, Eduardo and Rose in the dining room attended to our every need.and were always polite and smiling. We will be going there
again cannot wait

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely with balconies overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronandrosemaryclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roby90, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you also on behalf of my Staff for your generous review.
Please let us know if you will consider coming this way in the near future, we will be overwhelmed to welcome you again!
Roberta Pizzella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2013

A nice clean hotel.Very friendly staff and comfortable rooms.It is close enough to the centre of Sorrento to walk there in about 10 mins.No pool but that didnt bother us.I believe there was access to a pool in a nearby hotel but we didnt use it.
I had 2 problems with this hotel.!st, despite temperatures over 30deg c the air conditioning wasnt included in the price. We had to pay 10 Euro per day (total 140Euro) to have it on every day.Although when we checked on return this fact was in the brochure I think it should have been included in the price of the holiday.
The other problem is not specific to this hotel but is a general gripe when I go half board.In my view when you pay for a meal that meal should include a drink, even if its only water.Instead you have to pay about 2 Euro.

Room Tip: If you have a transfer from the airport they may say that they cant get to the hotel in the coach.no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

Just returned from 7 days in Sorrento staying at La Meridiana. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised as I had read a few Uncomplimentary reviews on here. The room was fine, it was only used as a base as we spent most of our time outside sightseeing. The only downside was the lack of air conditioning - as this costs 10 Euros a night we brought a fan with us and it served us well. Breakfast was fine, always plenty to eat and drink.
As I am a vegan the head waiter ensured that every course that I had at dinner was cooked especially for me which I was really grateful for. (Dinners are always 3 courses) Every meal we ate was lovely and we were always full afterwards.
The location of this hotel is wonderful, just 5 minutes walk from the town and the view from the balcony was the best I've ever had at any hotel. Would recommend asking for a 5th floor room with a view of the Bay of Naples.
Staff are great, very helpful. Would recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Monique_5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

What a great hotel, late deal so took the plunge,past reviews seemed to rate the hotel poorerly, but there are always the moaners and groaners out there.

First impressions are always the best and this hotel did not worry us, on a busy road junction, less than 5 minutes from the town centre (walking) fantastic views of the Bay of Napels and Mount Vesuvius, and the lemon groves next door.

Reception staff where great and could not be more helpful, our room was on the third floor front, with balcony, good quality room with every thing that you need for a comfortable stay.
If you want air-con then you pay locally, but really you do not need as the room is airy and cool.
Fluffy towels change daily, bedding every other day.
The bar has a limited amount of drinks and these tended to be at the usual hotel inflated prices, but will save you the carry from the local supermarket, and you can get ice freely from reception.

The lift will take you to the sun roof terrace on the fifth floor, there are plenty of free sun loungers and seats, well tended potted plants and a shaded seating area if the sun gets too hot for you. ( despite the negative reviews of the terrace, there was no 'fly strewn, dirt ' anywhere to be seen) comfortable and clean, so well worth spending time up there to admire the views, both of the Bay of Naples and also the lush hills to the rear.

In the basement there is a well stocked library, 99% british books, so no excuse for being without.

Breakfast is in the modern clean restaurant, continental style so do not expect full english breakfast.
Seating is allocated throughout the stay, sharing tables with same guests, polite staff, you will find the evening menu on the table at breakfsat to fill in your choice for evening meal.

The evening meal was a multi choice menu, mainly Italian, with numerous past dishes, there was no Pizza served through our stay, I would say now that the food though of a good quality was not what you would have expected.
Packet soups, 'fresh from frozen' fish, there is a local fishing port that brings in fresh fish daily, so why frozen?
The main dish was served with the smallest amount of vegtables, I think they used one large carrot for everyone and the same for the rest of the veg, so best to go for the pasta as you will not leave feeling hungry, sweets tended to be cake, ice cream,tinned fruit salad, and at breakfast do not be surprised to find the cake left overs or the fruit salad.
Having said all that no one complained, so you take it with a pinch of salt.

There is a Gala Evening Dinner one a week, though the food is no better and the very poor singer/organist fails to deliver, despite request for Itailian songs/tunes he was terrible, spoiled the evening, and if you are there for two weeks then you suffer the agony twice over!

From the hotel to the 'beach', is a 5 minute walk(if you take the lift from the cliff top) add another 5 if you walk down.
You will find that 90% of the beach is private and expensive (sun lounger cost 10 euroes and sun parasols another 5 each so it is an expensive past time, There is a couple of public beaches and a public lido which are free but fill up very early, the water is inviting and cold.

From the local train/bus station you can go to all the local sights, Pompei (2.20 each on the train and entrance to Pompei is another 11- a word to the wise, the site is vast, really a city of nothing, all the artifacts are either on constant loan to london or other world centres, there is a store house where they keep every thing else, why, you will need at least two days do really see the site, no shade and with temperatures up in the very high 30's it is a struggle.
Same station to see Mount Vesuvius, get off at Pompei and the local bus is over the road, run every 20 min and cost 10 euros return.
The walk up to the crater is on loose gravel so no sandals, it is steep but everyone can get up if you take your time, the entrace fee is another 10 euros, if you compare the Tour operator price then the 22.20 euro price is a third cheaper than with the tour operator.

The train to Naples is 6.50 euro return ( at weekends ) and the ticket also gets you access to the city buses for free, bus stops outside the staion, tram or numer 501? bus
this will take you both to the harbour and beaches as well as into the city. The train time is every 30 mins and takes approx 1hour (fast Train) as it is 30 stops.

Local bus to Amalfi will cost you approx 8 euros return and the trip is exciting, though buses tend to be well packed so get to the bus station very early, they run every 30 mins but the que is always busy. ( The toilet in Amalfi is 1 euro, the public loo was closed).

If you choose this hotel you will not be dissapointed it is a clean modern well run hotel, no swimming pool, but next door have one.
Very close to town and all the ice cream/cafes that you will ever need, cool lemon groves (good short cut into town).

Enjoy you stay and I hope my insight will make your stay all the more enjoyable.

Last point to tremember, the hotel is on a busy junction with traffic day/night, though things do go quiet after 11pm, do remember this is Italy famed for scooters, the hotel rubbish collectioon is early so may wake you but after that all is peace and calm.

Room Tip: Front are best and the higher up the better view, side rooms have balconies, but also have traffic n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This hotel is not far from the train station unless you are dragging heavy bags. When we checked out we decided we just couldn't pull our bags again and took a taxi. He charged us about 20 euro which I found was quite expensive no further than we were from the station. He did take us a long way around to get there though. When we didn't have luggage we found walking to town and sights no problem at all. Sorento was lovely and we adored our time there.

I was staying with my mum who is in her seventies and we had a room with one single and two singles pushed together. I was going to take the far single but there was a problem with it and they did swap it out the next night. The rooms are very dated and there were school kids staying part of the time we were there so a couple of nights were very noisy. Our view looked out over a big swimming pool which was a bit of a tease, as it belongs to the hotel next door.

Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was nice. Funny sign on reception desk stating that food in the restaurant was served fresh from frozen! Lol, why would you even say that? Great place to stay and do day trips to Pompei and Positano. Biggest downfall, was no wifi which I find unacceptable in these days.

Price was good value. Hotel just needs a makeover!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shariquickenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

This is a wonderful hotel...clean and comfortable with a great restaurant and great location. The staff is friendly and helpful. The only reason I cannot rate it 5-stars is that there is no wifi or Internet connectivity, which for hotel properties these days is a factor for travelers. That said, there is a lovely bar down the street and around the corner that offers reliable and free wifi.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Britannia
Hotel Britannia
#49 of 100 in Sorrento
103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#53 of 100 in Sorrento
366 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#46 of 100 in Sorrento
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#56 of 100 in Sorrento
645 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
1,335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tourist
Hotel Tourist
#82 of 100 in Sorrento
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Meridiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Meridiana

Property: Hotel La Meridiana
Address: Via Bernardino Rota 1/3, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Meridiana 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel La Meridiana, located in a calm area right in the Sorrento city centre, offers a wonderful view of the Neapolitan gulf, from Capri to the Vesuvius. It is 5 minutes far from the bus and train station, walking, and 15 minutes from the port. Therefore, all the most visited sights can easily be reached: Capri, Pompei, Positano, Naples and Amalfi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Meridiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Meridiana Sorrento
La Meridiana Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing