We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel tourist”
Review of Hotel Tourist

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tourist
Ranked #78 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed 7 July 2013

worst hotel ive ever stayed in the hotel staff were very ignorant and never spoke, the food was cooked early then warmed up.thomas cook should ban this hotel..sorrento is a fantastic place to visit and would go again but this hotel is a nono

Room Tip: choose a room at the rear
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gianpaolo f, Proprietario at Hotel Tourist, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

We can't please everyone.
We are apologize that our hotel there liked but how can note we have many other people who have much appriciated our hotel.
We hope to be able to have with you another chance for you to change your mind.. We can ensure thet the food we buy every days and the chef not using the pre-kitchen.
The family hotel conduct to feel at home customers and is very strange thet no staff talking and joking with you.
We wait in hotel and we apologize in all people reding this review.
Gianpaolo Fiorentino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Tourist
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2013

Come on guys, this hotel is (unfairly) judged on EVERYTHING!
FANTASTIC location, constant air-con, constant HOT showers, not 4*, but really clean and comfortable, friendly helpful staff, Toni and his delicous snacks at the poolside, (That man just works ENDLESSLY and, in my opinion should be made into the chef of the hotel!!) Cleaners, (Tina and co.) have a great sense of humour and also work tirelessly.
Not enough English spoken, but hey, you are going to Italy. Make the effort yourself and you'll find the staff and owners extremely helpful and friendly. We speak no Italian, but all our needs were catered for. Just make a little effort yourself!
One criticism, altho the (Non-cooked) breakfast food was good and varied, the cooked food (bacon,sausages,scrambled eggs) was not presented very well or cooked to English standards also non too hot, but it's free and if you don't like it pop down the road to eat!
The waiters did their best, but most of the time their uniform was stained, (very off putting!) Didn't eat dinner there at all, but looked reasonably priced.
Overall, would gladly recommend Hotel Tourist and my partner and I are both in our 60's and have travelled all over the world. We stayed 14 nights from June to Early July.

Room Tip: High floors facing the pool (at the back) less noisy then front rooms Get down to breakfast early i...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank english10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We have just come back from an amazing holiday from Sorrento. The hotel was very comfortable, clean and convenient to the train station and port. The pool was great for relaxing round, and our Toni was very attentive, he does good snacks too. We choose this hotel for the price, location and swimming pool and we wasn't disappointed. Thank you for a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickythecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 days during October, we booked the hotel mainly due to the cheap price. The location was fantastic, very close to the train and bus stations. Located on a main road which could get quite noisy. Rooms were clean and staff friendly, pool was nice and we enjoyed a few drinks at the pool bar. The towns main square and shops and restaurants all within ten minutes walk and the beach and harbour about 15/20 mins walk. Overall a great place for a short stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaseKoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Having read some of the reviews before we went my wife and I booked this hotel with an open mind and I must say we were pleasantly surprised.Yes we did have a room at the front of the hotel and yes it was noisy,but we had no problem asking for the aircon to be turned on and once the windows were closed the traffic noise was minimal.We chose to stay half board as the price difference between this and b&b was very little.On the whole the food was very good and plenty of it although we did eat out a couple of times as we like one the restaurants in town.We mentioned this at breakfast and there was no problem just a little chat with the waiter and he was ok.So for a 3star hotel in the centre of Sorrento the room,the pool,the food and the staff were all good value for money.A big mention for the night manager who made my wife and I a lovely cup of tea each night which we took to our room and also the pool attendant whom gave excellent service,always with a smile,all week.

Room Tip: As everyone else has mentioned try and get a room at the rear of the hotel,i know there is a railway...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank herbie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Both the room and bathroom were a good size and we were provided with plenty of towels that were changed on a daily basis. We had a balcony with out room that looked on to the main road, it was a good size and we enjoyed a few drinks out there watching the crazy Italian driving.

The breakfast was ok, it was a variety of hot standard breakfast items and lots of cakes and pastries.

The hotel was about a 5-10min walk from the main piazza in Sorrento. There were a few food shops near the hotel with a big supermarket round the corner.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KristinaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We chose this hotel mainly because it had a pool, plus the price was good at the time of booking.
In general, the hotel was OK but the room was a bit tired and the bathroom needed some attention - Toilet seat and shower screen broken for example.
The breakfast was very basic and I was surprised that they didn't even have fresh orange juice (despite being in an area full of oranges and lemons).
The evening meal was included in the rate, but I'd give it a 2 out of 10 compared to local restauarants. We only ate there on the first night.
At breakfast, the waitor was very pushy to find out what we wanted for our evening meal. When I declined on the first morning, he said 'Why? Where you go?'
He was actually quite funny in a 'Fawlty Towers' kind of way.
If I returned to Sorrento, I would only stay here again if there was no other choice.
The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. That's all some people need.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farts_fo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Maria
Hotel Villa Maria
#74 of 100 in Sorrento
660 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#59 of 100 in Sorrento
700 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#54 of 100 in Sorrento
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel il Faro
Hotel il Faro
#86 of 100 in Sorrento
490 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Meridiana
Hotel La Meridiana
#61 of 100 in Sorrento
574 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tourist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tourist

Address: Corso Italia n. 315, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range: £72 - £613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tourist 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cosy 3-star hotel in Sorrento, the Hotel Tourist is located along the main street of Torquato Tasso's hometown near the old town centre, the station and the tourist port. Its privileged location makes it a very good starting point to visit the historical, architectural and natural beauties of Sorrento, to do some shopping in the characteristic shops of the old town centre but also to visit Sorrento Coast, Amalfi Coast, Capri, Naples, Pompeii and Herculaneum. The 40 rooms of the Hotel, displaced on 5 floors supplied by a lift, are furnished with taste and elegance: large and well-lit, they are equipped with any modern comfort to meet the needs of any kind of guest. The hotel has a well-equippedsolarium, situated on the sixth floor, from where it is possible to admire a wonderful view.Guests can also enjoy a very good restaurant and a large swimming poolimmersed into a typical Sorrento citrus garden. The hotel is the ideal location for all those who are looking for a relaxing stay and an intimate and cosy setting where to live the magical atmosphere of Sorrento. Guests will be welcomed by a skilled and dynamic staff that, besides their helpfulness, looks after bookings of excursions and walks round Sorrento: trips to Capri, Ischia and Procida, but also cultural itineraries to Naples, Pompeii and Herculaneum. For all those who want to book a stay in Sorrento, the Hotel offers a rich section ofSpecial Offers, Last Minute and low cost promotions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Tourist reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tourist Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing