We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, although clean and well located.”
Review of Hotel La Meridiana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Meridiana
Ranked #61 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced, although clean and well located.”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The hotel location is good, it includes parking slots and the rooms are very clean. Staff was really nice although it surprised me that they give you the same price using booking or when you deal with them directly.
The decoration is really old fashioned, toiletries are not great, there is just 1 hour free wifi, which can be accessed neither from the room nor from the dining area.
Overall, I think it is overpriced, in these times I would expect them to invest in decor and in free wifi accessible from the rooms if they want to continue charging 100-ish euros per night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianitaDinamita13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roby90, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,
we are very glad to receive your compliment about the cleaness of the room and the courtesy of the staff.
Regarding the prices, for propriety towards to the other guests, we made the same price for all.
As for the wi fi, we don't think that in other hotels you can find the free wi fi out of the first half hour or the first hour. Anyway, we are planning to transfer the signal also in the rooms.
Despite that, we hope to host you again at the hotel in order that you can use the wi fi in your room.
Best Regards
The Manager
Roberta Pizzella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    240
    85
    27
    19
See reviews for
90
333
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We returned in May after visiting last September and were again impressed with its location, friendly staff, lovely views and comfortable rooms. Within a short walk from Piazza Tasso it is ideal to explore Sorrento and the surrounding areas. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roby90, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear guest,
reading a comment like yours is allways very rewarding. We have been so happy to host you again and we hope to meet you in a near future.
Best regards
The Manager
Roberta Pizzella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Ok, let's deal with the plus points, few as they are. The location's great and the hotel is very clean.
Downside? The decor and furnishings are stuck in the 80s. Think pre-IKEA, flat pack MFI tack in drab brown and you're there. Charges are made for everything...and what charges! 30 euros for a later check out, when the hotel's virtually empty.... 5 euros a day for air conditioning which operates sporadically rather than on demand. Our room had the tiniest, oldest tv with a taped up remote control (which staff had to nick from another room!), half a dozen channels, two of which had "Weak signals" so that reception was dreadful. And terrestrial channels only in the room, in a time of Wimbledon and the World Cup! A 2 euro per day charge for extremely shaky wifi only available in Reception. No fridge in 90 degree plus temperatures... Food was mediocre at best. Meridiana is a hotel where absolutely no expense has been spent on customer satisfaction. One to most definitely avoid....

Room Tip: Best advice? Choose another hotel.... if you have to go, choose a sea view with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BruceN1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roby90, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear guest,
we are really sorry you were not satisfied of your stay. It’s customary for us not to sell what we don’t have. You probably booked through Thomson and in their brochures it’s specified that our hotel is a 3 stars one family run and that all kind of facilities such as Internet WI-FI, air conditioning and late check-out are not included in the price. You had a booking with a standard room at a base price. Rooms with balcony are superior rooms that Thomson sell with a supplement on request. Regarding the late check-out , the price that the reception asked you is the same you would have paid through TUI company and it wouldn’t have been correct towards other guests to apply a discount.
Hoping to have been thorough, we suggest you in a near future to fully understand your arrangement, in order to be satisfied with it.
We thank you for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Returned yesterday after spending a beautiful week in Sorrento, made even more enjoyable by staying in this small but very friendly hotel. All the staff, the cleaners, the reception staff,Antonio the restaurant manager and the other restaurant staff could not do enough to make our stay more pleasant. Sharing our table in the restaurant with other guests was not a problem and in fact all the guests seemed to join in with the ambience of the hotel. The highlight was the entertainment evening when all the staff pulled out the stops and all the guests had a great time. The food was good with delicious cakes, pity they didn't do afternoon tea to sample those you didn't choose at dinner. Wine was local. The rooms were spotless,air conditioning we paid for extra but not a problem. We had beautiful views of the sea and the lemon grove. The sun terrace could have done with some shady area but it did get breezy up there so maybe the awning could have taken off if it was up. I would definitely stay here again, close to the main square to walk to but quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony we were on the 4th floor and had excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cath N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roby90, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Good evening from Hotel La Meridiana,
we are very glad to receive such a great review.
we thank you for the your compliments; we extended them to all the staff.
We hope to host you soon in our structure in a nearly future.
Best regards
Roberta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, Shropshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Myself and my husband have just come back from a week at La Meridiana hotel in Sorrento. It was our third visit to Sorrento, but we had not stayed here before. We really cannot recommend this place enough. We had a thoroughly enjoyable holiday. It is quite a plain hotel in terms of décor, there is no pool (although there is a roof top sun terrace with fabulous views) and no garden but if you don't mind that (and we didn't), then stay here because you won't be disappointed. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful (our particular thanks go to Carolina on reception) and also Antonio the restaurant manager, who is great! The whole hotel is spotlessly clean, the beds are very comfortable and were made to within an inch of their lives every morning! The food is fantastic with some good traditional Italian dishes. Being vegetarian I was particularly pleased to see that there were up to 3 veggie starters each night - only one main vegetarian course, but everything I had, I loved, and I am sure they would have accommodated any other suggestions I might have put forward if I'd wanted something different. The desserts were wonderful too! Breakfast is simple but we only like a small continental type breakfast anyway, so it was ample for us.

Location wise it was the best hotel we've stayed at in Sorrento (actually it was the best all round, even including one that was supposedly 4*). A gentle amble through the lemon grove opposite (a couple of minutes) brings you right out on the main street (Corsa Italia) and from there it's only a short walk to the centre. You are also only a few hundred yards from the entrance to the railway/bus station which was just perfect.

The hotel itself is down a side street off the Corsa Italia, which can be quite noisy, but it's positioning means there is very little noise and the provision of shutters on the windows means you get a nice quiet night's sleep.

Just one thing, the air conditioning only gets switched on from 15 June onwards but Thomsons neglected to mention that you have to "pay" for this facility! We didn't have a problem with that (it's not expensive), but we did think Thomsons might have mentioned it somewhere. It wasn't the hotel's fault we hadn't been informed.

Altogether, if you want a 4* experience in terms of food and comfort (not to mention friendliness) at 3* prices, then stay here.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 3rd floor with a balcony and fantastic views of the sea, lemon groves and Vesuv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sorrell7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roby90, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Good afternoon from Hotel La Meridiana!
We are very glad to receive such a great review about the staff and the services that we offer and we extended your compliment to Antonio and Carolina.
We are very happy that you had a good experience with us.
We hope to host you soon in a nearly future.
Best regards
Roberta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We booked this hotel at the tourist office. I thought it was a "Meridien" brand hotel. My mistake. Our room was clean but dated. It had a lovely view over the lemon orchard. Bonus was the staff, very nice and helpful. Also great position, walking distance to town and the seaside. I would recommend this hotel to someone who wants a basic, clean place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssshelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roby90, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Good afternoon from Hotel La Meridiana,
we are really sorry about this misunderstanding about the brand you thought we were, but "La Meridiana" is the proper name of our hotel with its own significance and history. At the same time we thank you for your positive comment about our structure and we are very glad about the opinion of the staff and we hope to see you again in a next journey here in Sorrento. Best Regards
Roberta
Hotel La Meridiana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Two couples, not have been to Sorrento before. we picked this hotel, because it was not very
far from anywhere. What a great pick, we only had a few minutes to walk to the square, which was very nice and very busy. Hotel staff were very good and nothing was to much. any problem
was done without any trouble. Food at breakfast was a good choice, but pity we had the same.
everyday. Evening meal we had a 3 course meal, very good. but the 1st course was very big,
but it went down well.. while we were there we went on the HOP ON BUS to AMALFI, which stopped off at POSITANO, we had two hours their and it was great, but the steps done where very steep, but when you reached the beach, it was lovely. Back on the bus to Amalfi, the road around the mountain was very breath taking, We arrived to a lovely place, and went up the side
streets to some great shops, and bars. The whole day was very good, well worth it.
We went with Thomas holidays. Their walk about tour after the meeting. was brill, so very different to all the others we have done.. We are looking forward to going again.

Just one moan, PACK LUNCH, We had a very early flight, so we asked for Pack meal to take with us, as we have already paid for that days breakfast, Well we received for two of us 4 slices of cake plus 2 pots of jam, no drink, no fruite or a roll. which we was very disappointed with.

Room Tip: we paid extra for a balcony. well worth it, we were on the 3rd floor over looking the garden centre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 627sarah1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roby90, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for such a positive comment. We are really sorry for this small inconvenience but we normally provide to prepare a packet breakfast for Thomson's clients that have a pick up in the morning really early and before the opening time of the restaurant, so it is just a little meal to prevent you being without food for many hours.
We hope to host you soon in our hotel.
Best Regards
Hotel La Meridiana
Roberta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#53 of 100 in Sorrento
389 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Britannia
Hotel Britannia
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
120 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#44 of 100 in Sorrento
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
1,346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#57 of 100 in Sorrento
668 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Leone
Hotel Leone
#62 of 100 in Sorrento
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Meridiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Meridiana

Property: Hotel La Meridiana
Address: Via Bernardino Rota 1/3, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Meridiana 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel La Meridiana, located in a calm area right in the Sorrento city centre, offers a wonderful view of the Neapolitan gulf, from Capri to the Vesuvius. It is 5 minutes far from the bus and train station, walking, and 15 minutes from the port. Therefore, all the most visited sights can easily be reached: Capri, Pompei, Positano, Naples and Amalfi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Meridiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Meridiana Sorrento
La Meridiana Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing