We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Hotel Tourist

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Tourist
Ranked #82 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I returned from Sorrento yesterday where we had been booked into Hotel Tourist by Thomas Cook
I had simply expected greater comfort than the hard beds and modest space that our twin room afforded and much more peace at night than the front facing situation allowed. The traffic is non-stop and loud and even with ear plugs sleep was difficult and never uninterrupted. I felt jaded
and so facing the rigours of a holiday in high temperatures was very challenging. The pool was a welcome bonus but closed very early at 6pm. The standard of cleanliness throughout was very high and the staff were generally pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was varied and the buffet was plentiful. The evening meal was adequate and good value, costed by the hotel at eu15.00, for 3 courses, but not an exciting aspect of the holiday. Even though situated conveniently for getting to the centre (0.75km) and transport stations, a hotel does not do its job if you can't rest, relax or sleep. Travel agents should not offer it to package-travellers and guests should be wary of Hotel Tourist if they want or need to rest during their stay in hectic Sorrento.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Glynis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    153
    106
    52
    30
See reviews for
77
171
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

It was a pleasure to stay at this small family hotel. Clean and comfortable with friendly helpful staff and a nice pool to return to at the end of a day's sightseeing, it was centrally situated making it easy to use local trains and buses for sightseeing and only a short walk into the town square and old town for eating out at night. What it lacked in wow factor it made up for with character!

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony at the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EdinburghMissJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Good location and lovely pool area. Air conditioning was never turned down low enough, we were told the wrong times for breakfast. Lovely day by the pool was spoilt by a large group of school children! Staff were nice though - with varying levels in English.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank johnsonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

A great base camp for getting into the heart of Sorrento, the food very dull i usually only turned up for breakfast after a day or so.
Staff were ok and the place was clean, would i stop again, for a night maybe its very much about location with this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Breakfasts are ok and the hotel is really economy class but the chefs rendition of UK meals is atrocious. His Italian cooking is wonderful but the simple meals we have here were diabolical.
At 57 I was one of the youngest in the group but the wife and I were the only people to complain even though the rest of the travel group agreed we were justified. It culminated in us getting up mid service and walking out. We ate out for the rest of the week. Left no tips other than get a new chef.
When a plate of chips and leather meat came to my table I asked why the was so much oil splashing around on the plate. I was told it was condiment.. Condiment.. Sorry but thats not right in my book. Mash was a hard cased lump as it had been sat in a oven keeping warm and skinned over. Vegetables were inedible. But amazingly the Italian food we were served prior to this was outstanding, Very strange. Lovely cheap Hotel but food crap.. Also ask for a quiet room at the back on internet NOT when you get there. We did just that and GOT a quiet room the ones in our group who didn't got rooms overlooking the noisy 24hr streets.
Pool small but adequate. Location to town is the hotels main feature.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel by internet well before you travel and ask for a high room at the back. If not you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 53Piggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sorrento hotels

Abergele, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012 via mobile

So it's not the Ritz but it's a good base and a great central location for Sorrento.
Food was ok and staff very friendly.
You get what you pay for at the end of the day and this is a lower end hotel but it serves it's purpose if you want to visit beautiful Sorrento

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fairandsquare07862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

This place is situated at a corner location on a busy street connecting Sorrento to Naples. It is a very nice place with a variety of rooms and a pool. There is not free WiFi internet access but one can buy the access by paying online. The rooms on the front are facing the sea and have a good view. The breakfast served is excellent and has many varieties to choose form. Be advised that there is a railway line passing net to this place, but not much disturbance.

Room Tip: Ask for the room that are facing the sea or the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chakravarthy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#56 of 100 in Sorrento
645 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Maria
Hotel Villa Maria
#71 of 100 in Sorrento
625 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#46 of 100 in Sorrento
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#53 of 100 in Sorrento
366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Meridiana
Hotel La Meridiana
#60 of 100 in Sorrento
554 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#81 of 100 in Sorrento
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tourist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tourist

Property: Hotel Tourist
Address: Corso Italia n. 315, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tourist 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cosy 3-star hotel in Sorrento, the Hotel Tourist is located along the main street of Torquato Tasso's hometown near the old town centre, the station and the tourist port. Its privileged location makes it a very good starting point to visit the historical, architectural and natural beauties of Sorrento, to do some shopping in the characteristic shops of the old town centre but also to visit Sorrento Coast, Amalfi Coast, Capri, Naples, Pompeii and Herculaneum. The 40 rooms of the Hotel, displaced on 5 floors supplied by a lift, are furnished with taste and elegance: large and well-lit, they are equipped with any modern comfort to meet the needs of any kind of guest. The hotel has a well-equippedsolarium, situated on the sixth floor, from where it is possible to admire a wonderful view.Guests can also enjoy a very good restaurant and a large swimming poolimmersed into a typical Sorrento citrus garden. The hotel is the ideal location for all those who are looking for a relaxing stay and an intimate and cosy setting where to live the magical atmosphere of Sorrento. Guests will be welcomed by a skilled and dynamic staff that, besides their helpfulness, looks after bookings of excursions and walks round Sorrento: trips to Capri, Ischia and Procida, but also cultural itineraries to Naples, Pompeii and Herculaneum. For all those who want to book a stay in Sorrento, the Hotel offers a rich section ofSpecial Offers, Last Minute and low cost promotions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Tourist reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tourist Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing