We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10-15 minutes walk into centre”
Review of Hotel Miramare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Miramare
Ranked #67 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Pleasant stay, short distance to centre but very challenging crossing the busy road that this Hotel is situated on. The room was great with lovely views, handy fridge for your drinks... A little old fashioned , the walls are bright green,not very soothing to the eye first thing in the morning. If you are needing a safe for laptop , cameras etc, they only have one in the room to fit passport. Breakfast was the same everyday and definately no hot breakfast. Staff helpful and rooms always clean...By South African standards this Hotel would only get a 2 star because of its decor !!

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor have the best views and less noise from busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chickliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2013

The service was impeccable from start to end. The receptionists were very helpful and accommodating troughout our stay. For example they helped us print out our boarding passes when we had to leave without charge.
The rooms were great and very spacious. The view from the balcony was also beautiful. They changed our sheets every day while we were away and gave us clean towels.
All in all we were very satisfied with our stay and we give highest recommendations.

Kindest regards from Denmark

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicolai F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

This was a nice hotel - I wasn't expecting much so wasn't that disappointed. We were booked into a superior studio but were given a one bedroom apartment instead. The apartment was very small, and I had been looking forward to the space of the studio. The fridge and kettle provided were very handy and the view from the little patio stunning. Our apartment was just above the pool rather than in the main hotel. Air con worked v well, though not really needed as the sun never really reached the room itself. The TV has no English channels at all, and the Wi-Fi, though free, didn't reach as far as the rooms. Good shower, nice bathroom, lots of hot water. The décor is less shabby chic than shabby - dated and quite stained. Smelled a bit musty. Very comfy beds.

My main problem with this hotel was the sunbathing experience. There were no umbrellas round the pool or the sun terrace, so there is no shade at all unless you want to sit at the bar. Also the chairs around the pool do not lie flat, so in order to lie down you need to go to the terrace, but there is no pool up there. Since I like to sun bathe and my friend wanted shade there was no compromise. You can go to the little pebbly beach via the hotel opposite, but that will cost you 10 euros each, more if you want an umbrella.

The staff were very helpful, couldn't fault them, the breakfast was fresh and perfectly adequate. Watch out for the pesky seagulls who will have your breakfast the minute you move from your seat!

Another problem I had was that if you have a late check out, there are no facilities for showering and changing before leaving for your flight.

We only stayed 4 nights, but I wouldn't want to stay there for 2 weeks, especially without the opportunity for shade in the sun.

All in all, a good base to get around Sorrento. It's a pricey place, expect to pay a lot for drinks and food.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank member0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

The hotel is situated overlooking the Bay of Naples with Mount Vesuvius in the distance. There are seperate secluded areas for sun bathing, swimming in the pool or just sitting peacefully and reading a book. All have beautiful surroundings and it never seems crowded. You can have breakfast in the spacious bar area or sit outside and enjoy the morning sun.
There are very narrow foot paths to most of the hotels in the area and you need to walk in the road round a sharp bend to access this hotel. This seems scarey but all the motorists seem to be aware of the situation.

Room Tip: The Superior rooms are better than Standard rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The hotel had amazing views of the sea and even mount vesuvius, so in a good location, although it's next to a busy main road. Pool was excellent, but quite small. Really good breakfast and the hotel staff were very friendly. Not that keen on the extremely green room though

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 29char07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

My girlfriend and I enjoyed everything about our stay at the Hotel Miramare in June 2012!

Whilst out of the town centre, the walk to and from Sorrento was one of the highlights of each day, and - as well as the incredible views - it meant it was very quiet and relaxing.

We stayed in a Superior Studio, which was a lovely experience, as it meant we could sit out each evening on our own little porch, sipping a limoncello chilled in the handy fridge in the room - whilst we didn't use the kitchenette beyond this, except to chill things for lunch, it was good to know we had that option.

Despite it being a heatwave whilst we were there, a combination of the aircon and the lovely little hotel pool kept us cool.

The breakfast had a good selection, and we in no way felt rushed even though we pushed the "deadline" for breakfast finishing most days...! It was also lovely to be able to eat breakfast outside under shade on the terrace.

Rooms were spotlessly clean and the staff were friendly, responsive and happy to answer our questions in good English. The hotel was smart and elegant, but still felt homely and welcoming, and we felt we had a very good deal for the price we paid.

We would love to go back to Sorrento, and would be more than happy if that involved staying again at the Hotel Residence Miramare!

Room Tip: The Superior Studio view we had was amazing, the porch was a lovely bonus and you're also near t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

The staff here could not be faulted, they are so friendly and helpful, they are the best thing about the hotel.

Our room was one with a 'panoramic view' it sort of had one, but the description sounds a lot better than it actually was. The rooms are very old and in need of modernising, the green paint on the walls and watching bed spread make you feel as though you have gone back in time! The hotel itself was relatively clean, and the maids seem to be quite thorough when cleaning each morning. The kitchenettes are very off putting, the fridge makes a noise, which you do eventually get used to, but it always seems strange to have a kitchenette in a hotel room anyway. We only used a couple of the glasses from it, but there was a notice up to say you had to clean everything you used or potentially be fined, this seemed a bit over the top. No washing up products were provided, but you could buy them from reception. They could have at least provided some washing up liquid if they expect people to wash up something as small as a glass, most standard hotel rooms will at least provide you with a glass to drink from. I would not stay here again, nor would I recommend to anyone to stay here, the hotel is more along the lines of a 2* than the four it claims to have. You cannot sunbath by the swimming pool, there are only chairs around it , and then the sunbeds are on a separate section of the hotel, all seemed a bit strange! Breakfast is very basic, and not hot food is provided.

They do not serve any food in the evening, although this was no problem for us as we like to eat out anyway. Sorrento town centre is a 15 minute walk down a hill, this hotel would not be suitable for anyone elderly or unable to walk reasonable distances.

Again the staff were great, no complaints whatsoever, but the hotel needs some serious decorating. If you are just looking for somewhere as a base, and to just explore all day/night then it is fine, although at 116 euros per night you could probably get somewhere cheaper to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
1,387 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,304 reviews
0 mi away
La Tonnarella
La Tonnarella
#57 of 100 in Sorrento
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
1.6 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#40 of 100 in Sorrento
1,151 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Zi Teresa
Hotel Zi Teresa
#56 of 100 in Sorrento
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramare

Address: Via Capo 60, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#46 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £114 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miramare 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Miramare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Miramare Hotel
Residence Miramare Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing