We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love sorrento”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel La Meridiana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Meridiana
Ranked #60 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“love sorrento”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

we have just returned from a 2 week stay at this hotel we had a lovely room with a spacious balcony overlooking the lemon groves the staff were very friendly the dining room was light and clean looking and the meals in the evening were lovely we enjoyed every one and it was good you had a choice.we thought the breakfast was fine this is our 3rd visit to Sorrento as it is our favourite place but the first stay at this hotel we will use this hotel again in the future.

Room Tip: if possible book a room with a balcony overlooking the lemon groves if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanmorris735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roby90, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
We thank you so much for the precious time spent on commenting your stay with such an overwhelming review. We take pride to be your favourite hotel in Sorrento!
This makes us happy and let us continue to work with enthusiasm and satisfy all our customers.
I hope that you will be able to come back to our hotel in the near future so we can once again ensure you have a wonderful stay with us.
The Manager
Roberta Pizzella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    235
    80
    26
    19
See reviews for
88
318
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

stayed for 1 week that was enough the room we had was dark and unpleasent but clean ,,the evening meals were pretty good but if you sent anything back the cook would stand glaring at your table from the kitchen door,,,breakfast was very basic ,,,,the down stairs lounge is pathetic as is the bar ,,,,,,if you want air conditioning it will cost you 10 euro per day and is switched off by reception between 9am and 4pm ,,the room was clean as was the shower room , the shower had a mind of its own often down to a drip only coming out,,,the roof terrace has nice veiws when you can get outside as they seem to lock it out off use quite often ,,,staff in general are friendly and polite,,,I think 3 stars is pushing it a bit ,,i think holiday operaters should make people aware of extra costs up front as 70 euro for a/c and another 14 euro for so called sorrento tax is a joke ,,no pool but you can use next doors for another 20 euro a day

Room Tip: try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scooterandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roby90, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
We are truly sorry you did not enjoy your stay, but you reserved through a tour operator, and hence booked a room with window and not balcony. Standard rooms are, in any case, bright and spacious. We are glad to read you enjoyed evening meals, and are honestly surprised of your remark, as the restaurant back office is simply looking for the service to be as smooth as possible.
It is well specified in the brochure that air conditioning is an extra charge, and on arrival date we also clarify that it functions from 2 pm to 10 am of the following day, with temperature regulated according to outside weather conditions.
In addition, there is no mention of a pool in the hotel description, and we are also unaware of the possibility to use the one next door, which belongs to another hotel, for 20 euros.
We are also sorry that you were not able to exploit the roof terrace, but you have probably stayed at our hotel during the rainiest week of this summer, hence the terrace was closed for security reasons.
Finally, the 14 euro tourist tax is now mandatory by law almost anywhere in Italy and in some European Countries.
Best regards
The Manager
Roberta Pizzella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

just come back from a weeks stay at this hotel and the only good thing I can say about it is that it was clean ... we were in a room at side of hotel over looking lemon grove think very carefully if you want a quiet stay as they close the main streets off in the night and traffic is diverted past the hotel very noisy. Food very basic and air con is charged at 10 euros a night Sorrento is beautiful and will go back there but will not stay in this hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 125Brenda125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roby90, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Good evening. It seems surprising to us that you found the hotel noisy, as, if we are not mistaken, you were staying on the fourth floor. As the hotel enjoys such a central location, it is unlikely for it to be as quiet as expected by you.
Regarding the food, our hotel is a friendly family-owned, three-star facility, as specified on brochures, but always open to meeting customer requests, coherently with our target.
The Manager
Roberta Pizzella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

I have recently come back from a holiday in Sorrento staying at La Meridiana. It was categorised as 3 star by Thomson's holiday's but I thought it was better than other 3 stars I have been in. Our room was big as was the bathroom, there was a lift to all floors. I did not have tea and coffee facilities but it did not make that much of a difference. Our breakfast was continental as you would expect but lots on offer. We had half board which saved on eating out, we sat at the same table for our meals breakfast and evening meal, we were allocated our table by the head waiter Antonio who was very accommodating.

On arrival we had a warm welcome, the receptionist spoke excellent English in fact the majority of hotel staff including housekeeping spoke good understandable English. The hotel was very near the centre of the main town situated near the lemon grove gardens. I will go back to this hotel again but it;s worth mentioning that air-conditioning was an extra cost but it was needed even though it was 10 euros a night.. Truly I hope it's not to long beforeI can return there.

Room Tip: budget for air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roby90, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear Susan, thank you also on behalf of my Staff for your generous review.
Please let us know if you will consider coming this way in the near future, we will be overwhelmed to welcome you again!
Roberta Pizzella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sorrento, Italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

I would not rate this as a 3 star hotel , the rooms are very basic, and food is poor, not to mention you havs to order your evening meal while eating breakfast , air con is 10 euros per day , but you have no control of it , and the reception only put it on at night, hense a very hot room all day !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roby90, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us.
As we offer a choice of 4 main courses, and 4 second courses with sides, the choice of the evening menu is requested during breakfast in order to make the dinner service smoother.
As specified on brochures, and as typical for our hotel category, air conditioning is extra charge, and is on from 2 pm to 10 am. All rooms are refurbished with thermostate and switches to turn it on/off, and to change the temperature. If you have had any issues, you could have called our 24/7 reception and we would have been glad to help.
The Manager
Roberta Pizzella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

This was the third year we stayed at this lovely little hotel - and already looking to book next year! From the day you arrive till the moment you leave, the staff make every effort to make your stay a stress free one. Breakfast was buffet style and a good selection - toast, buns, boiled eggs, cereal etc and as much as you liked. If something was running out, Antonio would sort it for you. The rooms were spacious enough and very clean, lovely crisp clean linen and beautiful white fluffy towels in the bathroom. Air conditioning is a must depending on the time of year, in August it was needed! We had a room with a balcony with beautiful view of the Bay of Naples and the lemon grove . The evening meal has been reduced to three courses this year, much better as potions are a good size so four courses was a bit overwhelming. The meals are very good and tasty. We were given the menu each morning to select what we wanted in the evening. The location was really good too, near enough to walk to Tasso Square (on the level) but far enough away to be nice and quiet. Excellent value for money!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angiemat1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roby90, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear Angiemat1962,thank you to choose again our Hotel!
I am delighted to read your positive feedback following your stay with us. I am so happy to read your kind words about our Staff, Hotel location & facilities.
This makes us happy and makes us work with new energy to have more friends, as you, who return to us year after year.
I look forward to welcoming you again next year!
The Manager
Roberta Pizzella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Gwann, Malta
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed at La Meridiana for a week in the last week of August 2013. The room was clean and spacious and we had a sea view and a view of the Lemon grove which was great! The food was good and staff were very friendly and helpful during our stay. We have stayed in 3 star in Italy before and this is definitely at the top end of the 3 star range,for me it is I would say very close to a 4 star quality. All in all we had a lovely holiday and would recommend this Hotel because of the good service and excellent location.

Room Tip: There's no need to spend a lot of money on 4 and 5 star hotels when you can get all the best ser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EmmanuelCaruana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roby90, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
We thank you so much for the precious time spent on commenting your stay with such an overwhelming review.
This makes us happy and let us continue to work with enthusiasm and satisfy all our customers.
I hope that you will be able to come back to our hotel in the near future so we can once again ensure you have a wonderful stay with us.
The Manager
Roberta Pizzella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#54 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Britannia
Hotel Britannia
#53 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#56 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Carlton International Hotel
Carlton International Hotel
#57 of 100 in Sorrento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Girasole
Hotel Girasole
#61 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Meridiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Meridiana

Property: Hotel La Meridiana
Address: Via Bernardino Rota 1/3, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Meridiana 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel La Meridiana, located in a calm area right in the Sorrento city centre, offers a wonderful view of the Neapolitan gulf, from Capri to the Vesuvius. It is 5 minutes far from the bus and train station, walking, and 15 minutes from the port. Therefore, all the most visited sights can easily be reached: Capri, Pompei, Positano, Naples and Amalfi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Meridiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Meridiana Sorrento
La Meridiana Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing