We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HOTEL TOURIST SUITS ME!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Tourist

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tourist
Ranked #81 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Filey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“HOTEL TOURIST SUITS ME!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

I stayed at this hotel and liked it. Good genuine family orientated staff who aren't stiff necked like you find in some hotels, neither are they patronising or gushing but normals Joes. The hotel has nice clean rooms, good food,excellent swimming pool, good free internet access, great room balcony from which you can watch the busy Sorrento night life. The drinks were also quite reasonably priced and I certainly hope to go back there some day. Some maniac's review below carried on about a young waiter's suit being too big for him. Well what if it was, perhaps he's not really a professional waiter but someone working their way through University and learning the trade therefore he wears what he can afford or can get his hands on, like most of us making our way in the world at his age. Better a loose jacket than a stuffed shirt! If you are looking for the Hilton, with everybody bowing and scraping and being condescending then this isn't the hotel for you. The hotel receptionist might be a bit laid back, but in a nice way. Judging by the amount of tips I saw piled up on the reception desk on the day we left the reception staff must be pleasing somebody, including me. There was also nothing wrong with the mattress, my room looked happy and I enjoyed serving myself at breakfast and going back for seconds. If you are looking for a good, competively price hotel to stay at with genuine staff who have character, nice clean rooms, good food, etc, then this is the hotel for you. PS I might be English but I have stayed hotels all over Europe and this one is a good one.

Ray Moody

Room Tip: If you like to watch the world go by then try for a room at the front of the hotel with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raymoody2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    149
    97
    48
    30
See reviews for
71
164
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perugia, Italy
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

I had to stay two nights for work reasons..but I would have checked out immediately if I could have... The rooms are sad looking, the mattress was the worst I've ever experienced...it was bumpy and I found it really hard to sleep.

Breakfast was a farce... everything was so badly organized.. and the young waiter on duty the first morning just looked so miserable to be there and his suit was far too big for him. I felt a little sorry for him but still I felt sorry to be there too.

The staff I met on the desk were lack lustre and one smug looking male receptionist was unhelpful and sarcastic. He made it obvious that he couldn't have given a damn and when we checked out my Italian husband expressed our displeasure but were met with a non-chalant response.

i can see that English people like this hotel and it is only a few minutes walk to the centre, which is useful. I didn't eat there at lunch or dinner time and so it wouldn't be fair to comment upon the quality of the restaurant.

Coffee came from a machine, which an increasing vice now in hotels..the one thing you used to be able to get in Italian hotels was a decent coffee but this is becoming a thing of the past. I couldn't drink mine and barely touched the breakfast 'fare' as it didn't look too fresh... very disappointing experience and most definitely wil not be returning...but 'he' won't care so I won't feel too bad!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ianki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gianpaolo f, Proprietario at Hotel Tourist, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
We are apologize for the problem.
The waiter caused, bt the high temperatures lost a lot of weight, and so is giacket now is to big for him. We have ask for a new uniform our Taylor. We accept your advice we will help us to improve our already good service. Sorry bur we think your very bad review is excessive rispect to the argoment. For us is very important all suggest or the gustes. The Hotel is driven by myself and my family that work at the desk and none for us sarcastic a customer is absolutely, maeby sometimes ironic right to create a fun environment for customers.
Gianpaolo Fiorentino Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sorrento hotels

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Myself and three others have just come back from a 4 day trip to sorrento to celebrate our friends wedding!
Upon booking this hotel we thought it was good value and would do for the four days we were there!! However when we got there we were all surprised how well we had done! The pictures don't do the hotel justice!!
The location was perfect for us in walking distance of the train station and the centre. The staff were always helpful when we needed it Including the little old man who waits up for you to come back after a night out no matter what time it was!!!
We would recommend this hotel to others as its great value for money and we couldn't ask for more.
We only had breakfast there which was ok maybe need abit more choice. The rooms were always cleaned and the pool area was perfect for the hot days!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

We have just come back from a fantastic 15 days in Italy, with National Coach Holidays. I read the reviews of the Hotel Tourist and was wondering what we would find when we arrived. What we did find was a fantastic hotel, lovely staff, great food ( the mushroom rissotto was the best I have ever eaten) thanks to a real good chef, a lovely clean pool which was a pleasure to swim in and an all round great experience. It was noisy at the front, but lively, it didnt stop us sleeping and even though it was very hot, the air con worked really well. The hotel was very clean, thanks to Lucy and the team of cleaners, they do a sterling job. Last of all, a million thanks to the waiting staff. You two guys are brilliant and also very funny. At first there were a few problems because we were vegetarian, but once that was sorted out, they and the chef, tried very hard to make it good for us. We though you were great! Thank you. The hotel is in a good position for the railway station, which is easy to use and also a short walk away from the Foreigners Club, which is also a lovely place to go, for a drink or meal and is not expensive. Well done Hotel Tourist, we will be back!

Room Tip: Its noisy, but the higher up the hotel the better. It did'nt stop us sleeping well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FileyMoody54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

worst hotel ive ever stayed in the hotel staff were very ignorant and never spoke, the food was cooked early then warmed up.thomas cook should ban this hotel..sorrento is a fantastic place to visit and would go again but this hotel is a nono

Room Tip: choose a room at the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gianpaolo f, Proprietario at Hotel Tourist, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
We can't please everyone.
We are apologize that our hotel there liked but how can note we have many other people who have much appriciated our hotel.
We hope to be able to have with you another chance for you to change your mind.. We can ensure thet the food we buy every days and the chef not using the pre-kitchen.
The family hotel conduct to feel at home customers and is very strange thet no staff talking and joking with you.
We wait in hotel and we apologize in all people reding this review.
Gianpaolo Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Come on guys, this hotel is (unfairly) judged on EVERYTHING!
FANTASTIC location, constant air-con, constant HOT showers, not 4*, but really clean and comfortable, friendly helpful staff, Toni and his delicous snacks at the poolside, (That man just works ENDLESSLY and, in my opinion should be made into the chef of the hotel!!) Cleaners, (Tina and co.) have a great sense of humour and also work tirelessly.
Not enough English spoken, but hey, you are going to Italy. Make the effort yourself and you'll find the staff and owners extremely helpful and friendly. We speak no Italian, but all our needs were catered for. Just make a little effort yourself!
One criticism, altho the (Non-cooked) breakfast food was good and varied, the cooked food (bacon,sausages,scrambled eggs) was not presented very well or cooked to English standards also non too hot, but it's free and if you don't like it pop down the road to eat!
The waiters did their best, but most of the time their uniform was stained, (very off putting!) Didn't eat dinner there at all, but looked reasonably priced.
Overall, would gladly recommend Hotel Tourist and my partner and I are both in our 60's and have travelled all over the world. We stayed 14 nights from June to Early July.

Room Tip: High floors facing the pool (at the back) less noisy then front rooms Get down to breakfast early i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank english10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

We have just come back from an amazing holiday from Sorrento. The hotel was very comfortable, clean and convenient to the train station and port. The pool was great for relaxing round, and our Toni was very attentive, he does good snacks too. We choose this hotel for the price, location and swimming pool and we wasn't disappointed. Thank you for a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickythecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#54 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#56 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#82 of 100 in Sorrento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel il Faro
Hotel il Faro
#84 of 100 in Sorrento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sorrento City
Hotel Sorrento City
#46 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tourist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tourist

Property: Hotel Tourist
Address: Corso Italia n. 315, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tourist 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cosy 3-star hotel in Sorrento, the Hotel Tourist is located along the main street of Torquato Tasso's hometown near the old town centre, the station and the tourist port. Its privileged location makes it a very good starting point to visit the historical, architectural and natural beauties of Sorrento, to do some shopping in the characteristic shops of the old town centre but also to visit Sorrento Coast, Amalfi Coast, Capri, Naples, Pompeii and Herculaneum. The 40 rooms of the Hotel, displaced on 5 floors supplied by a lift, are furnished with taste and elegance: large and well-lit, they are equipped with any modern comfort to meet the needs of any kind of guest. The hotel has a well-equippedsolarium, situated on the sixth floor, from where it is possible to admire a wonderful view.Guests can also enjoy a very good restaurant and a large swimming poolimmersed into a typical Sorrento citrus garden. The hotel is the ideal location for all those who are looking for a relaxing stay and an intimate and cosy setting where to live the magical atmosphere of Sorrento. Guests will be welcomed by a skilled and dynamic staff that, besides their helpfulness, looks after bookings of excursions and walks round Sorrento: trips to Capri, Ischia and Procida, but also cultural itineraries to Naples, Pompeii and Herculaneum. For all those who want to book a stay in Sorrento, the Hotel offers a rich section ofSpecial Offers, Last Minute and low cost promotions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tourist reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tourist Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing