We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base”
Review of Hotel Tourist

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tourist
Ranked #78 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed 17 October 2012

A perfect place for all our trips. Easy access to the train station and coaches which are cheap.. The staff are friendly and helpful,one was a bit Basil Fawlty though, and the rooms clean. Our balcony overlooked a very busy junction.If no railing we could have stepped straight onto the coaches that went past!! I was poised with camera to catch an accident.( It didn't happen.) We only ate breakfast as so many lovely places to eat in town.Good value hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Tourist
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2012

the hotel was a good 10 to 15 mins walk from the Piazza Tasso along a very busy road. the hotel was clean and the room was a decent size but the bed was rock hard. the meals were so-so but the attitude of the staff was terrible the only person that I saw smile was the cleaner.
I certainly would not go back there.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back to get away from the traffic noise
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lainnieA13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

My husband and i have just returned from holiday and have to say we really enjoyed our stay. The staff were very friendly apart from one waiter who had a bit of an attitude. The breakfast buffet was very varied and plenty of choice for continental breakfast. Dinner was mainly good for 3 star hotel. The room was clean and comfortable with small balcony and lovely hot shower in good sized bathroom. we flew with Thomas Cook holidays and Richard Carson and his team were extremely helpful in a difficult situation when i fell in the street and broke my arm. He managed to help us get our luggage to station as we had to miss transfer coach as i was still in hospital when coach left. He also got us extra help at the airport so that we did not miss our flight.

Room Tip: rooms at the back overlooking the pool a lot quieter due to main road traffic.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 504167Christine_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Fair price for the location, 5 min walk from the main square of sorrento, train station and bus stations. Around 10-15 min walk from marina. Hotel staff were friendly and helpfull. The breakfast was good, large varity of continental breakfast which you can eat till your hearts content. Very very clean and comfortable, sun on pool for most of the day, although quite small. The extra payment for a balconey is a little steep but if your a smoker, its well worth it! So Its not spectacularrrr but if your not planning on spending lots of time in there as you want to be out and about it is an overall nice 3 star stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Booked this hotel as I had read the previous reviews saying that it is a great base hotel for visiting the various tourist sites etc, which it is. The location is also fantastic. However, the rooms were very basic and had a stong smell of damp.

More importantly though, the staff (one in particular) was extremely rude to us. My friends and I had booked in for 6 nights, but decided on day of check-in that we wanted to leave 2 days early (thereby providing 4 days cancellation notice which was well within our booking policy). We spoke to reception about this and after having been passed to a number of different people (as none of them "claimed" to speak English), we ended up speaking to their so-called manager. He didn't even give us the chance to raise our query with him before threatening to call the police. His solution was to threaten and continuously talk over us getting louder and louder.

Therefore, if you do book here, just be warned that the hotel is completely infelxible and expect a very low level of customer service...

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank London1675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Yes this is a budget hotel. However, it was clean, tidy, friendly staff who had sufficient english. It is on the main road through Sorrento but decide what temprature you want your room, and tell reception as for some reason the air con is controlled from there. Then shut the windows to keep out the traffic. Shower worked well, bed was comfortable. Very easy to get to the town, railway and bus station. Dinners were good, a choice of three dishes on the three courses. Breakfasts were a feast! have as much as you could eat.

Over all, a really nice hotel at the top end of the three star range. Would stay there again

Room Tip: Ask for a fifth floor room...quieter.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Positives: Good location, nice balcony looking over the main drag with small pool to the rear

Negatives: Dated rooms, no fridge, poor breakfast, poor coffee, not tea making facilities, charged a whopping 3 Euros for 30 mins of Internet, the pool waiter constantly overcharged hotel guests for food and drinks.

Would I go back?; no! Idon't like the feeling of being conned by the reception staff and that pool waiter!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter_MacPherson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Maria
Hotel Villa Maria
#74 of 100 in Sorrento
658 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#60 of 100 in Sorrento
699 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#54 of 100 in Sorrento
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Meridiana
Hotel La Meridiana
#62 of 100 in Sorrento
573 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
1,368 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel il Faro
Hotel il Faro
#86 of 100 in Sorrento
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tourist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tourist

Address: Corso Italia n. 315, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range: £72 - £615 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tourist 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cosy 3-star hotel in Sorrento, the Hotel Tourist is located along the main street of Torquato Tasso's hometown near the old town centre, the station and the tourist port. Its privileged location makes it a very good starting point to visit the historical, architectural and natural beauties of Sorrento, to do some shopping in the characteristic shops of the old town centre but also to visit Sorrento Coast, Amalfi Coast, Capri, Naples, Pompeii and Herculaneum. The 40 rooms of the Hotel, displaced on 5 floors supplied by a lift, are furnished with taste and elegance: large and well-lit, they are equipped with any modern comfort to meet the needs of any kind of guest. The hotel has a well-equippedsolarium, situated on the sixth floor, from where it is possible to admire a wonderful view.Guests can also enjoy a very good restaurant and a large swimming poolimmersed into a typical Sorrento citrus garden. The hotel is the ideal location for all those who are looking for a relaxing stay and an intimate and cosy setting where to live the magical atmosphere of Sorrento. Guests will be welcomed by a skilled and dynamic staff that, besides their helpfulness, looks after bookings of excursions and walks round Sorrento: trips to Capri, Ischia and Procida, but also cultural itineraries to Naples, Pompeii and Herculaneum. For all those who want to book a stay in Sorrento, the Hotel offers a rich section ofSpecial Offers, Last Minute and low cost promotions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Tourist reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tourist Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing