We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay and wonderful staff”
Review of Hotel Tourist

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Tourist
Ranked #82 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay and wonderful staff”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

We loved out stay half board at the tourist hotel. The staff were amazing and the pool made the holiday. As a vegetarian I was concerned about the Italian love of meat but the kitchen and waiters were very accommodating and produced some great food.Planning a return visit next year!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jwaite12016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gianpaolo f, Direttore at Hotel Tourist, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
We are honored to have had you as our guest we thank you very much for your review and we look forward to Sorrento again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    153
    105
    52
    30
See reviews for
76
171
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We booked this hotel as we were travelling to Sorrento for a wedding, and we wanted a hotel with a pool. As there are limited hotels with swimming pools you are limited for choice, however this one seemed fine. We booked this and read a few bad reviews – one even stating there were bed bugs in the hotel – which put our friends off and they stayed in a hotel around 20 minutes outside of Sorrento with a pool. We were worried but kept our eye on the reviews and they seemed good with no further complaints.

We arrived and were instantly delighted, the room was basic but when travelling to Sorrento you wont be staying in the room all day so there isn’t any need for extravagance! There was a bed, a bathroom, mirror, plugs and a safe so nothing else is needed. We were on a beautiful corner balcony with a gorgeous view onto Italian buildings and could see the sea from our room which we were delighted wit. The beds were clean and particularly comfortable! Bathroom was clean and well kept, a marble sink and plenty of daily towels! Shower worked very well, was very pleased with it (I had overheard complaints during an excursion about showers in other hotels being temperamental however ours was perfect) The cleaner introduced herself to us the following morning which was lovely and asked if everything was okay which it was. We were stocked daily with 2 bath towels, 2 face towels and 2 hand towels and the room was made up perfectly.

The pool was well kept and the grounds of the hotel were beautiful with lemon trees and orange trees. There were plenty of loungers and the pool had the sun most of the day. The pool attendant was lovely and would bring your drinks over with option to pay upfront or add a tab to your room. The hotel is within walking distance to all local amenities, and they reception give you a map circling the main areas such as the main square, the train station and the bus station. Overall I was very happy with my stay.

For dinner we attended Zintonio’s (just off the main square), Aurora Pizzeria (on the main square) and La Lanterna (Just off the main square down the pedestrian market street) and would recommend these if looking for anywhere to eat.

Room Tip: Request main corner balcony if possible, it is a beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MountainLassie1520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gianpaolo f, Direttore at Hotel Tourist, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you very very much and we wait you again in Sorrento.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Was pleasantly surprised with this hotel considering some of the bad reviews. We couldn't fault it. The rooms were spacious enough and, although slightly dated, clean and adequate. Our rooms were at the back of the hotel so traffic noise wasn't so bad. The pool and garden area was lovely and Tony who served by the pool was extremely helpful and eager to please all the time. There was a lot of cake at breakfast but plenty other things too like fruit, bread, cereal etc. Very convenient to walk to the main square and bus/train station. Would definitely stay here again. Thank you.

Room Tip: Rooms at back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisy190757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gianpaolo f, Direttore at Hotel Tourist, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you very much and I hope see you again in the future for another holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed for 2 weeks from 2/5/2014 and we found the staff very friendly.It was our first time in Italy, and we left with fond memories and we would go back to hotel tourist. It was not the Hilton but did not claim to be.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adrian307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gianpaolo f, Direttore at Hotel Tourist, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Google Translation
Vi ringraziamo molto per aver soggiornato da noi vi aspettiamo a sorrento nuovamente e speriamo di fare ancora meglio per voi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed in the hotel tourist for 4 nights, the staff were all friendly and helpful. The room that I was given was large and clean but the balcony overlooked other people's property and was overlooked itself by other hotel rooms and flats. The internet was sporadic,only working in one half of the room, and cutting out randomly every now and again. There was a nice selection for breakfast, changing slightly each morning. The hotel is ideally placed, only a 5 minute walk to the main square and thebtrain station. However, because of its position on the main road, it is very noisy, often late into the night. I also found that the walls were very thin, i could hear when the people above me were showering and flushing the toilet. Overall, it was good value for money because of the location and i only stayed for a couple of days but if you are staying in sorrento for a longer period, i would say to look for somewhere not directly on the main road.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We had 4 days here and had booked this hotel despite having read all the other reviews, as it is close to the station and all the other amenities in Sorrento. I have to say that we did enjoy our stay here. The staff at reception and in the restaurant were friendly and helpful, even quite amusing at meal times.

The hotel is on a 4-way road junction and there is quite a bit of traffic noise for those rooms like ours, that were at the front of the hotel. However, I have to say that once you got used to it, it was really almost acceptable for a town centre hotel and we spent some pleasant and amusing times on our balcony, drink in hand, watching the antics of the Italian drivers in their cars and motor bikes, somehow managing to avoid each other as they negotiated the junction at speed.

The hotel has a pleasant garden of lemon and orange trees with a swimming pool, plenty of sunbeds and small bar-b-que shack, providing pizzas, etc., run by the hotel. There is a small bar with seats, adjacent to the reception area, serving drinks and coffee. We were booked on a B&B basis and found the breakfast very satisfactory with plenty of choice - lots of cakes and pastries plus the usual toast, cheese and sliced meats, boiled eggs, yogurts, etc., only the coffee was awful! Dinner is available in the hotel, with a daily changing menu and guests who were staying on a half board basis, they said that it was very good value.

Our room was quite acceptable, containing all the basics and a large balcony with 2 chairs and a table, clean bedding and towels changed each day. I think most people would have appreciated some tea-making facilities (we had brought our own), as well as a small fridge, especially in the heat of an Italian summer.

The location is good as most other reviews have explained with lots of good value restaurants and bars nearby and only 200 yards to the main train and bus station.

We enjoyed our stay here and the hotel is nothing like as bad as some reviews have indicated and for us it provided a very satisfactory place to stay whilst we explored the delights of Pompeii, Herculaneum, Capri, etc.

Thank you to the staff of the hotel.

Room Tip: Despite the noise chose a room with a balcony at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank justSKIing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We arrived on the 2th May only to find our names were not on their booking list, After a number of phone calls it was agreed by the the person on reception we could stay, Our room number 604, was somewhere in hell and the only view we had was a wall and fans for the air condition units, all rooms were advertised with a balconey? Sorrento as a whole is a really nice place to visit and once away from the hotel, we enjoyed every minute of our stay. Need I say more...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DSVM22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gianpaolo f, Direttore at Hotel Tourist, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel.
Upon arrival there was a problem because his vouchers was thomas cook but his booking had a means to an agency with a different name.
At about the room you could do this you want to change the room and definitely could do something for you.
Sorry but we can not imagine the disappointment of customers.
We wait for you in our hotel again so we can offer a better service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sorrento hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#56 of 100 in Sorrento
644 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Maria
Hotel Villa Maria
#72 of 100 in Sorrento
623 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#47 of 100 in Sorrento
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Meridiana
Hotel La Meridiana
#60 of 100 in Sorrento
553 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#54 of 100 in Sorrento
365 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#81 of 100 in Sorrento
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tourist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tourist

Property: Hotel Tourist
Address: Corso Italia n. 315, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tourist 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cosy 3-star hotel in Sorrento, the Hotel Tourist is located along the main street of Torquato Tasso's hometown near the old town centre, the station and the tourist port. Its privileged location makes it a very good starting point to visit the historical, architectural and natural beauties of Sorrento, to do some shopping in the characteristic shops of the old town centre but also to visit Sorrento Coast, Amalfi Coast, Capri, Naples, Pompeii and Herculaneum. The 40 rooms of the Hotel, displaced on 5 floors supplied by a lift, are furnished with taste and elegance: large and well-lit, they are equipped with any modern comfort to meet the needs of any kind of guest. The hotel has a well-equippedsolarium, situated on the sixth floor, from where it is possible to admire a wonderful view.Guests can also enjoy a very good restaurant and a large swimming poolimmersed into a typical Sorrento citrus garden. The hotel is the ideal location for all those who are looking for a relaxing stay and an intimate and cosy setting where to live the magical atmosphere of Sorrento. Guests will be welcomed by a skilled and dynamic staff that, besides their helpfulness, looks after bookings of excursions and walks round Sorrento: trips to Capri, Ischia and Procida, but also cultural itineraries to Naples, Pompeii and Herculaneum. For all those who want to book a stay in Sorrento, the Hotel offers a rich section ofSpecial Offers, Last Minute and low cost promotions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Tourist reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tourist Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing