We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and comfortable”
Review of Hotel Tourist

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Tourist
Ranked #82 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My stay here was very good!
The hotel was very clean, and the staff were all very friendly and willing to help.
My room, although small, was furnished well and was rather comfortable. It was an en-suite room, and the en-suite was fully functional. Both my room and the en-suite were very clean.
The food in the restaurant was quite nice; it all tasted fresh and flavoursome, and there was plenty of it. Service was quick, and the restaurant's interior was comfortable.
The outside seating area of the hotel was spacious and comfortable and rather pretty with all the plants.
The hotel itself was in a good location - near to the centre of Sorrento, but set aside from the main hustle and bustle of the town.
I would strongly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: The rooms with balconies seemed to be a fair bit bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ananas1642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    152
    101
    51
    30
See reviews for
75
167
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington,England
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Excellent location for everything Sorrento has to offer . Train/bus station less than 10 mins walk away , this can get you to Naples , Pompeii and all around the Amalfi Coast. Shops and bars across the road , most open quite late . Just out of the hotel turn right and walk under the railway bridge and there is a good supermarket. On Tuesdays you have the local market day , go straight past this supermarket taking the road going uphill for about 5 minutes and you are there.
Room at the back with a small balcony overlooking the pool was comfortable and kept clean. No tea/coffee facilities or fridge though. Air conditioning provided in the summer months at no extra charge .Pool area was nice and well kept . Breakfast and evening meal were both fine for the price we paid on a Thomas Cook package deal . Overall can't fault this place for a reasonably priced short break in Sorrento.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter and overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dwl321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morfa Nefyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Situated in Sorrento, near bars,shops,buses, train. A short walk down to the old streets where you can browse through little shops, the streets are narrow and quaint. The sea front is also a good 10 min walk where you can book trips to Capri from the Harbour. The hotel was very clean, food was good for a 3 star hotel, but the waiters were hilarious, I was like having Mr Fau.lty. and Manuel, we had a lot of fun with them, they were very entertaining ad they were very helpful. The Pool was lovely after hectic trips. Overall a good place to stay, especially if you had a room with a balcony on the street corner where you could sit with a glass of wine and watch the hustle and bustle. A very nice stay in Sorrento will be going back again next yer

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iol606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed here for 10 Nights, the hotel is a very good 3 star, the meals are lovely in the evenings and classic italian, if you are looking for a buffet type meal this is not the place for you, but if you are looking for tasty and well balanced traditional food then this place is a must! The rooms were clean and well maintained, we had a room on the side which was facing the main road but the noise was not a problem the doors are well closing and block out any traffic noise, the air conditioning was always on and made the room very cool. The Maids were lovely and friendly and the pool area was very well maintained. I would definately recommend this hotel it is central and good value for money Sorrento is a beautiful place, easy access from the station to Pompei and also a 15 minute walk to the port for the ferry to Capri. Free Wifi and a terminal in reception to use as well at no charge! Also there are lots of lemons on the grass around the pool area, these are the best lemons in the world!

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear are quieter however rooms on the front have a large narrow balcony and you can see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alicia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The hotel was clean and the staff were pleasant. My room was a decent size with an ideal bathroom/shower. The was a little balcony which was nice to sit on and look at the small little streets. The meal in the hotel was very nice. The location was also good. Overall have a very nice stay in Sorrento.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank livkinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamtland County, Sweden
Level Contributor
147 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Not a five star hotel but a very good, clean and nice hotel in the center of Sorrento. The hotel is a short walk from the train station and has a nice pool area in the courtyard.
The staff at the hotel are very friendly and service oriented.

The restaurant offers good and very tasty classic Italian food, and the two waiters are the best you can imagine. They are very nice and helpful, although there may be linguistic misunderstandings. Pasta dishes and their tiramisu is very good.
I gladly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel for just over two weeks. It was our first trip to Italy and I did not plan to drive so we wanted somewhere near the town centre and with good transport links. This hotel was ideal for us. It is situated on the main road through Sorrento and is literally a few minutes walk to the train station which is also a main bus connection. The main plazza and town centre is less than a 10 minute walk in the same direction with the ferry terminal for Capri, Naples etc only a few minutes further on via a wonderful cliff side lift! This made it very easy to visit the surrounding area and we saw all the sights. Do go to Naples it's great, just be careful. After each trip we were glad to get back to our air conditioned room. The room was for 3 people and was a good size the air conditioning was excellent and the bathroom large and well laid out including a bidet. The decor seemed a little dated at first but we soon came to appreciate the solid fittings and tiled surfaces great for the climate. Our room was to the front and did not have a balcony, it was double glazed and we did not suffer undue noise. The room was kept very clean and tidy by the maid who came every day and was excellent. The hotel rooms don't have a fridge or mini bar which would be useful or a kettle. When we asked we were supplied with an iron for our whole stay free of charge. There is a very good laundrette adjacent to the hotel. There is a good supermarket just round the corner better than the one on the main road. The rooms have a safe, good satellite TV and good free WiFi. Apart from the air con the best thing about this hotel was the lovely swimming pool situated in a beautiful and private lemon garden where I did yoga by myself in the evenings. There was a pool side bar and the service from Tony was excellent! We relaxed here between trips. We were bed and breakfast so never tried dinner although the dinning room was always full. Breakfast was a buffet and finished at 9 am as most folk were setting out on excursions. There was a reasonable selection with a bit of daily variety although it was hard for us to get used to the Italian sweet tooth at breakfast. There was always a hot choice. Again the service was excellent. The hotel had a small bar and drink prices were in line with local cafés and bars. Sorrento itself is terrific with loads to do and see day and night and plenty of bars and restaurants. We plan to go back to the Hotel Tourist next year!

Room Tip: There are only 40 rooms over 6 floors and on each floor every room has a different lay out. Be speci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#55 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#44 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#56 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#80 of 100 in Sorrento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel il Faro
Hotel il Faro
#84 of 100 in Sorrento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sorrento City
Hotel Sorrento City
#46 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tourist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tourist

Property: Hotel Tourist
Address: Corso Italia n. 315, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tourist 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cosy 3-star hotel in Sorrento, the Hotel Tourist is located along the main street of Torquato Tasso's hometown near the old town centre, the station and the tourist port. Its privileged location makes it a very good starting point to visit the historical, architectural and natural beauties of Sorrento, to do some shopping in the characteristic shops of the old town centre but also to visit Sorrento Coast, Amalfi Coast, Capri, Naples, Pompeii and Herculaneum. The 40 rooms of the Hotel, displaced on 5 floors supplied by a lift, are furnished with taste and elegance: large and well-lit, they are equipped with any modern comfort to meet the needs of any kind of guest. The hotel has a well-equippedsolarium, situated on the sixth floor, from where it is possible to admire a wonderful view.Guests can also enjoy a very good restaurant and a large swimming poolimmersed into a typical Sorrento citrus garden. The hotel is the ideal location for all those who are looking for a relaxing stay and an intimate and cosy setting where to live the magical atmosphere of Sorrento. Guests will be welcomed by a skilled and dynamic staff that, besides their helpfulness, looks after bookings of excursions and walks round Sorrento: trips to Capri, Ischia and Procida, but also cultural itineraries to Naples, Pompeii and Herculaneum. For all those who want to book a stay in Sorrento, the Hotel offers a rich section ofSpecial Offers, Last Minute and low cost promotions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tourist reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tourist Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing