We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Fab Location”
Review of Hotel La Meridiana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Meridiana
Ranked #56 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed here in early July for one week. It was a very pleasant & smaller than expected hotel. The room was clean and bright, We had a nice large balcony over looking the lemon grove & sea, only thing the room lacked was a kettle & fridge. All hotel staff we met were happy & friendly. The meals were very nice & quite large. Breakfast had a large choice & Twinnings breakfast tea. Evening dinner was great and always something to suite a veggie too, the starters are massive the main a little smaller and by dessert you are stuffed. 1st time I have stayed half board, many of the meal prices in Sorrento are quite high & have hidden service charges so I felt we got really good value for money here. The hotel is ideal for exploring the area from due to its location, the railway & bus station is just a 5 min walk where you can get cheaply to Pompeii, Herculanum, Vesuvius, Positano etc.. The town is a short walk down the street or throughout the lemon groves, there is plenty to see, do and keep yourselves busy, The beach (free public beach) is about 10-15 mins walk & very pleasant. I would defiantly stay again & recommend to someone wanting a nice clean & value for money hotel within easy reach of all the attractions in the area.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a balcony as the view is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MiffysAdvenutres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roby90, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear guest,
Good afternoon and thank you for your review. I will extend your congratulations to my staff, their goal is to make your stay enjoyable being fulling available to you.
Looking forward to receive your visit again, we send you our best regards.
The Manager
Roberta Pizzella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 589 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

Myself, husband and 2 teenage daughters stayed for 1 week in July at La Meridiana, Sorrento. We had an excellent time, the hotel was clean and rooms serviced every day. There were several choices on the menu for evening meal and also catered for vegetarians. The one night in which there was a 4 course meal but mainly fish (which wasn't suitable for my veggie daughter) the hotel tailored her menu for her, not many would do this. Breakfast was continental, croissants, pastries etc but also included cereal and fresh fruit and yogurt.
My thanks to the hotel staff who were very helpful. Was there a downside to this hotel, yes only that we wished we had been there for 2 weeks instead of one.
Close to Sorrento town, nice steady walk through the lemon groves about 10 minutes. No swimming pool but this is not a problem as you can use next doors at a small cost or go to the beach. We decided the money saved by not having a hotel with a swimming pool would fund our excursions to Versuvius, Pompei and Capri. What more can I say, Great holiday. Jayne and Andy

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JayneAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roby90, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear guest,
what a pleasure to read a good review like yours, thank you so much. Our chef prepares accurately every day different menu with vegetarian meals too, stretching from delicious soups to meat and fish courses. In the matter of the cleaniness, this is another our priority.
We hope to host you again soon for more than a simply week!
The Manager
Roberta Pizzella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This was our first stay in this hotel. We are a couple in our 40's with a teenager. We read the mixed reviews on here and what swung it for us was it's central location and good food reviews. The hotel is very clean; with good quality bedding changed every other day and towels changed daily. The menu catered for all tastes; including vegetarian and was varied. Breakfast was continental style. All the staff were extremely pleasant, friendly and helpful; nothing was too much trouble. There are extra charges for aircon, wifi etc - but only if you want them. The decor may look slightly dated, but nothing is damaged or defaced and the hotel is well maintained. We were out and about each day sightseeing via local transport and found this hotel an ideal base to get to the bus/train station (10mins walk). e.g. 30min train to Pompeii 3.30euros; 11euros admission - free for under 18's from EU - better value than rates offered by travel company at 85euros each! To sum up - an excellent hotel, centrally located with good food, good standard, good price. We would certainly recommend it and would certainly return again.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room (emailed the hotel directly) and they obliged.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerbySteve67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roby90, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear DerbySteve67,
our most important objective, as in your special comment appairs, is to satisfy our guests and their requests. Public transports, from the train station, to the bus and jetfoils services are really near to our hotel, so you can move with ease from our structure.
We hope that you will be able to come back to our hotel in the near future so we can once again ensure you have a wonderful stay with us.
The Manager
Roberta Pizzella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

just returned from a week in the meridiana and really cannot understand the negative reveiw.. it is in a great location with beautiful veiws across the sea. well worth paying extra for balcony and maybe requesting a higher floor but all veiws good. the staff are very friendly and helpful. yes maybe it is a little dated but hey you don't spend much time in the room and they are spotless. all the staff work very hard and will accomodate any request if possible. a fridge would be nice and also tea and coffee facilities but that is a small concern. overall a lovely town and the hotel is a great place for 3 star at good price. food is good but beware the portion sizes! starters can be big. but better than not enough!

Room Tip: high floor with balcony overlooking garden centre as these have sea views and look to vesuvius
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 671pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roby90, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Good afternoon dear guest,
firstly thank you for your positive comment on our hotel and our staff. It's our priority to satisfy all our clients' requests in order to make their stay overjoyed.
We look forward to welcoming you again next year!
The Manager
Roberta Pizzella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The hotel location is good, it includes parking slots and the rooms are very clean. Staff was really nice although it surprised me that they give you the same price using booking or when you deal with them directly.
The decoration is really old fashioned, toiletries are not great, there is just 1 hour free wifi, which can be accessed neither from the room nor from the dining area.
Overall, I think it is overpriced, in these times I would expect them to invest in decor and in free wifi accessible from the rooms if they want to continue charging 100-ish euros per night.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianitaDinamita13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roby90, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Guest,
we are very glad to receive your compliment about the cleaness of the room and the courtesy of the staff.
Regarding the prices, for propriety towards to the other guests, we made the same price for all.
As for the wi fi, we don't think that in other hotels you can find the free wi fi out of the first half hour or the first hour. Anyway, we are planning to transfer the signal also in the rooms.
Despite that, we hope to host you again at the hotel in order that you can use the wi fi in your room.
Best Regards
The Manager
Roberta Pizzella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We returned in May after visiting last September and were again impressed with its location, friendly staff, lovely views and comfortable rooms. Within a short walk from Piazza Tasso it is ideal to explore Sorrento and the surrounding areas. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roby90, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear guest,
reading a comment like yours is allways very rewarding. We have been so happy to host you again and we hope to meet you in a near future.
Best regards
The Manager
Roberta Pizzella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Ok, let's deal with the plus points, few as they are. The location's great and the hotel is very clean.
Downside? The decor and furnishings are stuck in the 80s. Think pre-IKEA, flat pack MFI tack in drab brown and you're there. Charges are made for everything...and what charges! 30 euros for a later check out, when the hotel's virtually empty.... 5 euros a day for air conditioning which operates sporadically rather than on demand. Our room had the tiniest, oldest tv with a taped up remote control (which staff had to nick from another room!), half a dozen channels, two of which had "Weak signals" so that reception was dreadful. And terrestrial channels only in the room, in a time of Wimbledon and the World Cup! A 2 euro per day charge for extremely shaky wifi only available in Reception. No fridge in 90 degree plus temperatures... Food was mediocre at best. Meridiana is a hotel where absolutely no expense has been spent on customer satisfaction. One to most definitely avoid....

Room Tip: Best advice? Choose another hotel.... if you have to go, choose a sea view with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank BruceN1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roby90, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear guest,
we are really sorry you were not satisfied of your stay. It’s customary for us not to sell what we don’t have. You probably booked through Thomson and in their brochures it’s specified that our hotel is a 3 stars one family run and that all kind of facilities such as Internet WI-FI, air conditioning and late check-out are not included in the price. You had a booking with a standard room at a base price. Rooms with balcony are superior rooms that Thomson sell with a supplement on request. Regarding the late check-out , the price that the reception asked you is the same you would have paid through TUI company and it wouldn’t have been correct towards other guests to apply a discount.
Hoping to have been thorough, we suggest you in a near future to fully understand your arrangement, in order to be satisfied with it.
We thank you for your comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#70 of 100 in Sorrento
726 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#46 of 100 in Sorrento
485 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#68 of 100 in Sorrento
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
785 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
509 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Britannia
Hotel Britannia
#40 of 100 in Sorrento
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Meridiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Meridiana

Address: Via Bernardino Rota 1/3, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £100 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Meridiana 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel La Meridiana, located in a calm area right in the Sorrento city centre, offers a wonderful view of the Neapolitan gulf, from Capri to the Vesuvius. It is 5 minutes far from the bus and train station, walking, and 15 minutes from the port. Therefore, all the most visited sights can easily be reached: Capri, Pompei, Positano, Naples and Amalfi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel La Meridiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Meridiana Sorrento
La Meridiana Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing