We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel La Meridiana
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento(Sorrento)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rota Suites(Sorrento)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Grand Hotel Royal(Sorrento)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Capri(Sorrento)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Tourist(Sorrento)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Zi Teresa(Sorrento)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Nice(Sorrento)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori(Sorrento)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (593)
Filter reviews
593 results
Traveller rating
204
250
91
28
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
204
250
91
28
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslemon groveroof terraceevening mealtrain stationair conbasic hotelminute walkother guestsexcellent locationhalf boardnight portertown centrefloor roomtowels changed dailypiazza tassoboiled eggsfresh towels
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
210 - 215 of 593 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2014

he biggest selling point of this hotel is its location - only a few minutes' walk away from the town centre, the train station, bus stops and the marina, i.e. everything you need to explore the region! There is nothing flashy about the hotel itself, but everything is immaculately clean and tidy. The staff were always on hand and were very helpful and polite. Yes, the food wasn't 5*, but that's reflected in the price: there was always a good choice of menu options and all of our meals were pleasant. We stayed in a room towards the back of the hotel so whilst we didn't have a balcony or sea view, but we enjoyed the peace and quiet that came with its location! We'd definitely recommend staying here, particularly if you are just looking for a comfortable, affordable, well located base.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank originalleedslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roby90, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for such an overwelcoming review!
We look foward to welcoming you again in our Hotel next year!
The Manager
Roberta Pizzella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is a no frills hotel hence the 3star rating.
However it is very well located and only 10 minutes stroll to the town centre and bus/rail stations.
The rooms are adequate and very clean. We had no problems with hot water etc
Breakfast is the usual continental fayre but there was plenty of choice.
There was plenty of choices for evening meal and the food was generally very good.
Staff were all very pleasant and helpful plus they spoke excellent English.
There is no pool but the rooftop sun terrace was spacious and clean plus it afforded fabulous views over the Bay of Naples towards Vesuvious.
One thing to mention is that the hotel is used by school groups at certain times but while we there, the children were well behaved and I wouldn't let this put you off (unless you're one of those weird 'anti child' types).
Overall a good mid range hotel

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roby90, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for such an overwelcoming review!
We look foward to welcoming you again in our Hotel next year!
The Manager
Roberta Pizzella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

La Meridianna

Check in was quick and friendly. They took our passports to take copies and gave us our key. There are small safes in the room. These cost £10 plus a £50 deposit that is refunded when you leave. This has to ALL be in cash! So, be prepared for £60 cash up front.

The room was basic but very clean. There is lots of room for clothes, a small tv and a small bathroom with a shower. The room was in very good repair. The beds were a bit small and not as comfortable as ours back home. But, it did the job.

The breakfast was very basic with a couple of cereals, bread, pastries, cheese, meat, boiled eggs and cakes. There was also juice and coffee. But, it was enough to get the morning started and couldn't complain.

You decide on your evening meal by making your selections in the morning. The menu has about 5 anti-pastas and 5 mains along with 2 desserts. All the food was very fresh and very good. There were no complaints.

The location is very good and is only a short walk into the main area of Sorrento.

Overall, this hotel is a good, clean 3 star that provides a good base for touring the area. The staff are friendly and helpful.

Top tips:

1- We chose the hotel for the roof top terrace. My daydreams of this holiday were of mornings touring and afternoons sitting on the terrace having tapas, wine, reading and soaking in the sun. This was exactly what we did. After a morning of touring we would go to the local grocery store, buy some meats, cheese, bread and a bottle of wine and relax on the terrace. Beautiful views with amazing sunshine! Bring a wine bottle opener and some plastic wine glasses. You won't regret it!

2- Wi-fi- I tried to find out about it before we left with no luck. (We were some of the first guests of the season.) You get the first hour free and 2 Euros for each hour there after or 10 euros for 24 hours. It took a few days before we found out. The wifi is only in the lobby and it is slow. But, if you are just wanting to download emails to keep in touch with family, it will do. I don't think it is fast enough for facetime or skype.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank ukusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roby90, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for such an overwelcoming review!
We look foward to welcoming you again in our Hotel next year!
The Manager
Roberta Pizzella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We travelled with Thomson, on a late deal, so really couldn't find fault the value for money this hotel provided. The location is excellent, in a quiet residential area, but only 10 minutes walk from the main square and another 5 minutes to the old town. The food was fine at breakfast, typically Italian, so not no big cooked breakfasts. The evening meals were pretty good, ample choice, with the pasta dishes being the best part of the meal.
The roof terrace was a lovely place to relax in the afternoon sun, and enjoy a glass of wine whilst watching the sun go down.
We can only endorse what others have said about the cleanliness of the hotel and the friendliness and helpfulness of all of the staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank DurhamSpartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roby90, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

We thank you so much for the precious time spent on commenting your stay with such an overwhelming review.
I hope that you will be able to come back to our hotel in the near future so we can once again ensure you have a wonderful stay with us.
The Manager
Roberta Pizzella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

After reading the wonderful reviews on the La Meridiana I was so looking forward to our holiday. I would first of all like to praise the staff as they were so helpful and always pleasant.
The food was not so good, and I would go as far to say the breakfasts were dreadful. One morning we came down to black croissants! I felt that the Hotel was winding down (it was the last week) and the chef was using up the old food. It was also no good having a lie in as the food at breakfast would be gone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jilljammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roby90, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Good morning and thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. Our staff is glad to read your positive comments. As the food is concerned, we can assure that, despite being in the last week of activity before closing, the food quality and standard were as high and monitored as they are always: if you found "black" croissants on one occasion, it was not because of food quality, but possibly for an issue with the oven, as croissants are freshly made every morning. In any case, if complaints had been presented, the maitre would have been glad to accommodate them as much as possible.
We hope to accommodate you again and wish you a pleasant day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews