We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but make sure you have travel insurance!”
Review of Hotel Miramare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Miramare
Ranked #71 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
103 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good hotel but make sure you have travel insurance!”
Reviewed 27 July 2011

The only problem with this hotel is its location. Not the view form the pool, the terraces or most rooms which is beautiful but its location on the 'Corner of Uncertainty' (which was one of the more positive names we gave to the hotel's position on the main coast road). How our party survived two days without injury was a blessing but it does add a bit of the bungy jumping or white water rafting adrenalin rush to a relaxing Amalfi Coast break.
The location issue also doesn't make for an easy taxi drop off or pick up and I'm not sure what you would do with your own car.
If you can safely navigate crossing the road, it's about a 15 minute walk into town, with views of the beach and fishing village below, and a further 10 to the beach and the port but add on extra 10 for the walk back up the hill. There are local buses but we didn't manage to time our return trips to catch one.
Staff were, on the whole, friendly: a warm welcome, help with getting to restaurants and the beaches including their connection with the hotel on the safer side of the road, though there was some later confusion with organising a taxi for our onward trip.
Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable and a decent breakfast was on offer. The pool is small but clean and great for the chance to cool down after that walk up the hill!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddison65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    125
    52
    25
    9
See reviews for
113
158
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corsica, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Very few positives about this hotel. The staff could certainly not be considered very friendly. The room was okay-spacious and airy but I had to ask to get someone to claen the room after our third night staying there. I was told that it was our fault that it hadn't been cleaned as we didn't get up on time. When we asked to get a cup of coffee, we were told we'd have to go somewhere else as they weren't serving any at that time.Even if everything in the hotel was fine, the major major downfall of this hotel is its location. It is on a bend on the road-crossing to the other side is just lethal. I really can't emphasise how dangerous it is-we were running across it and hoping for the best! Do not book in here-there are lots of other, safer hotels in Sorrento!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGT56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunshaughlin
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Hotel recommended. The hotel was comfortable, clean & welcoming & Staff & reception were friendly. The room was spacious with a great view & with balcony doors closed traffic noise was not a problem. While the 'pool area was small it was adequate but lacking shaded areas. The solarium also had no parosols which would have been welcomed at midday. Our biggest problem was leaving & entering the hotel. The entrance leads directly on to the very busy road with buses, cars, mopeds speeding by & the hotel is also situated on a blind corner !! There are no footpaths & no space for pedestrians to walk. There are no pedestrian crossings or speedramps & despite the two way traffic the road is very narrow. It's a 15 min walk to the centre. Our third visit to Sorrento but next time won't be staying in the Miramare - not their fault - road frontage too dangerous !!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwangMansMate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

We thought this hotel had some good features and some drawbacks. It was good value, with good rooms and friendly service. The view from our room was great and room services very good.
However, the location is a problem: it sits on a tight bend on the Via Capo (not shown correctly on the google map - it's further north, on the inside of the tight bend) and is ridiculously dangerous to arrive at (or leave) on foot.
We found it very noisy in our room, from the constant traffic (everyone loves to sound their horn approaching the tight corner!), which started up from about 6 am.
Also, we found the walk down to the town, while spectacular in views, was in parts dangerous and unpleasant fom the speeding traffic. The walk back up the hill was worse.
Idea: could the hotel offer a dedicated taxi for it's guests only? (Even if this was charged at some nominal rate it would definitely improve life and overcome the hotel's main drawback)
We also had a problem with poor Wifi in our room, which took the best part of a week to address, unfortunately without much success).
Anyway, we had a nice time despite these drawbacks and we thank the staff for their friendliness and good work.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Stayed for six day in this wonderful hotel above Sorrento. Amazing view from our patio. Large, clean room with a terrace that overlooked the Bay of Naples and Sorrento - amazing. Breakfast was good, but you had to pay extra for cappucino :(......Short walk to Sorrento town after crossing the busy road in front of the hotel. You do get used to it though, but be careful. Gabriella at the front desk is terrific....very knowledgeble about the area and very friendly. Wonderful six days.

Room Tip: Room 401 and 402 - very quiet with big terraces
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debra_weinber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Stayed 3 nights in a 1 room apartment for 4. It was located on a very nice roof garden with a breathtaking view of the Bay of Naples. The town of Sorrento to the right, with Naples & Mount Vesuvius just visible in the distance.

The room was fairly plain but comfortable with a queen sized bed in 1 room and 2 single sofa beds in another. There was a small kitchenette and a single bathroom with a shower stall but no longbath. There was free wireless internet but you had to sit outside the room on the small patio to access it. Parking was free but you had to stop the car on a blind corner on a one-lane street and press a buzzer for the gate to open....slowly.

The hotel is quite far from town. Walking into town and even to the Marina could be done in 20 minutes (about 1 km). As mentioned before in other posts, crossing the road was a bit risky as this was the main road to Amalfi and it was only one land up and down. Traffic was heavy with big buses and fast Italian drivers and scooters.

The reception staff were always very helpful and friendly and the breakfast was satisfactory with great coffee. It was continental breakfast but you could ask for ham and cheese.

The hotel opposite had a very nice restaurant overlooking the Bay.

In short, a very good value hotel with great views, good staff but a bit far from town. Good for those who drive because free parking in Sorrento is very rare.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DC3_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Unfortunately our first experience of the Miramare was more of a nightmare after 90 minutes spent sitting outside reception in the middle of a hot afternoon following 2 hours sleep the previous night. Upon arrival we were allocated a twin room despite booking a double for 7 nights and so the desk clerk insisted we wait for the manager to arrive to sort out the booking. When the manager arrived she insisted we take the twin and push the beds together which I flatly refused and insisted on our booking of a double at which point I was told there were only two double rooms in the entire hotel both of which were taken, one of which was allocated to my father travelling on his own for my sisters wedding. It was only at this point when both bookings were checked again that the desk clerk recognised his error in that he had allocated us the incorrect room and we were given keys to the double room we should have had initially. We also saw many other double rooms in the hotel throughout the week. To credit the manager, a bottle of champagne was then sent up to our room but we were still incredibly disappointed that we were made to sit in reception for 90 minutes and argue with the manager before they noticed their mistake.

To the hotel itself, the plus points are the incredible views you get over Sorrento, the basic cooking facilities, the clean rooms and the friendly staff once you have got past check in, however this is in now way a four star hotel compared to somewhere like the Bristol where my sister was staying, which is 5 mins away. Onto the negative points, the swimming pool is very small, ok if you just want to cool down as it is very cold, but is pointless if you like to swim. The hotel is also on an extremely dangerous road bend with no path and it takes extreme care to just cross the road in one piece and is not for the faint hearted when a huge coach thunders past you from behind. The breakfast is ok for one or two days with cereal and ham and cheese rolls but to be honest by day 7 I'd had enough and was craving something different as it is just so small and to be honest the rolls are like rock cakes, so we bought some eggs to boil in our our room. The fruit cocktail is obviously from a tin which is not what you would expect from a so called 4* hotel either

One thing I should mention, taxis are incredibly expensive in Sorrento and there may be times when you need to take one to or from the hotel if you stay out of town. Despite these taxis using meters, they are also quite variable on fare so it seems for e.g. 15 Euros from the station to the hotel turned into 25 Euros to go a shorter distance into the town from the hotel, this is when we learnt to purchase bus tickets from shops for 1Euro 20 as buses go up and down the hill quite frequently.

In summary, this was my second visit to Sorrento, the first time I stayed in an Executive Room at the Hilton Sorrento Palace and thought it was an amazing place to stay, unfortunately I was not as impressed with the Miramare. If I stayed in Sorrento again I would definitely stay somewhere that is a little less dangerous to walk out of the front door, especially as my father is in his 70's. It is much more cost effective to stay closer to the centre due to the expense of the taxis as most of the time you travel around looking at views from Capri, Positano, Amalfi and other fantasitc places rather than your own hotel, but if you can find somewhere with just a small pool to take the occasional dip then so much the better.

I would say this is more of a 3* hotel compared to the quality of other hotels around it and if it was marked as a 3* hotel I would rate it higher, however I cannot rate it any higher than 3 when it is comparing itself in the 4* bracket

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DidsburyRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salvodamore, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Miramare, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
Dear Sir

We are not surprised of your review as at your arrival we did not notice straight the mistake we did , we are very sorry for this and we apologize for the fact that you waited for your room.

At the same time we are pleased to answer to this review because it allows us to explain the meaning of Miramare.

Hotel Residence Miramare is a small hotel (only 26 rooms) with rooms with kitchenette. We are rated 4 stars for the size of the rooms and the high standard of the building which is an ancient villa completely renewed in 1990 and it kept the style of that epoch. You can tell it by the high sealing and the large size of rooms as they were built during beginning of the 1900th century in Italy.

About the swimming pool... it is small but for a small hotel with 26 rooms you cannot expect an Olympic size swimming pool and also it is explained that we have a small swimming pool good enough to chill out.

The service at Miramare is limited because it is a Residence like an apartment hotel and clients chose Miramare for their privacy and independence.

Also we are not happy when clients compare the Miramare with others Hotels because of course they are rated 4 star like our hotel but there is a difference within an hotel with restaurant and an hotel with kitchenette in the rooms; the difference is also in the price!

The Miramare is the only place in Sorrento that gives rooms with kitchenette with maid service and breakfast included.

Anyway your words will help us to improve and to make our job better, since the first thing is to make the guest happy and relaxed during his stay.

Gabriella Pontecorvo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.6 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#39 of 100 in Sorrento
1,064 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#47 of 100 in Sorrento
454 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Tonnarella
La Tonnarella
#61 of 100 in Sorrento
458 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#52 of 100 in Sorrento
365 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramare

Property: Hotel Miramare
Address: Via Capo 60, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#47 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miramare 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Miramare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Miramare Hotel
Residence Miramare Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing