We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel”
Review of Hotel La Meridiana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Meridiana
Ranked #62 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2008

La Meridiana is about a 5 minute walk from the main street which takes you to Tasso square, the centre of the town. To walk to Tasso takes about 15 minutes. The hotel was very good value.
The staff were superb, the rooms perfectly adequate although the shower cabinet was small. We were on half board, and dinner was so good that we only ate out twice in 14 days. Air Con is provided as an extra at 10 euros per day, and is essential in the heat of even late August, early Sept. There is a nearby hotel which has a pool, but we did not use it. Our room was West facing, and the balcony was too hot to sit out in until after dinner. There is a lift. If we went again, and you need to have two weeks to see everything and have some rest in between, I would compare prices of hotels which more central, but from what I saw, they would all be more expensive. The Bus Station, and Train Station are on the way to Tasso, and the Port is also there.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyScottishBorders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roby90, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2008

Thank you for your kindest attention!
We look forward to seeing you soon in near future!!

HOTEL LA MERIDIANA
The Manager
Roberta Pizzella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (572)
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Meridiana
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 572 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2008

We stayed here 05-08 October 2008 having booked a late deal through lastminute.com and had a great stay.

The hotel is about five minutes walk away from the train station and is situated in a quiet location next to a lemon grove. Check In was simple and dealt with efficiently.

Our room was on the third floor and was of a good size. There was good wardrobe/drawer space and the room was cleaned on a daily basis. We had a double bed which was one of the comfiest hotel beds I've ever slept in!

There is a TV in the room along with a safe which you pay a deposit for to use. The bathroom was a decent size and the shower was very good.

We were on a B&B rate and the breakfast was a good continental buffet, with a decent selection of meat, cheese, rolls etc

Our room did not have a balcony but I understand that there are some rooms that do, I've attached a picture of the view from our room.

All the staff that we came into contact with were friendly and professional.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattfromLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roby90, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2008

Thank you for your kindest attention!
We look forward to seeing you soon in near future!!

HOTEL LA MERIDIANA
The Manager
Roberta Pizzella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2008

I stayed in this hotel with my Husband for our belated honeymoon on the recommendation of my parents! They had stayed there a couple of years previously and had found it really nice.

Our room was clean and confortable, with a balcony that looked over the citrus grove opposite. Lovely powerful shower and always had hot water available. It's in a really good location being just a 5 minute walk from the town centre. The staff were really helpful and friendly which is always nice in a strange country!

Our flight home was 11 in the morning which meant our pick up to the airport was 7am, the same time as breakfast started, but we managed to arrange with them to open the breakfast room 30 minutes early so we could all eat before we left for the airport which we were very grateful for!

We were so pleased with the hotel that we have booked today to go back to it again in May next year, along with my parents.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CazziP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roby90, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2008

Thank you for your kindest attention!
We look forward to seeing you soon in near future!!

HOTEL LA MERIDIANA
The Manager
Roberta Pizzella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2008

Excellent hotel right next to a lemon grove and 500 yards from buses and Circumvesuviana. Rosalba and Lucia were extremely helpful on reception and had our room with balcony ready around 1:30, a few hours before normal checkin.
Balcony overlooked sea, and Vesuvius, priceless vista.
Room was large for Europe and comfortable with good bathroom, and shower, but a small musty "drain" odor arising occasionally. In wall safe for 50 euro refundable with key.
Rosalba set up a private car for the return to Naples Centrale station for 75 euro, not cheap but a lot more comfortable in an a/c Merecedes than lugging bags down to the Circumvesuviana and on and off trai or bus, or the other solution of 2 taxis and hydrofoil.
Good hair dryer in bathroom. No mini-bar or courtesy bottled water or any way to make coffee/tea in room, but coffee available at reception at bar. Breakfasts included were good European style with fruit, croissants, pastries, coffee and OJ.
Friendly hotel, walkable to everywhere in Sorrento with ease and on the flat, apart from down to Marina Piccolo to hydrofoil to Capri.
Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roby90, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2008

Thank you for your kindest attention!
We look forward to seeing you soon in near future!!

HOTEL LA MERIDIANA
The Manager
Roberta Pizzella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2008

We stayed here for 1 week half board in July. Overall, the hotel was very nice, great location, the rooms were basic but clean and we had a fab view over sorrento. The food was also good, you had a choice for your evening meal (1 vegetarian) which was 3 courses. Breakfast was limited to toast, meats, fruit and yogurts but was adequate. We did eat out most nights despite having half board because there loads of nice restaurants and it was one of the main things to do of an evening.

Sorrento itself is a great place, lots to see and do. We visited Pompeii and Vesuvius in 1 day, capri, amalfi, and stayed in positano for 1 night which i would thoroughly recommend. The hotel is a 5 min walk from the bus and train station. We got the local buses to positano, ravello and amalfi which were good value and had the most amazing scenery along the way.

I would definately recommend this hotel for a great location, great price and its comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sara235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roby90, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2008

Thank you for your kindest attention!
We look forward to seeing you soon in near future!!

HOTEL LA MERIDIANA
The Manager
Roberta Pizzella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2008

Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.Although I didn't have a balcony,the room I had was very clean ,lovely spacious bathroom, and towels were changed every day.The hotel was quite central, with just a few minutes walk to the bus and train station.I was half board......Breakfast and evening meal, had a good choice of meals,which were very appetising.Would be happy to stay there again and would highly recommend this hotel while staying in Sorrento.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joyce259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roby90, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2008

Thank you again for your kindest attention!
We look forward to seeing you soon in near future!!

HOTEL LA MERIDIANA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2008

What a great hotel with great staff. From arriving late on the Friday evening to leaving the following week the staff were brilliant. They had saved a meal for us on the first night and the food and waiter service throughout our stay was first class. The room was great, really clean and airy and we had a great view of the bay. The rooftop was a great place to chill out with hardly anyone else using it. The hotel is located very centrally with only a 5 minute walk to bars and restuarants and the beach is a 15 minute walk away. Overall a great hotel and holiday and I would definitley return.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Sharkyparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roby90, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2008

Thank you again for your kindest attention!
We look forward to seeing you soon in near future!!

HOTEL LA MERIDIANA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
476 reviews
0.6 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#41 of 100 in Sorrento
1,117 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Leone
Hotel Leone
#61 of 100 in Sorrento
384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#54 of 100 in Sorrento
430 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Meridiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Meridiana

Address: Via Bernardino Rota 1/3, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £81 - £425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Meridiana 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel La Meridiana, located in a calm area right in the Sorrento city centre, offers a wonderful view of the Neapolitan gulf, from Capri to the Vesuvius. It is 5 minutes far from the bus and train station, walking, and 15 minutes from the port. Therefore, all the most visited sights can easily be reached: Capri, Pompei, Positano, Naples and Amalfi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Meridiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Meridiana Sorrento
La Meridiana Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing