We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Miramare
Ranked #68 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed here back in July, went with my husband, friend & her family. We had a great time, the pool isn't very large, but the 5 of us nearly had the pool to ourselves most days!!! We liked the breakfast, always fresh pastries & fruit. Gabriella the receptionist was marvelous, I was unwell, she knew a chemist, so could advise me what medicine to get!!! She gave us numerous ideas of where to go & what to do!!! As there was no restaurant at the hotel, Gabriella suggested places to eat, & if we didn't fancy going out, she knew of some great take aways!!! Really enjoyed our stay here, everybody was so friendly & helpful!! Yes, the decor etc is a bit dated, but it was clean & comfortable, we were happy!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paulinewashere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

Rooms are big but not updated
kitchenette from the 70, very limited cookware
bathrooms updated with small showers
Breakfast very poor
not near to the city center
the staff is the best, always with good attitude. Great views

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fabian n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The staff are wonderful and extremely helpful and the views are incredible in the Miramare however it is not a 4 star hotel.

When we booked in we were given a room that was at the end of a corridor that lead to the sun terrace and the windows looked out onto this. It was extremely noisy and we could not leave windows open as anyone could gain access from the terrace. The furniture was old and there was a kitchenette located in a cabinet in the bedroom, not what you expect from a 4 star hotel. We spoke to reception and they moved us the next morning to a much nicer room which had a separate kitchen/dinning area and bedroom.

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel and walked in and out of Sorrento every day. Please note you are taking your life in your hands walking to and from the Hotel as footpath is located on opposite side of road and Hotel is located on a corner with no view for traffic.

Overall this is a good value for money hotel with wonderful staff in a convenient location close to Sorrento.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The staff at the hotel was very friendly and helpful, unlike other hotels we stayed at. The rooms were clean and rather large with amazing views. The only downside is the road noise which we solved by closing windows and using the A/C. The pool and sundecks were also very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nonnygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

We were told on arrival that we had been upgraded to one of the garden rooms. The apartment was dark and foosty smelling, as though it hasn't been used in some time. The kitchenette was covered in grease and on discovering blood/faecal material on the outer aspect of the toilet pan and pubic hair/dust over the bathroom floor, we asked to move.

This was arranged promptly and I must commend the front of house staff as being highly polite and apologetic regarding this. It tainted the start of our holiday though and as we had a small baby with us, was really quite an inconvenience. We were moved to a larger, more airy room which although cleaner, was very dated and shabby. The balcony view was lovely but very noisy due to traffic haring by beneath us.

The lobby areas and pool are clean and pleasant and the location of the hotel was super and a lovely, scenic walk down to the town. There is no pavement but even with a pram, it was fairly easy to scoot across the road without being hit by anything. I wouldn't like to cross the road however if elderly or if I had any sort of mobility, sight or hearing problem.

Front of house staff incredibly helpful at advising on day trips/buses etc. Breakfast a bit of a sad, unnappealing affair- standard continental breakfast food.

Overall we were quite disappointed with the hotel. Hotels in Sorrento aren't cheap- it cost us £1110 for 7 days and to be honest I expected a little better. Wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LyndsayF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Sorrento is easily accessible from Naples airport (just outside the parking lot P1) via coach bus service offered by Curreri Viaggi, with a stop at Pompei. Tickets bought on the bus are far cheaper than limousine or car service, and the ride provide great sightlines out onto the Gulf of Naples.

Upon arrival in Sorrento at the Circumvesuviana train - bus central station, a local bus ride of 10 minutes (direction of Positano and Amalfi coast) brings weary travellers to Residence Miramare.
This place is located about 1 km uphill between the western end of Sorrento downtown and the Pizzeria located at the nearby city limit. Some parking space is available at cost.

Take in beautiful views from the terrace pool, or dash across Via Capo to the Tonnarrella hotel - restaurant - private beach with vinyard café. The canyon-side campground near the beach was visible, and bugs were non-existant (nor were birds).

Friendly staff!
Excellent breakfast with croissants filled with custard and nutella, special request eggs, fruit and Italian ham and salamis.

For day-tripping, SITA bus stops are just uphill on Via Capo for those travelling to the Amalfi Coast (not for those people who are prone to motion sickness or those with a fear of heights) or to the pedestrian zone in downtown Sorrento.

Room Tip: If you like a sea view of the Gulf of Naples, be aware that the main road Via Capo traffic passes im...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Canuckie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We spent 4 nights here at the last leg of our Italy trip. Found the Hotel to be wonderful location, very nice, clean, big rooms with spectacular view of the Mediterranean and Mt. Vesuvius. The staff was tremendous. Free shuttles to a few restaurants, Donna Sophia which was excellent. I don't recall 2nd night restaurant on the water and the 3rd night we took their taxi service which was always very professional and very fair at 12 Euro over the local taxis that were double the cost. Walking distance to the town. Gabriella who has been with the hotel for 20+ years was most accommodating with Train tickets, tours, taxis, Restaurants and advice on our return drive to Rome. The outside lounging area was my favorite as it was much quieter than the balcony in the room which sits right over the street. Breakfast was plenty accommodating with choices of serveral pastries, yogurts, fruits, breads and meats

Room Tip: We were 2nd floor with Balcony, Breathtaking views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quepos F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0 mi away
La Tonnarella
La Tonnarella
#60 of 100 in Sorrento
504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
785 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,295 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
#51 of 100 in Sorrento
486 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramare

Address: Via Capo 60, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#47 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £114 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miramare 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Miramare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Miramare Hotel
Residence Miramare Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing